We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We wanted to combine a visit to friends in the area with a little walking, and came upon the Crown Inn by chance, and a remarkably fine chance it was too. Lynsey and Debs are as welcoming a you could hope for without being obtrusive, and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are spacious, the Inn is warm with the log burner firing away all the time, and they did everything possible to make our short stay a good a possible. We loved the walking in the area, with its range of pathways and ordinary footpaths, and will almost certainly return. The food was extremely good, and as vegetarians we were pleasantly surprised at the range of dishes on offer, and the ones we had were home-made and excellent.

We've stayed in many hotels and B&Bs, and this is up there with the best of them. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    80
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
263
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Booked in to crown inn in early December with our two girls, found this to be a lovely relaxed place, very welcoming.
Very homely, with log burner in lounge with leather seating, rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The food was delcious with a wide variety of home cooked meals and puddings, and breakfast. Defenatly will visit again, a must see and highly recommended, debbie and lyndsy were great hostesses very helpfull and very welcomin during our stay..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a few days in early november, as just a little escape before the hassle of christmas! Well worth a visit! Staff and service absolutely fab, a really enjoyable experience all round.

Lovely location and nothing made to feel too much hassle for the owners. Bedroom was spacious and comfortable. Food was too a high standard and all served in a lovely warm environment!

Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadee_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naves, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Only found the Crown Inn by chance as we were looking for somewhere to stay at the last minute. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was spacious and very comfortable with everything you'd need. The bar was lovely and warm and the food was good. The breakfast was excellent. If we are back in the area again we will definitely search out the Crown Inn again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We are so pleased we chose the Crown Inn to spend our "40th Anniversary gift" from our family. The whole experience was excellent. The welcome was as warm as the heat given out by the wood burner!. After settling into our spacious, comfortable room we spent a pleasant hour sampling the drinks on offer with great company. We stayed for 2 nights and the food and wine on both evenings was excellent. Not to mention the fantasic breakfasts! Debbie and Lindsey made us feel at home and we wish them all the best with the conversion. If we holiday in this area again The Crown is a must. We highly recommend it and hope that the locals support the Inn more in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisang199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Definitely worth a visit. Arrived late afternoon and were made to feel very welcome. First impressions were excellent, we walked straight into the sitting area to be greeted by a lovely big wood burner making it very cosy and comfortable with lovely comfy leather sofas to sit on. Our bedroom was large and comfortable and warm and the decor throughout was of a very good standard. We stayed bed breakfast and evening meal and were not disappointed the food was excellent. Debbie and Lindsey were excellent hostesses and we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandiD931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

After visiting The Crown Inn for the third time you might think we'd become a little reluctant to write reviews, but quite the opposite is true. The more people that sample this gem the better as far as we're concerned.
To be welcomed by Debbie and Lindsey, two hosts who not only recognise from previous visits but remember the details of your previous conversations is as far as we're concerned evidence of truly genuine people.
A warm fire, comfy sofa's still the best bed I have personally ever slept in, tasty food, and very friendly company from both hosts and from other guests enjoying the treasure that is The Crown.....what more can you ask for.
Well, add to that the love we have for Ludlow, so much so that my partner proposed to me at the top of the tower, and the peace that comes from being away from all distraction and I can honestly say this is my perfect holiday.
With a wedding now being planned I am happy to say that there is no doubt in our minds that The Crown will be on our list of places to visit during our honeymoon. And we know that we'll be well looked after.
To add......the plans they now have for two extra rooms means that we'll most definitely have to go back before the wedding to sample the new accommodation to make sure we get the best room in the house to meet the quality of the most lovely hosts we've yet to experience.

Room Tip: We've tried rooms 2 & 3, and both have their plus sides. Room 3 is definitely the warmer of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-on-Clun
6.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
6.7 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newburgh House - Coxwold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: The Briars 4368 Main Street, Newcastle-on-Clun SY7 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newcastle-on-Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-on-Clun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century country inn serving real ales & excellent home-cooked fayre, full of character & charm, with great atmosphere & real log fires. Newcastle is ideally suited to those who enjoy walking, cycling, fishing & golfing or visiting the historic towns in and around the South Shropshire Hills, the Welsh border & beyond... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing