We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Castle Hotel(Bishops Castle)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dragon Hotel(Montgomery)
$88
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knighton Hotel(Knighton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Longmynd(Church Stretton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
253
92
20
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
253
92
20
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe puboffa's dykequiet villageboth nightsgreat chefwood burnergreat beerrelaxing breakbeautiful countrysidebuy a gift vouchernight breakfull english breakfastfeel very welcomeevening mealshort breakcomfortable roomssouth shropshire
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 372 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you like a quiet relaxing place to stay, then The Crown Inn is for you. We had a wonderful stay over two nights, the food is fantastic, (Lyndsey one of the best breakfasts we have had). Our room was spotless and had everything we needed in it. The views from the Inn are breathtaking. Debbie was very welcoming when we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for her.
We intend to come back and stay again sometime in the future and would recommend The Crown Inn to people. Thank you to you both
Sharon and Jimmy

Room Tip: Every room is good
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were walking part of the Offa's Dyke Path with some friends and after a ten mile walk over the hills from Montgomery we arrived hot and tired at the Crown. We received a friendly welcome from Debbie and Lindsey. Our rooms were lovely and the food and drink were excellent! Highly recommended!
Just a note on walking the Offa's Dyke Path; The guide books tend to recommend walking from Brompton Cross Roads to Knighton. We put together a our own itinery and decided to shorten this stage as it is over some of the steep Switchbacks. The pub is not far from the trail and is at the exact halfway stage.
A great place to make a stopover!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the Crown for one night on a Red Letter Day present. We were then moving on to friends' Golden Wedding Party in Powys. The Crown is in a most delightful area of natural beauty which we had a chance to explore, a real rural retreat. The Inn itself was most welcoming and the room was very clean and comfortable. Debbie and Lindsey made us most welcome and the food was beautifully cooked and with generous portions. We would not hesitate to stay here again in the future and will also recommend it to friends visiting the area. One final comment, please take the opportunity to visit nereby Stokesey Castle, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Top quality service, really comfortable rooms, spotless. We stayed for two nights. Deb and Lindsey were very welcoming and clearly enjoy running their Inn. An enormous wood burning stove keeps the place cosy and warm. There is a good dinner menu,the food beautifully cooked and presented. There was also a good choice of cooked breakfasts, again beautifully cooked and presented. The Crown is within a few miles of the tourist places such as Lun and Ludlow. Would certainly look forward to staying there again. Perfect choice for a peaceful break. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a peaceful and pampered short break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 172medusa321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Crown for a couple of days to visit Ludlow Food festival. Debbie warmly greeted us and showed to our fabulous room - clean, modern and everything you could possibly need. The food is superb - Lindsey must have been a top chef in a previous life. Good portions, great taste and well priced (evening). Breakfast didn't disappoint with a wonderfully 'full' full English and smoked mackerel done to perfection. Definitely will be staying again and recommending to everyone heading that way.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a huge bed and is wonderfully light and airy
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CosyCouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews