We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Stunning" a truly beautiful place.”
Review of Watermill Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slapton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watermill Cottages
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“"Stunning" a truly beautiful place.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My partner and myself have been to the cottages twice now- however my partner came as a child and has returned with myself, after incredibly fond memories.
The cottages are all unique and beautiful, set in beautiful valley. The views are something I can only descibe as magical- I have never stayed in such a picturesque and beautiful place.
Very sad to leave each time, each holiday has brought many happy
Memories.
The owners are very kind and welcoming. Each going out of their way to be hospitable and providing a homely experience. A definite place to visit!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkjara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you D for your kind words, we're delighted that you enjoyed Watermill Cottages so much the second time, and look forward to meeting your new collie puppy from Devon when you come again in September. Let's hope the weather's as great as it is in May and June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Remember how Alice goes down a rabbit hole in Wonderland and finds a magical place unlike any other? Well, when we go to Watermill Cottages (twice so far in one year and another in the planning), we feel it is a bit like that. No wifi, no TV, no traffic noise. Just the rush of the stream and the birdsong, the animals and silence. This is the kind of place that inspired WH Davies to write his poem, Leisure... "What is this world if full of care, we have no time to stand and stare..." Here, we slough off the dry skin of the 'real world' and bask in the bliss of how things used to be and should be. From the great fish and chips in Slapton, to the farm shop with real, hung, beef, the Pig's Nose pub where you can help yourself to knitting needles and wool after a bracing coastal walk. Beware. If you ever visit Watermill Cottages, you may get addicted....

Room Tip: All cottages are great, but Crownwheel is closest to the water, Quack has the cutest name and garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoParfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Looking forward to welcoming you back down the rabbit hole to our Watermill Wonderland in July, Jo! Thank you for your kind words, and looking forward to seeing you stand, stare, gaze, dream and relax here in summer - and bring your journal for writing and creating by the stream, in the gardens - or at the Ways WIth Words literary festival at Dartington Hall near Totnes from 5-15 July. now, which cottage...?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wow! We have just had our first stay at Watermill Cottages (Crownwell). As you drive down the lane towards the cottages you truly feel as though you are leaving the hustle and bustle of everyday life and getting away from it all. Mobile phone signals become a distant memory as you tackle the twisting bends and narrow lanes with you final view being of the most delightful little hamlet tucked beneath the trees canopy.
Christine & John are absolutely fantastic and happy to share their little bit of paradise with you. Their love and knowledge of the area is brilliant. Add this to the trips up the lane to feed sheep, ducks, chickens, etc and our four year old forgot completely about Ben 10 and the Disney Channel! On the rare occasion that you may want to leave you dog for a few hours, or the whole day, prearranged dog sitting/walking can be arranged.
The cottage we stayed in, Crownwell, was beautiful, clean and tidy. The walk up by the river in the morning was lovely. Listening to the water rushing passed the downstairs bedroom certainly made for a good nights sleep.
This will definitely be a return location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YodaPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been visiting Watermill Cottages for 14 years and it has become like a second home. Fantastic location for the dogs as there is limited through traffic at the cottages and lots of walks. The cottages are set in a beautiful part of Devon and every year we discover something new about the area we have not found before. The cottages are not too far from Slapton, Dartmouth, Kingsbridge and Totnes with many wonderful restaurants in the area to suit all pockets, ranging from upmarket in Dartmouth to family friendly in Slapton. Christine, John and Jade are a fountain of knowledge about the area and happy to give advice if you need it. Plenty of local produce shops, if you are self-catering, to be found in the surrounding areas. The cottages are always clean and ready for guests when they arrive, with the bonus of some of Christine's lovely cakes waiting for the first cup of tea. Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wow! Watermill Cottages are set in the most idealic place!
The approach road winds through beautiful fields and twists and turns as the trees overarch the road. As you reach the bottom of the valley you come across the cottages.The setting is so incredibly peaceful and calm and really is like stepping back in time because the only traffic is you and the post van in the morning. Your children will make their own entertainment as there is no TV or mobile signal-bliss!! (If you walk to the top of the valley you can generally find a signal.)
We have stayed in a number of the cottages but our favourite is Quack- I love to sit in the garden in the morning sun, completely surrounded by the sound of the river and so much birdsong, eating my breakfast at the picnic table.The shallow river runs along below the garden of Quack cottage but can be enjoyed by all from the large garden area on the other side of the river. It's just wonderful to watch the river and look out for the various birds swooping and diving.
Make sure you take lots of changes of clothing if your children are old enough to go in the river (the washing machine gets a lot of use) and wellies are a good idea for the morning dew. Also take a torch for those late evening walks and listen out for the owls. The sky on a clear night is amazing!
There are acres of land to walk and climb in and the owners Christine,John and Jade are happy for you and your children to be involved with all of the animals that they have. My daughter and her friends have watched ducklings hatch on numerous occaisions and the calves were a delight to bottle feed. We have been to the cottages for many years on family holidays having taken children as young as 18months to currently 17 years old.
There are so many places to visit and things to see and do that you are sploilt for choice. These range from visiting the numerous beaches, going crabbing, horseriding on the moors, great pubs/restaurants, walks, Dartmouth castle,the lighthouse, painting pottery, oh the list is endless!
However you will always look forward to 'going home' especially if you have let Christine know that you'd like to help with the animals! It's the kind of place where you are happy to let your children play outside because generally the parents come out to play too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have stayed at Watermill Cottages, five times since 2009 and our year simply wouldn't be complete without at least one trip to "the valley".
We relish the rare opportunity to turn off our mobile phones and curl up in front of the log burner with a book. Our cottage is always warm, spotlessly clean and instantly feels like home. Christine, Jade & John welcome everyone like they are family and provide a wealth of knowledge on the local area. They are never short of eating/drinking/beach suggestions. However, if you do not want to venture too far, there are so many beautiful walks straight from the cottage.
You would not be disappointed with a stay in the beautiful Gara Valley.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank na_parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we're all looking forward to welcoming you again in May and to showing Baby OSH around the valley for the first time, Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slapton
2.4 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Strete Barton House
Strete Barton House
#1 of 3 in Strete
359 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tower Inn
The Tower Inn
#7 of 33 in Kingsbridge
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermill Cottages

Property: Watermill Cottages
Address: Higher North Mill | Hansel, Slapton TQ6 0LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Slapton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Slapton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover what life is all about as you relax and unwind in one of our five comfy Watermill Cottages in the tranquil coastal Gara Valley, below the hamlet of Hansel, Slapton, Nr Dartmouth in the South Hams Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in south Devon. Our dog-friendly, fun-friendly historic old stone cottages offer comfy space in unique buildings plus your own private garden or patio with bbq & outdoor furniture, perfect for getting away from it all... And a rural, coastal retreat for eco-friendly breaks too. Plenty to experience of a self-sufficienctish life - we generate electricity from a water turbine using the former mill leat, grow our own meat, eggs and veg, and press our own apples for juice & cider on a smallholding on 20 secret acres near the sea. We raise ducks, hens, sheep, sometimes cows and pigs. We offer meat and surplus eggs and veg to our guests and welcome help with feeding the animals. Each cottage is tastefully converted from the former mill building, barns & workers' cottages round the old mill-house, built in the 1750s. Thick stone walls, beams, and logburners make each cottage individual in decor offering you spacious, comfortable accommodation, a modern fitted kitchen (with own washing machine, microwave, electric oven or range, kettle, toaster, fridge-freezer), bathrooms with baths and showers. Walks from your cottage door and beyond on green lanes, a 24 hour wildlife channel right outside your window. Great birdwatching and star-gazing - no ight pollution. Woods, meadows, private gardens, shared lawns, undisturbed water meadows & a shallow stream to enjoy - a haven of peace and tranquility almost untouched by the modern world. Holidays like they used to be ... Space to relax and explore... We welcome free-range kids and well-behaved dogs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing