We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Chris and Gray”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“From Chris and Gray”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We used our buy a gift voucher and stayed 2 nights at the Crown Inn, Debbie and Lindsey were very welcoming and nothing was too much troubble to ask. The room we stayed in was lovely, food excellent, we would definately recommend it and would go back again.Once again thankyou Debbie and Lindsey :) :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris19481997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    83
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
269
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Clears, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Outstanding, a little gem of a place. Exceptional hospitality throughout. Debbie and Lindsay did everything they could to make our stay great and they succeeded. A home from home. Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Inn for 2 nights in January. We thoroughly enjoyed our short break, and the Crown Inn was just delightful. The room we stayed in was very spacious, warm and cosy. Debbie and Lindsay were so lovely, they made us feel very welcome and were brilliant hosts. They have excellent knowledge of the surrounding areas and are able to advise on places to visit and the best walking/cycling routes. Lindsay even managed to advise us on the best route home....cutting 2 hours off our journey opposed to the time it took us to arrive!
The evening food was lovely....and cooked beautifully. The cooked breakfasts were also excellent (even the beans!)
We couldn't find any faults with this lovely little place, we felt so comfortable, like home from home. We didn't want to leave but we will definately be returning back later on in the year.
Thankyou once again to Deb and Lindsay for their hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed here the week before Christmas, a quiet break, just the two of us.
It was so lovely. Our hosts, Debbie and Lyndsey were delightful. Quietly spoken, happy to chat but non-intrusive. The inn is a charming place, our room, warm, inviting, cozy and clean. Food was very good too.
We are looking forward to going back and often wish we were there.
Ali and Dave.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali0266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Shame we couldn't give more than five stars! Fantastic break. The Hosts couldn't do enough.
It was welcoming, very relaxing, food and accomodation to a superb standard. We did not want to leave and will definately be going back ASAP. Would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone.
Brilliant lounge and bar with cosy fire on a cold snowy January night, just like being at home.
Thanks again Debbie and Lindsey. And good value!

Room Tip: I wouldn't worry all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandBev25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlech
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed one night on a grey Jan day. Room was warm, bed comfortable. Thé food needs attention. Steaks cheap and poorly cooked. Chip fat needed changing. Baked beans were à value option. Value for money in terms of basic stay, clean and warm

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nothing better after a good, walk to arrive at your logdeings and find a happy pleasent face of the hoteler's Lindsey or Debs . Excellent room very clean and well proportioned. The food is well cooked and served very pleasently in a intermate clean eating area and a very pleasent atmosphere. Debs and Lindsey are a really nice people who will do almost anything to make your stay comfortable. They have good knowledge of the area and being on the Welsh border some really nice walks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-on-Clun
6.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
743 reviews
6.7 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
184 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bishops Castle
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
5.6 mi away
The School House B&B
The School House B&B
#1 of 3 in Bucknell
40 reviews
24.0 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: The Briars 4368 Main Street, Newcastle-on-Clun SY7 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newcastle-on-Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-on-Clun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century country inn serving real ales & excellent home-cooked fayre, full of character & charm, with great atmosphere & real log fires. Newcastle is ideally suited to those who enjoy walking, cycling, fishing & golfing or visiting the historic towns in and around the South Shropshire Hills, the Welsh border & beyond... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing