We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely bad experience”
Review of Hotel Aifa Labuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Labuan Town
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This isthe first time i stay in such a disappointing hotel. Been staying at hotel of different places but neveras bad as this.
Suppose check in time is at 2pm but when I reach at 2pm the room is not ready yet. Waited for more than an hour for the room. That only after I made a complain at the front desk.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 95 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

We didn’t actually stay at the hotel, only asked information from the front desk. We had a big problem, all the hotels were full. I called like 15 places before we came in here. The lady at the desk was so helpful; she called like 10 different hotels trying to find a place for us. And thanks to her we didn’t end up sleeping at the streets.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmppuL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Checked in there on 04 March to 6 March 2014, booked in advance and paid for 3 deluxe rooms for 2 nights, upon check in at around 9.30pm on 04 Mar, we were told that there were only 2 room avialabe, 2 of my friends had to share a room that night, and was promised an upgrade for 2 rooms for the second night. Second night only one room was upgraded and they denied upgrading of two rooms.

Manager was not avialable for an explanation throughout our stay there.
(excuses were like: went out for dinner/not around/unable to contact/will you back)

Room Tip: Advise not to go to this hotel. "Unreliable"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suresh Karrunan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

A hotel in central Labuan close to most faciities. I spent two nights there i Feb 2014, and experienced it nice and clean.
The service was ok and it is one of the few hotels I stayed in in Malaysia that keep a minibar in the room.
My two night stay costed me 500 RM.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lundin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is situated right in the middle of Labuan town, close to any facilities in town by walking distance, i.e. restaurants, shops, banks etc. Also close to Labuan International Port.

Typical 3-star hotel. Had bad experience checking in the hotel. Took about 30mins just to check in, which I found unacceptable.

Rooms is quite standard but dont like the light settings at the corridor. Had this spooking feeling.

The staff at the check in counter are not friendly compared to other hotel I stayed in Labuan. But credit must be given to restaurant staff, very accomodating and helpful.

This hotel is mostly fully book. So, make sure you make early reservation. It is among preferred hotel in Labuan.

Room Tip: early booking required...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edd_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Not a bad hotel but is poorly managed from top to bottom.

The problem with Labuan is the demand for rooms and difficulty getting rooms if you book last minute. For the price this hotel charges, you really do get ripped off.

It's a new hotel that's been open for 2 years but the same problems continue to plague it:

-rooms not maintained/cleaned up to expected standards
-untrained/poorly trained staff
-over priced rooms

The problem lies in the fact the owner and management of this hotel have ZERO hospitality background and are trying to run a hotel with no training or hotel background. This hotel belongs to a rich chinese tycoon from Brunei who is in the electronics business.

So, when you have your shop foreman and your accountant trying to run a nice looking hotel but have not got a clue as to what they are doing, this is what you get.

So much potential WASTED by in experinced management and poorly trained staff.

As to comments below by other travellers:

-why no swimming pool or gym: people who come to labuan don't come for the swimming pools or gym. This is an oil and gas 'town.' People come and go. Day time temperatures are between 34-38 degrees celcius.

-why got beer cans in my fridge: this is a hotel for muslim and non muslims. Why are you offended there are beer in the fridge? Nobody is asking you to drink it or open the cans.
Wierd bruneians.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diving-Addiction00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

nice place, near duty free shops, welcoming greeting from the reception, the room are clean also toilet, when i opened the mini bar i found a 4 cans of beer as a Muslim i not agree and disappointing..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dyzul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labuan Town
1.2 mi away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#4 of 10 in Labuan Island
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
13 reviews
7.5 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Labuan Avenue Hotel
Labuan Avenue Hotel
#2 of 20 in Labuan Town
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aifa Labuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aifa Labuan

Address: Jalan Tun Mustapha, Labuan Town, Labuan Island 87007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island > Labuan Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Labuan Town
Price Range: $56 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aifa Labuan 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Aifa Labuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aifa Labuan Labuan Island/Labuan Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing