We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is definitely a piece of paradise.
Initially I thought that being on such a small island for 2 weeks would give me cabin fever but the more time went on, the more relaxed you become. We stayed in a delux water villa which was large and well equipped. There was a double jacuzzi bath but we never used it as it took so long to fill and the slightly brown water did put us off slightly! The separate shower was more than sufficient.
The staff were friendly and helpful and were wonderful with the children.
The choice of restaurants was good and the food in the a al carte Italian was particuarly impressive (particularly the steak).
Free daily spa treatments were the icing on the cake - just in case you weren't already chilled enough!
The inclusive trips were an opportunity to see the island from the sea and to come into contact with some of the local marine life of which there is plenty. Swimming with a 15 foot whale shark will take some beating.
The staff at the watersports centre were great. Always willing to help with windsurfing lessons, taking you out on the banana boat or helping you with the pedaloes or kayaks.
if you ever wonder if the pictures you see are real, then they can be seen to be true at Centara. White sand, palm trees and sea of an undescribable colour.
I'm not sure any future holiday destination will live up to this one.

Room Tip: All water villas have steps directly into the crystal clear water and avoid the sand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Centara Grand.

We are pleased to share your kind compliments with the whole team. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    217
    52
    16
    12
See reviews for
399
584
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's no surprise everyone raves about this resort- it is fantastic! We went for a week between the 4th and 11th of August. Sadly it didn't start well (not the fault of the resort!) as we didn't get to experience the sea plane transfer because the weather was so bad. I hadn't realised that this meant it was practically impossible to reach the island. To cut a long story short we ended up on a domestic flight to the South where we were picked up by a boat and taken to the island. From the moment we stepped foot on the island we were made to feel very welcome. As we were 12 hours late we had missed lunch and dinner so the hotel allowed us to claim back $50 in expenses and put on snacks and drinks for us in the Aqua bar when we arrived.
When we eventually got to our room we were extremely pleased with our water villa (no.82). It was clean, well maintained and champagne and fruit was waiting for us as a honeymoon gift. Everything you need is in your room, including hair dryer, inclusive mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities and plug adapters if you need them. We had taken the risk of going in the rainy season and weren't too sure what to expect, however despite the bad weather which stopped us getting to the island the weather was largely sunny with the occasional downpour (which didn't last long) and for the last 4 days we had wall to wall sunshine. I would definitely go back at this time of year.
The ultimate all inclusive approach certainly made this hotel stand out and is was one of the reasons we chose it. The inclusive spa treatments last 30 mins and all that I tried were very relaxing and staff were very friendly and professional. We collected our snorkel gear on the first day and experienced the fantastic coral around the resort- truly beautiful. The inclusive excursions were well worth booking as well. We went on the sunset cruise and the Whale Shark snorkelling. We were lucky enough to see a Whale Shark however it obviously can't be guaranteed. It is a 4 hour round trip which could be quite dull if you don't get to see one however you do get a good view of the local islands. I would also say you need to be quite a confident swimmer although you do get a life jacket. We also heard the sunset fishing trip was worth a go but it's not really my thing personally.
The food is great. The buffet restaurant has a good selection of food and the serving staff are always friendly and professional. A special mention for our waiter, Bonda, who always stopped to ask how we were and what we had done that day and even brought us some fish one night so we could feed the reef sharks that swim around the restaurant. Also the group that sing there were amazing- we requested songs nearly every night and they always knew them. It helped to create a romantic atmosphere for dinner every evening. We ate in both the Azzuri Italian and the Lotus Thai restaurant during our stay. We just rang at 12 using the instructions in the welcome booklet and secured bookings on the day we rang. The food was lovely and service was very polite and friendly. Both bars served a selection of inclusive drinks including cocktails and served snacks around sunset with your drinks.
As we were on our honeymoon, we decided to book the photography package. It was run very well and we took pictures all around the island. They gave us all the photos (nearly 500!) on a disk so that we could edit and choose our favourites. We also got champagne and canapés in our room and flowers on our bed that evening. A great experience! This was the only thing we paid for apart from tips the whole time.
On the last day our transfer was very early so we were up with the sunrise, which was stunning as you'd expect. Our luggage was collected from our room and a small breakfast was provided in the Aqua bar. Unsurprisingly the sea plane was late but we did finally get to experience the view of the islands from the air. This island is s truly breath taking place, an amazing honeymoon and we can't wait to return (already saving up!).

Tip: Take some dollars for tips but everything else can be settled on card when you check out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esme458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Honeymooners

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience following your honeymoon with us in Maldives.

We are very pleased that you made the right choice to stay with us and that you enjoyed the location, photography package, room, service and the restaurants.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back for your first wedding anniversary next year.

Thank you and see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having done a few long haul holidays with our children, were not a family that returns to the same place twice BUT the Maldives is in a League of it own. We have just returned from the most beautiful place on earth. This was our 3rd time to the Maldives, 2nd to Grand Centara. The staff feel like revisiting our family rather than a holiday resort. From the minute we arrived in Male your truly in paradise, the sea plane transfer over the atolls are breathtaking.

We were met by management & staff on the jetty to welcome our arrival & taking to our two bedroom beach pool villa (No 5), it was outstanding, your own private beach, only footsteps alway from the marine life. Every type of accommodation is special whether its a water villa or on the beach, you won't be disappointed ! Snorkelling & swimming in the warm clear waters is the way of life in the Maldives, seeing the reef turtle & sharks along with nemo & his friends is a life experience ! Good food, as much as you want to drink on the all inclusive package, free daily 30 mins spa treatments & been entertained with the staff in the restaurant & bars is the making of the perfect holiday. (king along with too many to mention in the main restaurant & the bar staff make your holiday so special )

The perfect family holiday in paradise ! Our son Joshua age 13 & daughter Olivia age 9 have grown quit fond of the staff & it was so sad saying our goodbyes & leaving such a very special holiday in every way. Roll on next year when we'll be back.

Room Tip: Family water villas over looking the sea are special & so safe for children of all ages & th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsjwright891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Family

Thank you very much for your contribution. It's a great pleasure to read that you continually enjoy your vacations with us in Maldives.

Thank you also for mentioning that our staff make you feel at home and as part as your family. We aim to make everyone's stay as memorable and special.

Looking forward to seeing your wonderful family back soon again.

I remain with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Not sure what else I can say that everyone reviewing here hasn't already said. But I will say this.... This resort, this island has ruined me on every other destination. No place will ever compare to the virgin beauty, the breathtaking beaches, the crystal blue water, the food, the sfaff, the spa... it was all perfection. I can not wait to return to Centara. I could have stayed forever.

Room Tip: The Beach Villas were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our resort. It's a great pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and that you choose the right place for your vacation in the Maldives .

We are happy to share your review with the whole team and we are all looking forward to be able to welcome you back soon again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are currently on our 2nd overseas assignment (both times in Asia) and have vacationed and stayed at many places. From the moment we arrived at Centara however, I finally knew what paradise was! The island alone was a slice of heaven, but the accommodating staff, the spacious villas, the delicious food at every restaurant (including the buffet), the coral reef, the water activities, the gym and scheduled classes, the daily massages, and family activities in the evenings made this resort top notch! Aside from the friendly staff and pristine water, the coral reef within swimming distance was our favorite. The visibility even in Aug. (end of rainy season) was the clearest we've ever seen and thus we had an unbelievable encounter with a sea turtle, several reef sharks (not aggressive), stingrays, and a variety of fish. We spent 4 nights there, and it wasn't long enough!!! We shared a beach villa with our 9 year old son, and he enjoyed having his own space on a separate floor. We loved Centara Resort and Spa so much we are already planning our return in December of the same year. After sharing our pictures with friends, several of them are planning their trip to paradise too. What are you waiting for? Thank you to everyone at Centara for making our trip and adventure one we will talk about forever!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GizmoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience at Centara Grand Island Resort and Spa Maldives.
We are very pleased and proud to read that you have such an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcome you back again to Maldives.

Until next time!

With best regards and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have recently come back from my paradise of a holiday and I must say that this has been the best holiday I have ever been on. This is due from the overall friendliness and efficacy of the staff and the fun activities available. This holiday is perfect for families with teenagers 12 and over with the teen zone including air hockey, ping pong, pool, snooker, play stations with games and computers. The island also comes with surprises such as the royalty greeting, free half an hour spa treatment, five free excursions and a free banana boat ride or tube. The food is delicious with the different food themes available such as French, oriental , Chinese ,Japanese, Maldivian and Italian. And if however you don’t fancy the theme that night you can chose to go to the Thai restaurant, Italian or the grill. The cleanliness of the resort was immaculate and on the last night you get flowers on the bed.
If you want a holiday of relaxation and excitement, this is the resort for you.

Room Tip: south side has the sun set view and the north side has the sun rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank victoria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear German Family

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and taking the time to review your stay. We are very pleased that this was one of your best holidays and that we could assist in helping you have such a wonderful time.

Victoria we are looking forward to welcome you back again next October.

Warm regards from sunny Maldives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

From the moment we stepped off the plane in Male, we knew this was going to be special: We were greeted at the airport by hotel staff (a nice start) who were courteous and helpful and made sure we made our sea-plane transfer. The island itself is beautifully maintained and the facilities, rooms and equipment are clean and well cared for. The food was varied and tasty, although could have been a little warmer on occasion (or maybe I shouldn't have spent so long wandering around the buffet making my choices). But the thing that really makes this a special place is the people: every member of staff from the grounds people to the reception staff says hello as they go about their business and go out of their way to cater to your needs. As a particularly nervous student, I was highly impressed with the staff in the watersports centre, who had me snorkelling within an hour. Will we go back? Absolutely! Would we recommend it? Definitely!

Room Tip: The deluxe water bungalows give you direct access to best part of the reef for snorkelling, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCIRM, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Wendy and Alan
Please allow me to thank you for reviewing Centara Grand on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your heartwarming comments and positive feedback from your stay.
Yes indeed, we are a Paradise Island surrounded by beautiful waters and fantastic reef featuring many species of playful fish, turtles and other curious sea-creatures that are residing in our house reef.
I am honestly touched by your comments about our people. Thank you for recognising their services , I shall pass your comments to all our staff.
Lastly, we all look very much forward to welcome you back and please let me know if I can be of any assistance in the future.
Warm regards from Centara.
 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centara Grand Island
22.8 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
5.9 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Property: Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Address: South Ari Atoll
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Centara Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centara Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the blue ocean of the South Ari Atoll, and distinctive with its timbered walkways and colonial-style buildings, Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives is a barefoot paradise with a palm-fringed beach and shimmering lagoon that offers the perfect island holiday for everyone. With 112 spacious villas set over-water, and suites blending harmoniously with the natural setting, the island has a wealth of activities and superb facilities that makes this an ideal hideaway for couples and honeymooners, or a fun-filled destination for families. There are exceptional opportunities to discover the exotic life of Maldives underwater, with a house reef that is a kaleidoscope of colour for snorkellers, a shipwreck dive site just off the island, and easy access to some of the most famous dive sites in the world. With our Ultimate All-Inclusive concept, your stay on our tropical island is absolutely carefree, with dining, rejuvenating, playing and exploring all included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Island Resort And Spa
Centara Grand Island Hotel Centara Grand Island
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing