We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tropical respite”
other travelers have booked this property
Night shot of house- Look at those stars!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Night shot of house- Look at those stars!
Main Deck- 600 feet from the ocean with great oceanview and sunsets The sunsets are magnificent there at the house- they rival Arizona!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Night shot of house- Look at those stars!
Main Deck- 600 feet from the ocean with great oceanview and sunsets
The sunsets are magnificent there at the house- they rival Arizona!
kayaks and boogie boards, in closet on  first floor/great snorkeling 2 minutes from house
My favorite room in the house- airy and breezy and candilibered ceilings
TV area with netflix, dvds,
Kitchen lava bar
View from 600 plus foot deck
House six hundred feet from the ocean
Family room and kitchen
Kitchen has dishwasher plus oceanview
refrigerator and microwave and electric stove
Another TV area shot
Upstairs Master Bedroom/ King bed in there now
Newer photo of upper blue ocean master
View from family room into master
Upstairs Master Bathroom
Upstairs Master Bathroom
Upstairs Second Bedroom/ new queen bed in there a Certa!
Newer photo of upper second bedroom
Upstairs 2nd Bathroom- the fish bathroom
Lower master with bamboo canopy bed
Another shot of lower master
Another view of lower master
Downstairs Bathroom
Another view from the deck
Another deck view from 600 foot deck
Futon is now in lower master and bunkbeds are here
Gameroom  with a  ping pong table, small pool table and air hockey , bar and  ocean toy closet
Queen bed in gameroom/washer and dryer is also here
Queen bed in gameroom
A Two minute walk  from the house there's this wonderful swimming and snorkeling hole
Snorkeling hole and Papa bay where the whales frolic in the winter time
Milolii beach park- this area is down in the village where there are tidepools and a hike to beach
Milolii beach park- drive down Milolii Road to the town and there you hike into Honomolino Beach
Another view of house
Nearby Honomolino Beach- drive into Milolii, park at the community center, hike in 15 minutes to  very private beach...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Milolii, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Pats53
Sequim, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tropical respite”
Reviewed February 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We've just returned from our third stay in the makai house and it is a perfect fit for us. We love its proximity to the sea, that the location is far from the tourist crowds, the quiet and dark nights. The house itself is ideal...comfy beds, ample bathroom space, washer/clothesline/dryer, beach towels, good kitchen provisions. Daniel is always warm, welcoming and helpful. Suzie is wonderful as well. They both contribute much to make our stay comfortable.
If away from touristy Kona is a must for you and you don't mind driving a bit for groceries/gas, then the makai could work well for you, too.
Thank you once again, Cheryl. We'll return. Aloha.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2017
I can't wait to rent to you again! I am hoping you will stay a month this next time. October 15th through November 15th would be great! As always it was a [pleasure renting to you for the third time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePandas...
1 review
“The Perfect Paradise”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

I stayed in the home for a total of 7 days and i enjoyed every second. One of my favorite activities was the Swimming home about 400 FT from the front door. Where you walk onto the ocean and it is a great snorkeling spot and. Also you are in the perfect location to go to either of the two major cities on the island. The view from the deck is absolutely breath taking. in all i had a amazing and wonderful experience.

Your age range 13-17
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2017
It was a pleasure having you at the house! Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly J
1 review
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed December 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

A truly relaxing experience! We needed time to regroup and reteam with the teenagers. It was not hard to sit around the lanai table after a bbq dinner to play games (provided at the house) and laugh together - a few boys vs girls challenges with ping pong and pool (I won't tell you who won because I don't want to hear the taunting again!). The boys golfed the girls shopped! The extremely clean house was amazing and comfortable with all the fully stocked amenities of home. Daniel is a wealth of information about the island - abuse his brilliance. Do shop for groceries prior to getting to the house; it is a trek to the house. Listen for the horn to signal for whales and use the binoculars to view them from the lanai. The geckos, whom I have named the "George Family" all have different markings on their backs. the one with three orange marking resembling a cats paw is Boy George - he is a mischievous one!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2017
Thank you for choosing my house for Christmas! It was a pleasure having you there! Come again! Remember other times of the year are much more reasonable- hope you come back! I will look for the George family the next time I am there! It sounds like you enjoyed all the amenities of the house. Daniel is great isn't he!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian0820...
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing getaway home!”
Reviewed December 15, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Cheryl's house was absolutely incredible! The views from the lanai of the ocean and hills was just breathtaking. We went snorkeling right in front, a 2 min walk. She had all kinds of beach and snorkel gear you could need. She's put a lot of thought into the house and has really made it a home. She supplies everything you could need, amenities like shampoo and conditioner. We loved it here and would love to return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2016
Thank you for appreciating and loving our house. I hope to rent to you in the future. It was a pleasure! Good luck to you two! Have a great rest of your trip!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway!”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Wow, I had such a great time on the Big Island and the house was such a big part of that. It was so much closer to Volcano National Park than anyplace in Kona. The lava show in the crater was spectacular when we were there. We also did a long hike after dark to watch the lava push into the ocean...the steam clouds and glowing molten rock were awesome.
I loved the deck of the house for just relaxing and enjoying the view of the ocean. The house itself was very roomy and open with so many conveniences. The boys loved the game room and the swimming hole...all the boogie boards, snorkeling gear, kayaks insured that they had fun and were engaged at all times. Thanks for a great stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large deck with great view
Liked least: Leaving the island
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2016
Thanks for a great review! You captured many of my favorite things about the house! Come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akdiver19...
gwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge beautiful home with great views”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Loved this place! We had a great time stayed for a month. Plenty of room and the deck is awesome.
Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2016
Thank you for your great review! Come again and spread the word please in Maui! The deck is awesome isn't it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hailey_hi...
Puyallup
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Milolii”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Absolutely the most beautiful place I have ever stayed! The house is amazing and suited our needs so perfectly. It was nice to have the ability to cook and the house honestly had everything we needed. Because of our flight being delayed we arrived at the home late and Danial came right over and helped us bring things in and gave us great advise on activities to do. I completely plan to stay here every time I go back to the Big Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review. Would love to rent to you again!!! It's people like you two that make it a pleasure to share our house with!! Come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing