We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quack, quack, quack!”
Review of Watermill Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slapton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watermill Cottages
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Me, my Mum and dog stayed stayed in Quack cottage for 5 days and had the most wonderful time. The cottages are in such a rural setting but not too far away (driving distance) from lots of beautiful towns and beaches (some dog friendly all year).
We were welcomed by lovely Jade, gorgeous cake and dog treats and flowers from the garden too. We felt so welcome and what a great start to our holiday.
The cottage is equipped with everything we needed and more. The garden is massive with the lovely ducks saying hello everyday!
It was a welcome break from the internet, tele and mobile phones and we thoroughly enjoyed cooking, knitting and chatting the nights away!

Room Tip: Visit Dartmouth, Totnes and Kingsbridge also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshgirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

so glad you had a good stay - wish I'd known you were knitting, I'm a knitter and spinner and always up for a pattern and idea swap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 49 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Third time at Quack Cottage with our two dogs. Every time has been great and thus week didn't disappoint. No wifi and TV is manor from heaven and playing cricket in the garden (yes it's that big) takes me bag to childhood. Great to see our dogs roam free and our daughter playing with the ducks and chickens and talking to other kids (as opposed to texting).
Great location great holiday....very chilled out!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Great to see you all have so much fun again and thank you for your comments - as she helped me feed the hens, your daughter happily suggested the name for our new chick who is now Ora as its mum is called Rita! An update for me on the latest pop trends. Great that the kids all got on so well and loved the stream. Look forward to welcoming you back for more hen or duckling naming next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just spent a week away with our two children and Saffi our Weimaraner! We stayed in Rose Cottage and was greeted by homemade lemon cake and flowers, lovely touch! Jade greeted us and explained the ins and outs and made us feel really welcome. The cottage was a comfortable and cosy 2 bedroomed cottage. Log fires downstairs which were a lovely treat even though there are plenty of storage/panel heaters in each room should you need them but we enjoyed having a roaring fire even though at night it wasn't that cold. Well equipped kitchen and lovely hot water for showers etc. Handmade eco friendly soap and cleaners left for you to use, which were lovely as they are trying to keep everything clean and safe for their beautiful valley, we even bought some and took it home.

The valley is idyllic and set in a rural position along a long narrow typically Devon road, we loved it but it is out of the way so there's no nipping to a shop on foot. Not that you need to there are plenty of villages a short drive away.

Our two children loved to play in the brook and explore the woodland on site. They were even invited to help feed the chickens and ducks which they loved! We had a mini tour of their poly tunnels as well where they grow their vegetables. We also saw their sheep on the hillside.

Highly recommended to get away from it all and get back to nature. We didn't miss our phones or televisions at all instead we had bbqs, played and fished in the brook, explored and walked in the woods and visited lots of beaches a short drive away. What more could you want, we will be going back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you, S - it is a delight for children to play 'off grid' and really experience the fun to be had playing outside in nature, it's not surprising that they slept in! Wet suits and river shoes were a great idea. Lovely to see them free range happily. Glad you all enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Myself, husband and 4 year old son absolutely enjoyed our visit here.Very peaceful setting, we stayed in Mill Cottage, our hosts were very accommodating.We didn't have a dog, but it was a dog friendly place.Lots of lambs, chickens and ducks to visit regularly with little ones.We found it an ideal place as a base for exploring The Hams.Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

So glad you enjoyed a nourishing stay in the valley at Watermill Cottages and enjoyed all that the South Hams has to offer, it is a stunning place to be - lovely to see how much pleasure a four year old has playing with all creatures great and small - thanks for your help with feeding ducklings and exercising Bess! We look forward to welcoming you back, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My partner and myself have been to the cottages twice now- however my partner came as a child and has returned with myself, after incredibly fond memories.
The cottages are all unique and beautiful, set in beautiful valley. The views are something I can only descibe as magical- I have never stayed in such a picturesque and beautiful place.
Very sad to leave each time, each holiday has brought many happy
Memories.
The owners are very kind and welcoming. Each going out of their way to be hospitable and providing a homely experience. A definite place to visit!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dkjara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you D for your kind words, we're delighted that you enjoyed Watermill Cottages so much the second time, and look forward to meeting your new collie puppy from Devon when you come again in September. Let's hope the weather's as great as it is in May and June!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Remember how Alice goes down a rabbit hole in Wonderland and finds a magical place unlike any other? Well, when we go to Watermill Cottages (twice so far in one year and another in the planning), we feel it is a bit like that. No wifi, no TV, no traffic noise. Just the rush of the stream and the birdsong, the animals and silence. This is the kind of place that inspired WH Davies to write his poem, Leisure... "What is this world if full of care, we have no time to stand and stare..." Here, we slough off the dry skin of the 'real world' and bask in the bliss of how things used to be and should be. From the great fish and chips in Slapton, to the farm shop with real, hung, beef, the Pig's Nose pub where you can help yourself to knitting needles and wool after a bracing coastal walk. Beware. If you ever visit Watermill Cottages, you may get addicted....

Room Tip: All cottages are great, but Crownwheel is closest to the water, Quack has the cutest name and garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoParfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Looking forward to welcoming you back down the rabbit hole to our Watermill Wonderland in July, Jo! Thank you for your kind words, and looking forward to seeing you stand, stare, gaze, dream and relax here in summer - and bring your journal for writing and creating by the stream, in the gardens - or at the Ways WIth Words literary festival at Dartington Hall near Totnes from 5-15 July. now, which cottage...?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wow! We have just had our first stay at Watermill Cottages (Crownwell). As you drive down the lane towards the cottages you truly feel as though you are leaving the hustle and bustle of everyday life and getting away from it all. Mobile phone signals become a distant memory as you tackle the twisting bends and narrow lanes with you final view being of the most delightful little hamlet tucked beneath the trees canopy.
Christine & John are absolutely fantastic and happy to share their little bit of paradise with you. Their love and knowledge of the area is brilliant. Add this to the trips up the lane to feed sheep, ducks, chickens, etc and our four year old forgot completely about Ben 10 and the Disney Channel! On the rare occasion that you may want to leave you dog for a few hours, or the whole day, prearranged dog sitting/walking can be arranged.
The cottage we stayed in, Crownwell, was beautiful, clean and tidy. The walk up by the river in the morning was lovely. Listening to the water rushing passed the downstairs bedroom certainly made for a good nights sleep.
This will definitely be a return location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YodaPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Watermill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermill Cottages

Address: Higher North Mill | Hansel, Slapton TQ6 0LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Slapton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Slapton
Price Range: $63 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover what life is all about as you relax and unwind in one of our five comfy Watermill Cottages in the tranquil coastal Gara Valley, below the hamlet of Hansel, Slapton, Nr Dartmouth in the South Hams Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in south Devon. Our dog-friendly, fun-friendly historic old stone cottages offer comfy space in unique buildings plus your own private garden or patio with bbq & outdoor furniture, perfect for getting away from it all... And a rural, coastal retreat for eco-friendly breaks too. Plenty to experience of a self-sufficienctish life - we generate electricity from a water turbine using the former mill leat, grow our own meat, eggs and veg, and press our own apples for juice & cider on a smallholding on 20 secret acres near the sea. We raise ducks, hens, sheep, sometimes cows and pigs. We offer meat and surplus eggs and veg to our guests and welcome help with feeding the animals. Each cottage is tastefully converted from the former mill building, barns & workers' cottages round the old mill-house, built in the 1750s. Thick stone walls, beams, and logburners make each cottage individual in decor offering you spacious, comfortable accommodation, a modern fitted kitchen (with own washing machine, microwave, electric oven or range, kettle, toaster, fridge-freezer), bathrooms with baths and showers. Walks from your cottage door and beyond on green lanes, a 24 hour wildlife channel right outside your window. Great birdwatching and star-gazing - no ight pollution. Woods, meadows, private gardens, shared lawns, undisturbed water meadows & a shallow stream to enjoy - a haven of peace and tranquility almost untouched by the modern world. Holidays like they used to be ... Space to relax and explore... We welcome free-range kids and well-behaved dogs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing