We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Crown Inn Pub”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We didn't stay here but went there for our evening meal. Sadly the dining room was a little quiet the night we were there, and we were disappointed with the quality and presentation of our meal. On the plus side the beer was ok!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 357 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

From the moment you walk through the door you feel at home! debbie and lyndsey make you welcome as soon as you arrive.we had a nice and realxing stay,the rooms were fantasic,clean and very cosy.we had a evening meal and breakfast which was excellent, nothing was too much trouble.we loved our stay there and we plan to go back very soon.
from joanne gary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The warm and frlendly welcome at the Crown Inn on arrival was much appreciated , very relaxing stay in a very pretty area. Hospiltality outstanding nothing too much trouble , Our room and shower room was very clean and the bed was sooooooooo comfy wanted to bring home , all you need for a relaxing getaway. Food was excellent and well presented. Hosts Deb and Lyndsey are very friendly and make you feel at home , ample parking .Would love to return in the near future

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Crown Inn, Newcastle on Clun is a great place to ‘get away from it all’ and relax. A great welcome from Debs and Lyndsey. The pub is well furnished and decorated and the beer, wine and food are good. The rooms are comfortable, and parking is easy. We enjoyed our stay and we plan to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Room was large and comfortable and shower room likewise. Food was generally pretty good and the welcome friendly. I know we are in the middle of a recession but it is a shame that more locals don't pay a visit from time to time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Crown Inn. On arrival we were given a friendly welcome. Our room was very clean and spacious and comfortable.The shower room was well equiped with all toiletries and was very clean. On both evenings we ate at the Crown Inn, the menu had a good selection and many dishes were homemade.The food was of a high standard and good value. The breakfast menu was excellent and again of a high standard. We would definately recommend this inn and will definately be returning to the Crown Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I see that many reviews here are highly favourable and there are undoubtedly good things about this place. The owners are certainly very friendly and helpful. and.the setting is superb, particularly if you like walking. Unfortunately the atmosphere in the dining room is soulless and definitely not enhanced by the unvarying Muzak played every night. Also, although the helpings of food were generous , the quality of the meat was poor and some of the wine on offer was awful. But the vegetables were all excellent, as were the starters and desserts, and I would agree with other reviewers about the excellence of the breakfast. The room my wife and stayed in was spacious and reasonably comfortable but the shower room was unheated and the shower itself very basic. The walls of the room are also very thin, to the extent that we could hear almost every word from our neighbours' room. Earplugs are definitely essential! On balance I would recommend the place but certailnly not without reservation. It could be so much better.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Alanicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-on-Clun
6.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
817 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Crown At Hopton
The Crown At Hopton
#2 of 5 in Cleobury Mortimer
999 reviews
3.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: The Briars 4368 Main Street, Newcastle-on-Clun SY7 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newcastle-on-Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-on-Clun
Price Range: $58 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century country inn serving real ales & excellent home-cooked fayre, full of character & charm, with great atmosphere & real log fires. Newcastle is ideally suited to those who enjoy walking, cycling, fishing & golfing or visiting the historic towns in and around the South Shropshire Hills, the Welsh border & beyond... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing