We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your average B&B !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allhallows B&B @ West House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rousdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allhallows B&B @ West House
Ranked #1 of 2 Rousdon B&B and Inns
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not your average B&B !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our first visit and i can honestly say one of the most special b&bs we have stopped in! The owners have the balance just perfect in being polite, very friendly but without being around every corner.The house and bedroom very clean and i would be very happy to stay again! This amazing and unique home is a must if you are visiting the area [and will be high light if your visiting River Cottage]

Room Tip: We had both room but if you likee a shower over having a bath leave the 4 poster room to some one el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamworthGaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
154
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a lovely 2 days in Grayson and Christine's restored Victorian home. Great welcome, very comfortable bed and a delicious Breakfast. We would definitely stay again. We stayed in the blue room and I would say that the photographs don't do it justice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We (a German couple and UK-lovers) stayed 10 nights in this marvellous B&B. Without any question it was the best B&B we have ever been. It made our trip to one of the most relaxing and lovely holiday experiences ever. Christine and Grayson are just incredible brilliant hosts. Not only the fantastic breakfast....we have been offered to use the kitchen with the fantastic Aga for preparing some snacks. They gave great tips what to do and see in the region and we spend some lovely time together having wonderful, interesting talks. The luxury "Blue Room" is just amazing, very comfortable and spacey and full of character, same is true for the bathroom. We are normally very picky with the quality of beds - but this one was outstanding. Together with the wonderful quietness and nature in the estate we spend perfectly relaxing times. In the area there is just so much to see and to do and the quality of food/restaurants in Lyme, West Bay, Bridport and Axminster is extremely good (not only fish). This B&B is not only great for an overnight stay or weekend break but has worked perfectly well in every aspect for 10 days - we even wished to stay longer. We will definitely come back !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband treated me to a night at Allhallows for my birthday. The photos of it looked amazing...and it is. It's such a unique place; the grounds, the history, the size and the décor are a feast for the eyes.
Christine met us and made us feel very welcome, and cooked us a beautiful breakfast in her amazing kitchen. I even had a birthday candle on my sausage!!
The bed was the comfiest we had ever slept in, and the bath was the deepest we had ever bathed in.
The history of the house is also fascinating and I want to find out more.
The situation is excellent, with Sidmouth, Lyme Regis, Budleigh Salterton and the Donkey Sanctuary within reach. We also visited Beer, which is beautiful.
In summary, a fantastic B & B, run by a lovely couple, who just want their guests to relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethjaneyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Simply the best B&B room we have stayed in. Tasteful decor, big comfortable bed, super en suite bathroom and quiet! Christine and Grayson are very warm and welcoming people. Lots of helpful hints for what to do on the Dorset/Devon coast and a first class breakfast. We shall return!

Room Tip: There are two rooms. The blue room is excellent, I am sure the other room is too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a wonderful night stay in the blue room of this fantastic property. It is a beautiful estate with amazing history, which the owners were very happy to tell us about. Really luxury accommodation, making for a perfectly relaxing sleep. We walked to a nearby village for a nice evening meal, and Lyme Regis is also very close by. Breakfast was lovely and the estate is really peaceful and offers plenty of walks. Great for running too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I like to seek out unusual and interesting places to stay, and we were not disappointed in this B&B! Our room, the four poster, was enormous and comfortable and I loved the William Morris wall paper! Despite the cold weather, the room felt cosy and warm. The breakfasts kept us going all day. Our friendly hosts made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shani33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rousdon
0.5 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 47 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allhallows B&B @ West House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allhallows B&B @ West House

Property: Allhallows B&B @ West House
Address: The Rousdon Estate | Nr Lyme Regis, Rousdon, Lyme Regis DT7 3XR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Rousdon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rousdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our wonderful home in East Devon. We have sympathetically renovated it with love and care over the past 5 years and believe we have achieved the right balance between its Victorian heritage and modern comfort and convenience. West House has elegant and comfortable bedrooms, beautifully furnished, and equipped with tea and coffee-making facilities, TV, hairdryer, free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allhallows Bed And Breakfast @ West House
Allhallows b&b @ West House Hotel Rousdon
Allhallows B&B @ West House Rousdon, Lyme Regis, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing