We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic long weekend 😊”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
Front of house Triple height living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Front of House
Front of house
Triple height living room
Living room
Living room
Dining room
Kitchen
Downstairs cloak room
Master bedroom (king)
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2 (double)
Bedroom 3 (double)
Bunk room
Mezzanine top floor
Dogs welcome!
En suite
Bathroom
Patio
Back garden
Back garden
Sunset over the estate
Walled garden
Some local residents
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Rousdon, Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shirley P
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic long weekend 😊”
Reviewed November 30, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This was our second time at the property and we loved it Great accommodation and location .

The Rousdon Estate is so peaceful and just a few minutes drive to the beautiful town
Of Lyme Regis.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2017
Thank you Shirley, glad you enjoyed it again!
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2017
Many thanks for your review. Glad you had a pleasant stay.
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AntoniaJo
1 review
“Fabulous, warm and homely - we all loved it!”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Home Farm North worked brilliantly to accommodate 2 families (4 adults and 4 children) and 2 dogs. Home was spotlessly clean when we arrived and incredibly well equipped. The welcome hamper was fantastic quality and very generous. We had a lovely stay over New Year - visits to Lyme Regis, Axminster, Chamouth and Exeter. Walks around the estate and down to the private beach, cosy nights in playing board games around the table in the lovely big kitchen! Would highly recommend!

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
Thank you for your review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!
Regards
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2016
Thank you for your very positive review Jenny and I'm so pleased you had a lovely stay. And thank you for leaving the house so clean and tidy! Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa S
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in a great location with everything you need and more”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My parents and I stayed here for a week in September and had a lovely holiday in the Dorset and Devon area. Over the past three or four years we have booked some lovely places, from a victorian apartment in Torquay to a beautiful period cottage in france, but with the bar being set so high, we always worry that one day we will be disappointed with our choices. No such worries here! ~This house was beautiful. The seemingly small exterior, hides a gorgeous spacious home, with a rustic/vintage charm combined with all the modern conveniences you would expect. Everything was perfect for us. It was lovely to get such a generous hamper of goodies and a partially stocked fridge to get us up and running, all with locally sourced produce (the creamy butter, ginger biscuits and damson wine get a special mention!). The kitchen was so well equipped in terms of cooking utensils, crockery, and some store cupboard essentials, that we literally wanted for nothing. The best thing I can say about this house, is that we felt right at home here ! It was brilliant to have some great days out, but to come back "home" , kick your shoes off and relax in such lovely surroundings. The rousdon estate is so picturesque - I was fascinated by the mansion house, the old church and so many of the buildings. Its great to go on the rousdon website and read the history of this beautiful place. We never made it down to the beach as I dont think we would make the climb back up (with two octagenarians in the party!) but Im sure it was as spectacular as the rest of the area. We enjoyed bridport, west bay, lyme regis, honiton, seaton, beer, dorchester and sherborne to name but a few. Sherborne abbey and castle were great, and forde abbey is worth a visit, near chard. The house was so easy to book on trip advisor, everything went smoothly and we loved the fact we got a comprehensive welcome pack by email, (including directions, how to access the house and all the amenities) well before our arrival, so we were properly prepared with no worries about getting to the property or what was in the locality. We also got an email on our day of arrival, advising the house was ready a bit earlier if we wanted to arrive sooner. All in all, a perfect holiday, in a fabulous home, in a great location. Highly recommended. Thanks Gill.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quality of the accomodation and how spacious it was
Liked least: nothing - everything was good
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
Thank you Lisa for your lovely review. Sounds like you found plenty to do! Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley P
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation and location!!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

12 of us went for my mum's 80th birthday - loved it. The accommodation is great - modern, spacious, comfortable and clean.

Great walks around the estate. Only a few minutes drive to Lyme Regis.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thanks for your review. I'm pleased you had happy birthday celebrations. Look forward to seeing you again
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyTrav...
Wallington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow! Fantastic House, Superb Location, Chilled and Friendly Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We all loved this house and the Rousdon Estate. A real luxury pristine home from home with everything catered for. Including our 3 beloved pooches! The walks around the estate and down to the beach were fun and safe even for our youngest who is 8. The trek to the private beach is a fun adventure for people who like a good hike.
We could have arrived with just our clothes because EVERYTHING was provided. What a smashing surprise, including the welcome hamper which included everything we needed for refreshments and for a full English breakfast, all local high quality produce.
Going further afield, Branscombe is my new favourite place, like something out of a Famous Five novel for the children, and just heavenly for the adults. We also enjoyed Beer, the Seaton Tram and Axmouth. All within a 15 - 30 minute drive in the car from the house.
We will return. Thanks Gill for everything.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious living accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thanks for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the house, the Estate and the area. Sounds like you found plenty to do! I look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing