We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Oak Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challock, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Dbayliss
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a great place to stay, Nigel the owner is very welcoming and encourages any children who stay to help feed the animals on the small holding.There are horses, pigs, geese, ducks, chickens and cows and you are welcome to help either first thing in the morning or in the evening. My niece and husband really enjoyed this time.

The accommodation is basic but very comfortable the only down side I would say is that there is no actual conventional oven just two induction hobs and a microwave oven which could grill, cook etc. this is fine if you are a microwave wiz but may find it difficult if your not!!
The shower is electric and isn't very powerful , if you are used to a power shower you may find this a little frustrating.

The location is wonderful and the 2 comments above would certainly not put me off staying again at the location and accommodation is in a perfect spot to visit Kent and London due to the high speed trains from Ashford.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Easy to relax
Liked least: Kitchen small - but who cares - on holiday
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cheryl b
Walsall West Midlands UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Idyllic hideaway”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Oak Cottage is a beautiful and comfortable holiday rental in a picturesque village in the Kent countryside. Well positioned to explore the surrounding areas but a car is a must, Canterbury, Dover and Whitstable among some of the places we visited. If you fancy a meal in the local area we recommend the Tickled Trout by the river in Wye.
Welcomed from the start by Wendy who owns the cottage with her husband Nigel, we found it to be very peaceful and relaxing. The cottage itself was built in the 90's but has been built to resemble an older cottage. It was well equipped and decorated to a high standard.
The outside lake was very welcoming on a hot day.
The only downside was that the wifi wasn't the best as it was in the middle of nowhere so if you can't live without the internet then you will be lost. All in this was very relaxing break.
PS The plants are growing well Wendy, many thanks.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Oak cottage. As you found we do enjoy a very central location for sight seeing in Kent so it is great that you got to see so man of the sights. Rural broad band is not the best if you are used to high speeds but we are looking at a new system via a satellite transmitter that should improve the situation dramatically in the future. Glad the plants have taken and thanks for choosing to stay in Oak Cottage, Wendy and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 20, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendly , and wonderfuly peaceful. highly recommended
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Westiew0m...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent. Can't be faulted”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My partner and I have stayed in many hotels and decided instead to opt for a holiday rental instead. Having had a bad experience recently with a cottage we rented we are anxious about our experience of Oak Cottage.
Safe to say our concerns were lifted as soon as we were greeted with Nigel as soon as we arrived. Excellent customer care (esp. when we ran out of butter on a cold wintry night in the middle of nowhere :) !!).
The cottage itself is amazing as are the grounds. To visit in the summer is now on our agenda to see the surrounding gardens in all their glory.
Thank you for making us so welcome

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the cottage and its seclusion in the middle of lovely gardens
Liked least: The access to the cottage from the parking is dark at night and we would suggest sensored lighting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing