We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing weekend at a very special place”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pod- 4th floor living area Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Pod- 4th floor living area
Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Sleeping- Bedroom 1
Sleeping Bedroom 1
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Bathing at The Windmill Suffolk
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
Luxury at The Windmill Suffolk
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
Sleeping- Bedroom 2
The Pod at nightime
Lounging in comfort at The Windmill Suffolk
The View from The Windmill Suffolk
Treats at The Windmill Suffolk
The Balcony of The Windmill Suffolk
The Balcony with a view at The Windmill Suffolk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cockfield, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VLM1977
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing weekend at a very special place”
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

WOW! Just back from a 2 night break

The Windmill was purely stunning inside and out - every room was immaculately presented, the modern kitchen was equipped with everything needed, the bath was so luxurious and being able to see over the fields from the shower was a truly unique experience. The bedrooms were stylishly decorated & extremely comfortable, and it was worth the climb to the top. This room really had the wow factor with dual aspect far reaching views over the countryside and it was beautiful to relax, read, watch tv (with surround sound) or just admire the views from the balcony.

Natalie & Steven were the perfect hosts, literally going above & beyond to make our getaway that extra special. They gave us the warmest of welcomes and all the little thoughtful extras made for a relaxing and wonderful weekend. They really have thought of everything, from the wine cooler and glasses on the top floor to enjoy a drink with the view (without having to go back down to the ground floor kitchen), slippers /dressing gowns, toiletries and welcome kitchen pack.

Conveniently located near to the historic town of Bury St Edmunds and local village of Lavenham. The Windmill was so beautiful and peaceful we didn’t want to leave.

We will definitely be back for another visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2018
I love the opening word of your review Vicki!
As you know that word if the one most of our guests use when they first step into The Windmill and look round and we are so pleased that you felt this way too!
We are glad that you had time to rest and relax a little and I know from our conversations that you had some great meals out while you were here too.
We look forward to welcoming you both again and thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review!
Kind regards
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJC80123
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Peaceful and Unique Place To Stay”
Reviewed March 9, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We have just returned from a fabulous three night break at The Windmill Suffolk. From the moment we arrived and Natalie took the time to show us around the property we knew this would be a wonderful place to stay. The standard of fixtures and fittings added to the other little touches that Natalie and Steve provide to make you feel welcome highlight the work that has gone into developing this property, and the pride and pleasure they take in being able to let others enjoy it.

Natalie made it clear that after showing us round she would not trouble us again during our stay, but reassured that if we needed anything we only had to knock on her front door! Safe to say everything we needed had already been thought of and provided.

As well as the fantastically peaceful property, the local area has lots to offer and we would highly recommend The Horseshoes pub just up the road. We also visited Ickworth House and spent time in Bury St Edmunds.

We cannot thank Natalie and Steve enough for a wonderful break and we will definitely return to enjoy this property again in the future.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2018
Thank you SO much for this lovely review Andy- we really appreciate you taking the time to write such kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Windmill and that you got to visit our great local pub and also the beautiful National Trust property Ickworth House while you were in Suffolk!
We really look forward to welcoming you both again in the hopefully not too distant future and have a fab rest of 2018!
Kind regards
Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane V
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super, Top class”
Reviewed March 4, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted by Natalie. Very friendly lady. She explained everything to us and then said she would leave us alone unless we needed anything. The place was wonderful. Great quality and a lot of thought had gone into the design of the place. So many extras which were greatly appreciated. Victoria sponge cake and a bottle of wine on arrival. Proper coffee, tea, milk, jams, butter, bread, cereal. 5 floors and each one presented perfectly. Very clean throughout. Extras by the bed, lots of toiletries. Slippers and a very soft dressing gown. Beautiful big bath to fit two and a shower. Top floor had fantastic views and a telescope for viewing. Great sofas, and a curve tv with sky or Netflix available plus internet. We can not fault this place in any way whatsoever and we stay in many places to compare it to.
Highly recommend. Just make sure you are fit enough to go up 5 flights of stairs, it’s worth it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2018
Thank you for such a lovely review Jane- we are so pleased you had a good time and enjoyed your stay at The Windmill!
You are so right- those flights or stairs do make you get fit ( or ensure you remember to bring everything you want to the floor you are on first time! Tee Hee!)
I am glad you liked the little extras too- it's always nice to have an extra surprise treat in life every now and again!
Kind regards
Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry A
1 review
“Beautiful place to stay, perfect for a romantic few nights away”
Reviewed March 3, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My partner and I stayed at the windmill for our mini-moon after getting married and it was such a beautiful place to stay. Natalie and Steve were lovely and couldn’t do enough for us. It was during the coldest snap that we have seen for years but it was just so cosy. Everything in the windmill is furnished to a very high standard hence the luxury price tag but it was worth every penny. The bath is enormous, we would love to have a bathroom large enough for that
I would highly recommend this as a treat for any couple for a lovely romantic place to stay. We will definitely be booking another stay later in the year, as would love to enjoy the views from the pod during a nice warm summer. Walking up from the kitchen to the viewing pod will definitely keep you fit but it is a windmill after all

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2018
Dear Garry,
Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review.
We are so pleased that you braved the snow and managed to get to The Windmill to celebrate your mini-moon with us at The Windmill. We bet you got some lovely photos of the snowy scenes from the balcony!
It will be lovely to welcome you in a warmer month so that you can get out in the garden and sit out on the balcony with a glass or 2. Half year anniversary celebration could be the way forward! Tee hee!
The bath is pretty special and we have to agree we would love to have a bath that size in our house too! Mind you - we may never get out of it if we had one at home!
Congratulations again on your wedding and we look forward to seeing you again- when the sun is shining!
Kind regards
Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee C
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulously Unique Break!”
Reviewed February 28, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My wife booked us a weekend break at the Windmill for our both of our birthdays; what a wonderful place! Natalie greeted us on arrival with such genuine warmth and is so obviously proud of the job they have done and I'm not surprised. The layout is fantastic; a room on every floor, all very luxurious. The kitchen on the ground floor is very modern and well equipped. The main bedroom on the next floor is lovely and surprisingly spacious. On the next floor up is the bathroom, again very modern with a huge bath and a equally impressive shower room. On the next floor up is the 2nd bedroom, obviously smaller than the first but again very nice. and on the top floor is the "pod" complete with viewing balcony. the view from here is stunning; and they even provide you with a telescope to take in more of the view! We stayed for 2 nights and didn't feel the need to leave. Why would you? Thank you Steve and Natalie, we will be back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2018
Dear Lee,
Thankyou so much for your great review of your birthday celebrations at The Windmill Suffolk- we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us!
You saying you didn't feel the need to leave is a common statement from guests who stay with us and we genuinely hope that you will come back to visit us again in the not too distant future- perhaps for another birthday bash!
Kind regards
Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritac2520...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unique luxurious accommodation in rural Suffolk”
Reviewed February 17, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Windmill is set in the countryside in the lovely county of Suffolk.
Although it was snowing when we arrived everywhere in the property was warm and cosy. Each room is beautifully designed and every comfort is catered for.
There are stunning villages such as Lavenham and Long Melford with their original black and white Tudor houses to explore in the vicinity. The coast is worth a day trip too. For walkers there is a disused railway line close by and we believe it is possible to walk along it to Lavenham. There were snowdrops and aconites in bloom when we walked part of it.
We stayed at the property with our good friends and enjoyed relaxing in the “pod” most evenings drinking bubbly and watching the stars!
It was a most enjoyable and memorable experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2018
Dear Rita & Roger
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so pleased that the 4 of you enjoyed your stay at The Windmill last month and that you kept cosy despite the snow outside!
It's great to hear you braved the cold and ventured out to visit some of our great surrounding villages AND managed to fit celebrating with a few bottles of bubbly too!
We hope to welcome you again in the future and wish you a wonderful rest of the year ahead.
Kind regards
Steve & Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smileysmo...
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous and unique place to stay”
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

An amazing conversion with no expense spared and such attention to detail. We were looked after so well by Natalie with lots of personal touches. Easily accessible place with lots to do in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2018
Thank you for such a great review Kate.
We are so pleased that enjoyed your stay and of course all the goodies and that you had time to explore all that we have to offer in Bury St Edmunds and the surrounding villages.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you both again in the future.
Kind regards
Steve and Natalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing