We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”
Review of Summer Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summer Beach Lodge
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is in Kg Nagalang - a 15 min taxi ride from the Labuan ferry terminal. The hotel has a narrow strip of beach in front. Rooms are basic but clean. Food from the restaurant is average.
If you like small hotels with a friendly staff, this is the place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ibnibatutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

It is a nice resort where is beside the beach. Staff is friendly and helpful because we need to depart to kota kinabalu at 8am so we need to leave the resort at 7am. They make the breakfast ready at 6.30am.
Room is clean and nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank YCTey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed in Papayas for 2 nights and we were first cordially welcomed by the staffs at the airport with their Papayas trademark t-shirts and smooth airport pick up service.

The room is spacious,clean and comfortable.Beds,toilet with basic toiletteries,air conditioner, made we felt homey and very satisfied.

You can view panoramic sunrise at 6.15 am early in the morning and sunset around 6.20 pm at the nearby windy seaside for almost everyday.

Cafe service was excellent with satellite tv channels and heart beating audiosystem.Simple breakfast were provided e.g fried noodle, fried rice and eggs, free flow coffee and tea too.

I am sure you will be happy to stay here if you are looking for windy beach,panoramic sunset and sunrise view, and excellent hospitality services.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MOHAMEDMUNZIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

It has a clean and tidy room, 10 foot steps to the sea, magnificent sunrise view, superb food/chef, friendly boss and manager (Ijump), great staffs and superb location (it is so near to the town and just 5 minutes away from the airport! If you do not rent a car, dont worry, Papaya Beach Lodge will do for you~)! Everything were so perfect~add on value is there is a fisherman nearby the lodge (just BESIDE the lodge) and you can't get lobster with affordable price (Trust me, it is CHEAP) and get the in-house chef to cook for you on the spot~we got ours with a CHEAP CHEAP price and it taste superb! They can arrange a BBQ for you upon request and it is awesome to have BBQ besides the sea and all you need to do is just eat and drink! Labuan is a great place for chill and relax~CHEAP seafood, CHEAP alcohol and CHEAP chocolate! It is a heaven for me. Besides, looks, there is a but, please bring along insects repellent as there are sand fly there~it will be quite irritating because it will stick on your skin..we don't have it on the first day and then we were so regret now because there are mark all over, luckily the boss get us one on the night during BBQ so we won't get bitten by the little creature. Oh ya, they serve simple and decent breakfast even with the affordable room price (consider as CHEAP). If you are that kind of people would like to stay in a carpet room, please do consider to get a 4 star hotel and Papayas Beach Lodge is meant for those who love beach and do not mind to stay with sand...oh ya, i love that they are actually peoples to guard outsie the lodge at night. There are a big screen at night for guest to watch movie as well. I will definitely be going back with insect repellent. :) (Bear in mind, no papaya is serve during the stay)

Room Tip: Get the room that nearest to the beach....if wanted a quiet room, get the one that is far from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Shervin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labuan Town
2.3 mi away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#4 of 10 in Labuan Island
216 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
491 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
13 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 20 in Labuan Town
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Beach Lodge

Property: Summer Beach Lodge
Address: Jalan Kerupang 1 | Kg. Nagalang, Labuan Town, Labuan Island 87000, Malaysia (Formerly Papayas Beach Lodge)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island > Labuan Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Labuan Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Summer Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A budget beach-side accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Summer Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Beach Lodge Labuan Island/Labuan Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing