We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Honeymoon, total relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous Honeymoon, total relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

Myself and my husband went to this resort for ten days for our honeymoon. We were upgraded on arrival, to the Luxury Sunset Water Villa. Fabulous suite, private deck, spacious bathroom and changing area. Outside the water is so blue, and you can swim straight from your deck into the shallow water. Life vests are supplied if you need them and you can also rent flippers and mask for your stay. We were moved to our original booking - the Deluxe Water Villa for the last three nights of our stay, again, fabulous. Not "detached" like the "Luxury Sunset" but pretty damn nice. The deck was not as open, but again, you can swim straight from your own private steps.

The food was fantastic - lots of choice. We ate in the main restaurant most of the time, they have a different food theme each day. We were not there in high season, so the resort was 50% full. As a result, the other restuarants lacked a little bit of atmosphere. The Thai was good, the Italian much better. The resort is all inclusive - we generally drank the Tiger beer. The wine choice was minimal - Piat D'or was the red on offer.....terrible. The only other thing - the water! Water on all Maldivian islands is "desalinated" sea water. Not so tasty....

The bars: There are two - Aqua is where we went to watch the sunset each evening and Coral, the main bar beside the main restaurant. The barmen are friendly and had our drinks waiting for us after a few days. Coral has some evening entertainment should that be of interest.

Pools: There are two pools if you want to move from your private deck or the beach. The main pool beside the restaurant has a limited number of beds so get there early! The other pool is for Ocean Club people only. We did go Ocean Club and I honestly don't think it was worthwhile - perhaps it's better value at high season when everywhere else is really busy.

Clientele: There were a lot of Asian couples, as well as some European couples and families.

This was a very relaxing holiday where you fall into a routine of breakfast, sundeck, swim, lunch, more sundeck, sundet drinks, dinner, bar etc. The staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful. The resort is relatively new so is in very good condition.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AK_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    213
    50
    15
    12
See reviews for
387
574
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

I am one of these people that before i go away will read every review i possibly can and try to be informed as possible about a place before i travel. So i came to trip adviser and spent hours reading through different experiences of Centara. From this at one point i had almost convinced myself that due to a few bad reviews maybe I should look ales where. However me and my wife booked in for our honeymoon and i honestly believe it was the best thing we did!

In my opinion the island was amazing. We stayed in one of the deluxe water sunset villas with the island club upgrade and it was amazing. I would defiantly recommend upgrading to this feature as the island club meals where fantastic and there was a more varied drinks selection. The pool was also less crowded i can't actually remember there being more than two other couples round that pool and having the option to use the other restaurants as often as we wanted to was defiantly a plus. However the reef bar was still my preference as it had a very varied menu, which catered for all tastes and the quality of the food was fantastic. The only problem was how much weight i put on by the end of the holiday.

The only slight negative i would point out was even though we had paid the extra for the higher all inclusive the mini bar in the room was still an additional extra and with the room being so perfectly place we did spend a lot of time here and having to pay extra for drinks became annoying.

As it was my birthday during my time here my wife treated me to the deserted island trip i would also like to say how amazing this was. Truly something i will never forget and the food they send you with would of feed a small army a really treat!

So in short i could not give the island a higher rating i have been to a few other similar places but for me Centara was head and shoulders above all of them

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D_L_Rogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed in a beach suite with an upgrade to the Island Club. We flew on the BA direct flight to Male from London Gatwick and had a 25mins seaplane trip from Male to the Centara which gave some wonderful views of the atolls on the way.
On arrival we were welcomed by the manager Ning who was most helpful throughout our stay. After a quick tour of the island we settled into our very comfortable beach villa which faced west, ideal for watching the sunsets, we even had a hammock strung between two palms just outside.
Food in all the restaurants was excellent but we particularily liked the Italian. At all times the staff were attentive and friendly especially the girls at the Island Club.
We have stayed in some beautiful places all over the world over the last thirty years but I would rate the Centara as one of the best

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emgray_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

Just returned from a fantastic 10 days stay at the Centara. I like to keep things short and sweet so here you go.
Deluxe Water Villa - Great.
Staff - Very helpful and friendly.
Food - Very good with different themes daily (lotus thai restaurant really good).
Snorkling - Excellent especially outside our villa 86.
Diving - Excellent.
Centara Resort - Everything you'd want.
Excursions & Trips - Expensive

P.s I wouldn't worry about being in the island club, the benefits don't outway the cost.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northern-tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

We had a lovely 10 days at Centara. Our Beach Suite was facing the sunset which we thought was the best side to be on, not only for the sunset but we also had a nicer beach and a hammock outside our terrace which the suites on the other side do not have. The food was of a very high standard in the main restaurant and also in the Thai and Italian restaurants. The house reef is brilliant - we saw reef sharks, sting rays, eagle rays, a moray eel and loads and loads of fish just by snorkeling. We also saw 4 whale sharks when we went on a morning snorkeling trip - but the sea was choppy so remember to take your sea sickness tablets first! Highly recommend for couples, families or friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nesschovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

I have never travelled to Thailand and I always thought that tourists went there for 'specific' reasons. Now that I have discovered the delights of Centara Grand Island, which is under Thai management, I understand better.
The staff are extremely helpful and kind. The food is excellent - even for our critical Belgian minds - and the atmosphere on the island is very relaxing.
The scubadiving is great, with a nice wreck on the house reef and plenty to see.
Swimming with a whale shark was added value.
Roland
http://home.scarlet.be/roland.wantens.antwerpen.be

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duikenwaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

After an amazing holiday here in february this year we decided to return the last two weeks of october. We were one of three sets of guests already on a second visit!
This time we booked a pool villa with island club,the pool villas are very spacious, large bedroom upstairs with ensuite toilet. Bedroom downstairs with 2 large single beds,desk and storage. the lounge is almost divided - lounge area and area with desk,minibar,expresso machine - this leads thro to the large bathroom and an outside round stone bath. The plunge pool was a real bonus - we liked and used that alot - there are a few trees, small plants and shrubs infront to the side of the pool villas so you have uninterupted views of the indian ocean. (less so at low tide when the island sea defences are more visible)
The professional serviceand friendliness throughout the island staff is exceptional, and with the benefit of island club it put the icing on the cake! Poolside service was immaculate ,canapies ,cake oclock, sorbets and an extended cocktail list, a large and varied library and laptops for keeping up to date. Eating at the island club was also lovely- it followed the italian 6 course( less the pasta dish) - delicious!
Best Dives is the dive centre on the island, proffesional,friendly and good fun, with new,well maintained equipment .I have only 36 dives logged (16 with best dives)and not the fittest! so I wanted to do shallow dives to pretty coral gardens,concentrate more on bouyancy and taking photos, this was not a problem - every afternoon taken to a different location, with usually just me, my dive buddy (who were all amazing and really helpful with tips on how to improve my photos, skills etc- I really learnt a lot from them) and the three lovely boat crew. The coral gardens were superb - I saw so many different types,formations and the sealife was abundant and very varied.
I dived with whalesharks( and snorkelled) - what an experience!! videos and photos to follow! .
My son(7) used the watersports alot - catamarraning with a skipper,banaboat, + other inflatables, pedalos, canoeing, windsurfing lessons and taken on a jet ski.
With the dive centre he did air assisted snorkelling twice ( to young to go under the sea!)
all kitted up with dive gear snorkelling the island reef! He also snorkelled with whalesharks -Great photos!!
My husband had to work a lot while on this trip ,we had requested 24hr internet access for 3 devices for the duration of our stay - this was not a problem and he quite enjoyed lazing in the plunge pool,with a cool drink while doing emails looking out across the ocean watching the seaplanes arrive and take off!.
Like the last time every meal was exceptional, the buffet lunch at the lotus was excellent,japanese night- delicious!........................
What I also enjoyed seeing was how the garden areas and planting around the island are developing,in february it was pretty if a little sparce, now its maturing and filling out it is really nice.
The evening entertainment on the island is quite, but enough - quiz night,disco night,crab racing,underwater movie-( my son won 3rd place crab racing (6 calsbergs,and first prize the second week - a massage!)
We were there for halloween and there was a halloween party - the coral bar was decorated, DJ clement was mixing the spooky tunes and some staff were in halloween costume! It was a really good fun evening
During the month of may there were a few big storms,this shows erosion beside the island club _ although neatly repaired and protected by sandbags.
there was also some erosion to the beach leaving the reef restuarant in the direction of the pool villas, and further erosion to the area infront of the family water villas and beach villas 22/23. The beach further round in the direction of the watersports has gotten larger.While we were there these problems were being addressed and new sandbag protection was being built next to family water villas.
If you are planning a trip here at the moment I would recommend being in a beach suite on the same side as dive centre,or on the other beach closer to the watersports centre, for a pool villa I would recommend nos 4 or 5.Have not tried a sunset water villa.for the deluxe water villa we thought the side facing the dive centre was more private (not facing the sunset water villas) and the snorkelling here is good.
We were extremely lucky with the weather 12 days sunshine and the last two days overcast with rain.
All in all we had an unforgettable holiday,met some lovely people (hi!!)and are now researching our next maldives trip.Which might be centara again!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassieFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centara Grand Island
22.8 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
5.9 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Property: Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Centara Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centara Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives: Set amongst the perfect islands and blue ocean of South Ari Atoll (Alifu Atoll) in the republic of Maldives, Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives delivers a unique 5 star resort experience and offers the ultimate in barefoot luxury along with a range of exciting activities that will appeal both to couples and families.Featuring 112 suites & villas, the resort offers diving enthusiasts outstanding diving opportunities including an excellent house reef complete with a dedicated sunken ship wreck and is within easy reach of the top dive spots in the Maldives. The resort offers all guests a premium all-inclusive vacation experience, along with a perfect white sand beach and the crystal clear water of the Indian Ocean.Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives offers more than simply daytime sun, sea, and sand. The resort features a variety of dining options, pools, recreation activities, Sports and Fitness facilities, bars and lounges with nightly entertainment, SPA Cenvaree, and a Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Island Resort And Spa
Centara Grand Island Hotel Centara Grand Island
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing