We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet break”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A quiet break”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Crown Inn. On arrival we were given a friendly welcome. Our room was very clean and spacious and comfortable.The shower room was well equiped with all toiletries and was very clean. On both evenings we ate at the Crown Inn, the menu had a good selection and many dishes were homemade.The food was of a high standard and good value. The breakfast menu was excellent and again of a high standard. We would definately recommend this inn and will definately be returning to the Crown Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    83
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
269
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I see that many reviews here are highly favourable and there are undoubtedly good things about this place. The owners are certainly very friendly and helpful. and.the setting is superb, particularly if you like walking. Unfortunately the atmosphere in the dining room is soulless and definitely not enhanced by the unvarying Muzak played every night. Also, although the helpings of food were generous , the quality of the meat was poor and some of the wine on offer was awful. But the vegetables were all excellent, as were the starters and desserts, and I would agree with other reviewers about the excellence of the breakfast. The room my wife and stayed in was spacious and reasonably comfortable but the shower room was unheated and the shower itself very basic. The walls of the room are also very thin, to the extent that we could hear almost every word from our neighbours' room. Earplugs are definitely essential! On balance I would recommend the place but certailnly not without reservation. It could be so much better.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alanicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at The Crown whilst doing family history in Shropshire. We were made to feel very welcome. Our room was lovely with great views over open countryside. It was scrupulously clean and the bed was super king size with an electric blanket - bliss. The breakfast was superb, freshly cooked and the scrambled eggs were the best I have ever had, even better than my own. We dined at The Crown each evening, having a drink in the small comfortable bar with a cosy log fire and chatted to the other residents who were walking in the beautiful countryside. The owners made every attempt to make our stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible and I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshiretraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed just one night. We received a very friendly welcome in this small hotel set in beautiful countryside. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom and bathroom very clean. Nothing was too much trouble and my husband particularly enjoyed the very generous proportions of the cooked breakfast! We both thought The Crown represented excellent value for money and would have no hesitation in staying there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparkford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Friendly face on arrival.Offered drinks from bar if required.Bedrooms very clean and tidy and very spacious.Service and food excellent and good value especially the full english breakfast.Would definitely recommend to friends going to the area and would stay again.It's a pity not many locals support the pub,but the customers that were there were friendly and socialable.
Tim and Mary

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you like good food, if you like luxurious sleeping accommodation, if you want a friendly and warm welcome in beautiful surroundings, then this is the place we recommend. We would like to thank Lindsey and Debbie for a fabulous stay. Alan and Helen.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelliemay20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights in early September, and there is no doubt that The Crown has a lot going for it - a nice old building in a beautiful part of the Shropshire hills, offering excellent bed and breakfast with clean, comfortable rooms and friendly service. But there are downsides - our evening meals were disappointing, and the pub lacked any sort of atmosphere, with only a couple of locals in on the Tuesday night, and nobody at all the next night as the pub was shut. It is also closed every lunchtime (except Sundays), and on the evenings when it does open, it doesn't do so until 7pm. It's a vicious circle of course, the owners say it isn't worth opening for longer because the locals don't use the pub, while the locals we talked to in the village complained that the pub was never open. While we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Crown to anyone looking for a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast before a day's walking around the beautiful local countryside, it is not the place for anyone who enjoys a sociable drink at the end of the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-on-Clun
6.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
743 reviews
6.7 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
184 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bishops Castle
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
5.6 mi away
The School House B&B
The School House B&B
#1 of 3 in Bucknell
40 reviews
24.0 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: The Briars 4368 Main Street, Newcastle-on-Clun SY7 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newcastle-on-Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-on-Clun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century country inn serving real ales & excellent home-cooked fayre, full of character & charm, with great atmosphere & real log fires. Newcastle is ideally suited to those who enjoy walking, cycling, fishing & golfing or visiting the historic towns in and around the South Shropshire Hills, the Welsh border & beyond... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing