We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our overnight stay at The Crown Inn , Newcastle-on-Clun”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of our short stay here. Lindsey and Debbie were perfect hosts , the room was excellent , the food was some of the best I've tasted for a long time when eating out and the service was excellent. There were some nice touches too with the special table settings for our Valentines day evening meal and the electric blankets on the beds. All of that together with the location and scenery made it a trip to remember and we would certainly like to return there at some point. Well done Debbie and Lindsey , may your bookings keep rolling in and all the very best for the future.
Ron S

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 361 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was by far the friendliest short break we have ever booked (and we've done quite a few). Nothing was too much bother for Lindsey or Debbie, our hosts for the stay. We booked this hotel as we were looking for a quiet place to unwind for my 65th birthday and we definitely were not disappointed. The room was clean, warm an comfortable, the food was both appetizing and well served, and the ambiance was quiet, peaceful and friendly.Our stay included Valentines evening and the tables in the restaurant were themed for this purpose, including a selection of romantic chocolates and sweets, all at no extra cost. I did have doubts about leaving this report as I would rather keep the place all to myself, but that would have been unfair to Lindsey and Debbie, they work so hard and deserve success. Will be returning soon. Johm

Room Tip: Just book a room here, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Couldn't have asked for more. Very comfortable room- didn't expect the electric blanket. Food great and very reasonably priced. Loved the enormous log burning stove. Lindsey was so welcoming and friendly, it was a real home from home but without having to cook. [Hope Debbie recovers soon.]Will definitely return. Liz and Pete Simpson

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eandpsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

As a family, we stayed at a large farmhouse, about 10 mins walk from The Crown. Meals booked prior to arrival, as there were 12 of us eating. I had mentioned that it was for a birthday party, so the restaurant had been decorated to accomodate the birthday girl. The pub was very welcoming and is very rustic and traditional in appearance - exactly what you want for a country pub. There were plenty of real ales, etc to choose from. The locals were also very welcoming.

The food was excellent. Very tasty, reasonably priced and plenty of it. Not one fussy comment was made, and everyone cleaned their plates. My sister in law also commented that she had tried the 'best hunters chicken she had ever had, and she was the expert. I would highly recommended sampling the food and hospitality of The Crow Inn, and hope to return again one day. Thanks Lindsey and Debbie

Room Tip: There was also other facilites to use - pool table, etc, but unfortunately we didn't get to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We used our buy a gift voucher and stayed 2 nights at the Crown Inn, Debbie and Lindsey were very welcoming and nothing was too much troubble to ask. The room we stayed in was lovely, food excellent, we would definately recommend it and would go back again.Once again thankyou Debbie and Lindsey :) :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris19481997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Outstanding, a little gem of a place. Exceptional hospitality throughout. Debbie and Lindsay did everything they could to make our stay great and they succeeded. A home from home. Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Inn for 2 nights in January. We thoroughly enjoyed our short break, and the Crown Inn was just delightful. The room we stayed in was very spacious, warm and cosy. Debbie and Lindsay were so lovely, they made us feel very welcome and were brilliant hosts. They have excellent knowledge of the surrounding areas and are able to advise on places to visit and the best walking/cycling routes. Lindsay even managed to advise us on the best route home....cutting 2 hours off our journey opposed to the time it took us to arrive!
The evening food was lovely....and cooked beautifully. The cooked breakfasts were also excellent (even the beans!)
We couldn't find any faults with this lovely little place, we felt so comfortable, like home from home. We didn't want to leave but we will definately be returning back later on in the year.
Thankyou once again to Deb and Lindsay for their hospitality!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: The Briars 4368 Main Street, Newcastle-on-Clun SY7 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newcastle-on-Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-on-Clun
Price Range: $96 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century country inn serving real ales & excellent home-cooked fayre, full of character & charm, with great atmosphere & real log fires. Newcastle is ideally suited to those who enjoy walking, cycling, fishing & golfing or visiting the historic towns in and around the South Shropshire Hills, the Welsh border & beyond... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing