We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Weekend”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A group of 30 of us spent the weeekend on the nearby campsite and The Crown catered for all of us on both nights. They also provided B&B for one of our party with her 3 month old baby on the first night. Over the weekend Lindsey and Debbie provided great hospitality and really memorable meals at a great price. The bedroom provided for my daughter-in-law and baby grandaughter was of an excellent standard and she also thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast.
To sum up, a really welcoming pub and B&B with excellent food and real ales, high quality accommodation and a beautiful location. Thank you, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyG53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 357 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just back from a weekend away - we went to the Crown on the Sunday and had the carvery. Please remove any thoughts of the dreadful Toby carvery - this was delicious. We booked and the carvery was prepared for that time - no vegetables sitting around. We had three roasts, huge variety of vegetables and everyone loved it - there were 14 of us and we are all pretty hard to please! Had a large room to ourselves and it was the perfect ending to a great stay in the village for my dads 80th Birthday. Excellent value too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annabellec c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

A beautiful place,nicely tucked away with wonderful views & peaceful surroundings. This was our second visit but this time was unfortunately only for one night. Very friendly, couldn't do enough for you. The rooms are to a very high standard & the food is amazing.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay as a base in the area, this is the place.
Will certainly be visiting again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneEMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We booked three nights at The Crown Inn for a four day getaway and found a tranquil rural retreat far away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. On our arrival a well appointed double room awaited us with large double bed room with en-suite decorated to a standard that you would expect from most boutique hotels. The room was warm and cosy with stunning views of the local hills and with all the facilities that the modern traveller would wish for, whilst maintaining the original features of the 17th century building. The room had tea and coffee making facilities, soap, towels, a tray for your boots, extra heating and large tv. The restaurant was modern and cosy and the homemade meals were hearty and well cooked. We especially liked the mushroom and stilton melt starter and the cooked breakfasts were brilliant setting you up for the rest of the day. Lindsey & Debs made us feel most welcome and if you run out of anything such as tea/coffee you only had to ask. Newcastle is located in a very quiet and beautiful area of Shropshire perfect for walkers and geologists. Once you have explored this area you can easily travel by car to Wales and Herefordshire so there are many opportunities to stay at this lovely B&B. We had a very relaxing break and will be back again to explore more hidden gems around this lovely rural retreat.

Room Tip: rooms over look stunning scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed one night at The Crown Inn for a birthday getaway and it did not disappoint! Great location, lovely pub, fantastic well equipped clean spacious room and fantastic hospitality from owners. The food (evening meal and breakfast) was hearty and tasty and the bar was well stocked and well priced. Can not fault the crown inn and will definitely be going back again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We almost got lost trying to find this place, which is hilarious when you realise Newcastle-on-Clun only has about three streets! At any rate, when we got there they weren't sure if they could feed us as they had about twenty people all ordering food. A bit of an exception, apparently.

At any rate, they set us up on a couch in the restaurant half and we drank cider for 45 minutes until they could serve us. No problem: they told us the wait could be twice that, so our expectations were nicely managed. Thankfully, once we sat down the food arrived efficiently and - even better - was very yummy. Cream of vegetable soup with homemade bread was delicious, as were potato wedges - not molecular gastronomy but nicely done anyway. A chicken curry was served with expertly done basmati rice and was very tasty indeed, and well presented to boot. We shared a nice sticky toffee pudding to finish.

All that, including two bottles of Magners, set us back all of £20.20. An absurd bargain. Recommended.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tristan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

An idyllic, rural retreat for those seeking tranquil surroundings. Within striking distance (by car) of places of historic interest such as Craven Arms and Ludlow and some of the best walking and hiking you're likely to get anywhere in England/Wales. The Crown Inn is lovingly cared for, providing a warm welcome and high quality accommodation. We had a lovely double room with top-class decor and a hugely comfortable bed. The owners have an attentive, but unintrusive style and nothing is too much trouble. They are both well informed and provide helpful advice on local attractions. The restaurant serves good hearty meals and for residents who like a full English breakfast, theirs is second to none and will set you up for the day!! Bar and restaurant prices are very reasonable and overall the Inn provides excellent value for money. As the Inn is also a local pub those wishing to stop for a drink on a Sunday will be disappointed as it is closed except for residents. We had a wonderful two night stop and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carter49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-on-Clun
6.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
817 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Crown At Hopton
The Crown At Hopton
#2 of 5 in Cleobury Mortimer
999 reviews
3.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: The Briars 4368 Main Street, Newcastle-on-Clun SY7 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newcastle-on-Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-on-Clun
Price Range: $58 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th-century country inn serving real ales & excellent home-cooked fayre, full of character & charm, with great atmosphere & real log fires. Newcastle is ideally suited to those who enjoy walking, cycling, fishing & golfing or visiting the historic towns in and around the South Shropshire Hills, the Welsh border & beyond... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing