We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Halfway House

The Halfway House
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Challock
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

A good value and generous Sunday lunch. Obviously a very popular venue - we arrived for a midday booking and were quickly served by very pleasant staff. One query - it seemed there was no stuffing accompaniement to the turkey and it did not occur to me at the time. I was with a friend from France who was impressed by the ambience and by the service. The desserts were great - excellent crumble and treacle sponge! Coming back next week (already booked) with 3 friends for midweek lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    95
    53
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excelent Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have used this pub on many occasions have always been very pleased with the quality of the food and the excellent service. Last night (5-10-13) had an event with a social group I belong to and all 21 people were very satisfied with the quality of the food and the excellent service.
We will be going again. Advisable to book as this venue gets very busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cannot be beaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Party of nine dining on a Saturday evening . Very welcoming , nice table. Food just perfect ,the menu is beyond compare , so much choice, and some different dishes than the usual fare.very good service , just the right amount of time between courses ,and no rush for us to leave . Staff are wonderful and nothing seems to much trouble. Prices are very resonable.All in all in would say this is one of the best pub resturants in kent

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jac-disney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went to a 50th Birthday meal here with a group of 14 people, can holestly say the service and food here was absolutely brilliant. We ordered our meals in advance, which i guess is standard for them, but it all came out quickly, it was all hot and the biggest portions of starters and mains i have ever seen. Will definitely be going back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsOvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volders, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 2 weeks all over England but the food in Halfway House was the best. It's always difficult for me to find a good restaurant, I'm Austrian and used to continental food. But the owner and cook is Italian and so it was really good. I was there in May and came back in September.
Für jeden Besucher Englands der nicht so der große Liebhaber der englischen Küche ist sollte im Half Way House essen. Italienische Küche, super Fisch...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heike237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Halfway House also viewed

 
Stalisfield, Faversham
 

Been to The Halfway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing