We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!!...Nikki and Kev”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Inn for 2 nights in January. We thoroughly enjoyed our short break, and the Crown Inn was just delightful. The room we stayed in was very spacious, warm and cosy. Debbie and Lindsay were so lovely, they made us feel very welcome and were brilliant hosts. They have excellent knowledge of the surrounding areas and are able to advise on places to visit and the best walking/cycling routes. Lindsay even managed to advise us on the best route home....cutting 2 hours off our journey opposed to the time it took us to arrive!
The evening food was lovely....and cooked beautifully. The cooked breakfasts were also excellent (even the beans!)
We couldn't find any faults with this lovely little place, we felt so comfortable, like home from home. We didn't want to leave but we will definately be returning back later on in the year.
Thankyou once again to Deb and Lindsay for their hospitality!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 357 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed here the week before Christmas, a quiet break, just the two of us.
It was so lovely. Our hosts, Debbie and Lyndsey were delightful. Quietly spoken, happy to chat but non-intrusive. The inn is a charming place, our room, warm, inviting, cozy and clean. Food was very good too.
We are looking forward to going back and often wish we were there.
Ali and Dave.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali0266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Shame we couldn't give more than five stars! Fantastic break. The Hosts couldn't do enough.
It was welcoming, very relaxing, food and accomodation to a superb standard. We did not want to leave and will definately be going back ASAP. Would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone.
Brilliant lounge and bar with cosy fire on a cold snowy January night, just like being at home.
Thanks again Debbie and Lindsey. And good value!

Room Tip: I wouldn't worry all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobandBev25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed one night on a grey Jan day. Room was warm, bed comfortable. Thé food needs attention. Steaks cheap and poorly cooked. Chip fat needed changing. Baked beans were à value option. Value for money in terms of basic stay, clean and warm

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nothing better after a good, walk to arrive at your logdeings and find a happy pleasent face of the hoteler's Lindsey or Debs . Excellent room very clean and well proportioned. The food is well cooked and served very pleasently in a intermate clean eating area and a very pleasent atmosphere. Debs and Lindsey are a really nice people who will do almost anything to make your stay comfortable. They have good knowledge of the area and being on the Welsh border some really nice walks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We wanted to combine a visit to friends in the area with a little walking, and came upon the Crown Inn by chance, and a remarkably fine chance it was too. Lynsey and Debs are as welcoming a you could hope for without being obtrusive, and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are spacious, the Inn is warm with the log burner firing away all the time, and they did everything possible to make our short stay a good a possible. We loved the walking in the area, with its range of pathways and ordinary footpaths, and will almost certainly return. The food was extremely good, and as vegetarians we were pleasantly surprised at the range of dishes on offer, and the ones we had were home-made and excellent.

We've stayed in many hotels and B&Bs, and this is up there with the best of them. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Booked in to crown inn in early December with our two girls, found this to be a lovely relaxed place, very welcoming.
Very homely, with log burner in lounge with leather seating, rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The food was delcious with a wide variety of home cooked meals and puddings, and breakfast. Defenatly will visit again, a must see and highly recommended, debbie and lyndsy were great hostesses very helpfull and very welcomin during our stay..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-on-Clun
6.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
817 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Crown At Hopton
The Crown At Hopton
#2 of 5 in Cleobury Mortimer
999 reviews
3.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: The Briars 4368 Main Street, Newcastle-on-Clun SY7 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newcastle-on-Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-on-Clun
Price Range: $58 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century country inn serving real ales & excellent home-cooked fayre, full of character & charm, with great atmosphere & real log fires. Newcastle is ideally suited to those who enjoy walking, cycling, fishing & golfing or visiting the historic towns in and around the South Shropshire Hills, the Welsh border & beyond... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing