We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awsome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

This place was amazing. A small island with a great House Reef. People came in from other islands to dive on this reef. Dolphins swam past our lodge most days and they were close enuogh that we could hear them coming up for air. We didn't dive but spent hours snorkelleing (masks, snokel and fins provided free at the water sports building) life jackets are in the rooms if you want them. During our trip we rented a speed boat for a couple of hours to go out and try to find a whale shark. We were lucky and got in the water with one. One of the coolest things we've ever done. I can't explain the feeling. We then went off to find the Manta Rays which breed in the area in the winter. To see them swimming at you toatally undisturbed by your presence in the water was amazing. (The water sports and the dive centre are separate businesses to the resort. The Maldivian government doesn't want a monopoly on the islands)

The rest of our 2 weeks was spent relaxing and eating. My partner went for 3 massages so they must have been good and I speak for both of us when I say the food was out of this world. The only bad thing about it was having to loose the weight we'd put on when we got home.

This is a great place to have a rest and the staff are all really friendly and can't do enough for youhowever, I would come again if I was going somewhere else as well. I say this only because I like more to do on my holidays.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheWorldIsOutThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    217
    52
    16
    12
See reviews for
399
584
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

First of all if I just had one word to describe this resort I would say: Brilliant!!
I work in the travel industry and I have to travel all around the world every week. This gives me a wide view of the service and the general expectation you'd want to receive when you go abroad. With this in mind I think I can give you a fair down to earth neutral review of the Centara Resort Maldives.
We arrived by seaplane on the 05th of December and both the transfer and the arrival at the resort went very smoothly. You have to pinch yourself when you arrive there because the colours of the sea and sand are just beautifully unique and unseen before.
We booked a "Luxury Sunset water Villa" our package included the concierge service called Island Club. This would allow you to make unlimited visits to the speciality restaurants, free laundry cleaning, the use of a private pool and lounge, branded drinks and other perks. Full info is on their website.
Azzurri Mare is one of the speciality restaurants, the other was a Thai, but it wasn't open yet when we were there. Azzurri Mare is an Italian cuisine Restaurant and Pizzeria with chef Ayyoub preparing delicious freshly made authentic italian dishes every day, Chef Ayyoub also comes out and talks to you about the food he prepares and that, I think, is very professional and it adds a nice touch.
On the subject of the service you expect to receive from the Maldives and the name Centara (popular renown name in Thailand), the Centara staff do confirm the superior class of service of this beautiful island. The staff are extremely polite courteous and professional with a touch of Thai culture where nothing is too much hard work and are genuinely pleased to serve you. Shorty the waiter and managers Silvia and Hamish, to name a few.
The main restaurant is called Reef and is a buffet style restaurant with theme nights such as French, Thai, Maldivian, Indian etc.. changing every day. The food is fresh and it is truly not what you would call buffet style. There is a "live station" where specific dishes are prepared to order and there is also a Teppaniaki style hot plate area.
Our room was beautiful and spacious with breathtaking views of the sea. There are steps down to our private "pool" the sea!! There are two sun lounges and a spiral staircase takes you to an upper deck area where you find another two sun lounges.
The room is clean and has a large bath tub, shower and his and her sinks. Satellite Tv, mini bar and throughout the resort there is Wi-Fi connection, charges apply though.

If you like fishing, the staff take you on a 2 hours fishing trip at sunset and if you catch a fish, as I luckily did, they can cook it for you the way you want it for a charge of about US$10.

Scuba diving is also available as there is a PADI scuba diving centre and a ship wreck just yards offshore about 30 mt deep. Snorkelling is recommended as there are thousands of different fish species.

All in all if you want a first class holiday without breaking the bank, Centara Maldives, offers you a fantastic, unbelievable holiday.

We will go back, hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 74all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

We returned home on 20th December after a fantastic, relaxing week on this newly opened island. Like others we were full of trepidation after a few bad reviews after the opening on 1st November. This was due to a major storm (not an excuse) and perhaps a slightly optimistic opening date! Our fears were unfounded and apart from the Thai restaurant not being opened, everything was up and running. There were a few people working and the odd hammer to be heard but it was not disruptive in any way.
Our sea plane transfer went smoothly and we arrived to a beautiful afternoon on 12.12.09. We had booked a beach suite. Our only disappointment was when we opened the door to the suite, it was set up for 3 not 4 people! We spoke to the reception and the vast sofa bed was quickly removed and another bed installed. This suite is plenty big enough for a family with youngish children (under 12) but perhaps not enough living space for older children. There was a lovely indoor bathroom/dressing/wardrobe area (perhaps some of this space would have been better added to living/bedroom area)leading onto an outdoor terrace with bath/shower. Because of the initial mix up (and probably because the island was quiet) we were offered the chance to upgrade to a family deluxe water villa. We jumped at the chance and it was fab! Lovely bunk area for children with PS3 and TV! opening onto large bed/living area. Fab bathroom running alongside the room and outdoor shower which was great for washing off after snorkelling. What a treat! The outside space was fab and the snorkelling off the decking fantastic. The reef was at the bottom of the steps! Our 2 children 7 and 9 had an amazing time and enjoyed the snorkelling.
Our daughter (7) popped in and out of the kids club for the odd hour and enjoyed the lovely new games/facilities and playing with Anousha. Our son (9) loved the upstairs pool, table tennis, wii, computer and PS3 area. There were very few children when we were there, but this did not bother them at all.
The food was amazing. Themed nights, mainly oriental. There is a childrens menu if your children are not adventurous. The waiters and waitresses were very attentive and friendly (although it was quiet). Thanks to Waheed for showing us how to fold napkins and for his origami gifts to the children and to Shiraz (a friendly face from Bandos where we stayed last year) for such good service. Also the 3 singers/guitarists who played in the restaurant each night were great. Offering us the chance to choose songs which the kids enjoyed.
We enjoyed taking a pedalo around island, my husband enjoyed the air conditioned gym (needed after all that lovely food!). The all inclusive package was fabulous and the Coral bar staff friendly and patient with our children making numerous "Shirley Temple" and fruit punches for them. We went sunset fishing which we enjoyed (me especially as I caught 3 fish!). Spa fantastic massage, setting beautiful but bit too pricy.
We hope the island continues to get good reviews and the numbers go up. It is our third time in the Maldives and we would fully recommend it. Happy Holidays!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Planetjlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

We stayed at the Centara from the 6th to the 16th December 2009, and it proved to be one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays we have ever had.

We were initially nervous because of the negativiy on the forums back in November, but the Centara proved them all wrong.

We stayed in a Luxury Sunset Water Villa, which was extremely luxurious with fabulous views over the lagoon from every area of the villa. The villa was very large with four poster bed, sitting area, massive bathroom with his and her wash hand basins, dressing table, rain shower etc. The outside decking area was great as the sunloungers had a great view of the lagoon and upstairs via a spiral staircase were another two sunloungers.

The snorkelling and scuba diving at the Centara were excellent. We spent every day snorkelling from our water villa, with the house reef directly in front of our villa we regularly saw reef sharks, rays, puffer fish and hundreds and different types of reef fish.

The food was to die for, the Reef restaurant was fantastic. The quality was 5* in every way. The Assure Mari was also very good, but I would say the reef restaurant was the best. They will be shortly opening a Thai restarant as well.

The spa was out of this world. I had a hot stone massage at $145 and was given a free 90 min Thai massage which was excellent. The spa facilities are excellent and all the Thai girls at the spa were lovely.

All the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. I must say that the professionalism of the staff was excellent. Shorty and Ali at the Reef Restaurant were great as were all the staff at the Coral and Aqua Bars.

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this resort and as soon as we can afford it we will be going back !!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank butterfly2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centara Grand Island
22.8 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
5.9 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Property: Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Address: South Ari Atoll
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Centara Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centara Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the blue ocean of the South Ari Atoll, and distinctive with its timbered walkways and colonial-style buildings, Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives is a barefoot paradise with a palm-fringed beach and shimmering lagoon that offers the perfect island holiday for everyone. With 112 spacious villas set over-water, and suites blending harmoniously with the natural setting, the island has a wealth of activities and superb facilities that makes this an ideal hideaway for couples and honeymooners, or a fun-filled destination for families. There are exceptional opportunities to discover the exotic life of Maldives underwater, with a house reef that is a kaleidoscope of colour for snorkellers, a shipwreck dive site just off the island, and easy access to some of the most famous dive sites in the world. With our Ultimate All-Inclusive concept, your stay on our tropical island is absolutely carefree, with dining, rejuvenating, playing and exploring all included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Island Resort And Spa
Centara Grand Island Hotel Centara Grand Island
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing