We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Living Heritage Koslanda
Ranked #1 of 3 Koslanda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2012

What a fantastic place to be! Looking up to a majestic mountain ridge on one side and away over the valleys down towards the lowlands from the other side by the pool. We stayed three nights with our five yr old daughter and by the second day she wanted to live there. A large garden to explore and paths through the rainforest to a roaring waterfall. One of the universally kind and friendly staff who showed us the way even insisted on carrying her over a slippery part while the housekeeper was overjoyed to push her on the rustic swing or play ball with her. A gorgeous swimming pool with,a lovely traditional pavilion, truly delicious Sri Lankan food and impressive, large and well appointed suites (A 1 bathrooms) made this a treat. It would be difficult to call it a hotel really (if it wasn't for the fact that you are so well looked after)since it feels like you are living there rather than staying. Very, very relaxing with just the sounds of nature, albeit including terrific thunderstorms and an orchestra of frogs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonsays_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 165 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We didn't really know what to expect here but my family and I were met with the warmest of greetings. We had only scheduled one nights stay but we were very impressed with the hotel, the staff and the facilities. The setting is wonderful, deep in the rainforest and the buildings all sit nicely in the environment. All the details have been thought about, beautiful rooms, a stunning pool area and such a peaceful setting. The staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. I would love to come back here and I cannot recommend it more for a relaxing stay....

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ojmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband and I recently spent four wonderful days at Living Heritage Koslanda. It is not like any other place I have stayed. Koslanda does not look or feel like a hotel. It is more like staying in a luxurious Sri Lankan country home from sometime out of the past. As they like to say there, “You are the guest of the King in God’s Own Forest. The King may never appear, but he makes everything possible.” That may sound a bit over the top, but it does convey the feeling of being there. No structure, no routines, just total relaxation and a time to recharge. I am a painter, and visual images and colors are the way I take in information. Wherever you are in Koslanda – and there are about 100 acres to explore -- there are stunning sites. I don’t know what I liked best: Swimming in the pool over the rice fields and lounging in the traditional pavilion or hiking through the forest to a magic natural pool under a stunning waterfall. Everything in the spacious villas is beautifully composed and appointed. They are modern where they need to be and elegantly traditional in the other parts. The food is a feast for the eyes and the palate, with excellent, friendly service. In retrospect, the four days in Koslanda stand out as the highlight of our three week visit to Sri Lanka and Tamil Nadu. I have posted a few photographs that give a sense of our visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCMaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is a real little gem in the mountains. It's been lovingly designed and though out, with charming touches like a jacuzzi in a secluded private garden at the back of your private villa. The views are stunning and the rooms are beautifully appointed. The bathrooms are huge and spacious with luxury fittings. It's in a forest, so you wake up to bird calls and sunrise over the misty hills, and delicious local cuisine that is totally authentic.
One of my favorite places to stay when in Sri Lanka as it's totally different to the usual package tourist hotels that cram the coast and the hill country. It's like a little slice of peace complete with a waterfall and infinity pool - what's not to love!

Room Tip: All the Villas are really nice but pick one of the corner ones for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy_baby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Antaurcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy A, Owner at Living Heritage Koslanda, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy A, Owner at Living Heritage Koslanda, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koslanda
22.2 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,720 reviews
7.3 mi away
Melheim Resort
Melheim Resort
#1 of 1 in Beragala
563 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ella
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
10.6 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 12 in Ella
217 reviews
11.7 mi away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Heritage Koslanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Heritage Koslanda

Address: Egodawatte Estate, Koslanda 90190, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Koslanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Koslanda
Price Range: $183 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living Heritage Koslanda is a unique luxury boutique hotel located 5 hours North East from the island's capital, Colombo. Built in the heart of the hill country , this stylish 6 bed roomed retreat offers guests the utmost serenity in a naturally stunning location. Set on 80 acres of magical forest, known by locals as 'God's Forest', Koslanda is the ideal hideaway for those wanting to simply relax or for those who wish to connect with nature. It's excellent location is perfect for those who wish to explore the central highlands, tea country and as a gateway to the South and East. With a strong sustainable ethos, our guests can enjoy nature walks, a swim in our private waterfall, a stunning infinity pool, Sri Lanka cooking classes, visits to local tea estates and villages untouched by tourism. An ideal choice for a Sri Lanka honeymoon, or for those looking for a family friendly resort, where kids can roam and play safely and freely. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Living Heritage Koslanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing