We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sad to see the animals penned up”

Maru Koala and Animal Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.16*
and up
Maru Koala and Animal Park General Entry Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get in touch with wildlife at Maru where you can pat and hand feed many of the animals. Pat a koala and feed the albino kangaroos, see wombats, Tasmanian devils, dingoes, snakes and more native animals. Then set sail on an adventure at Pirate Pete’s Mini-golf as you putt your way around the Pirate Ship, encounter life-size Pirate figures, the Great White Shark and brave the gold mine under the waterfall. Enjoy something to eat and drink in the licensed Homestead Bistro with views out into the animal park. Come and enjoy the award winning friendly service and atmosphere from this family owned and operated business. Grantville Pirate Festival and other events held at Maru each year, see our website for more details. Finalist in the Victorian Tourism Awards 2011 and 2012.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This attraction was included in a tour we took, otherwise we never would have gone there. The beautiful Australian koalas, emus, kangaroos, and wallabies are kept in small pens and the poor kangaroos looked malnourished and sickly. If no one visited there this animal park would have to shut down and return the animals to the wild where they belong. It was very sad.

2  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaruKoalaPark, Owner at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hello Nancy
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our Animal Park experience and am a little disappointed that we did not have the opportunity to openly discuss with you on the day your concerns. As Maru was included on your tour and not a specific destination of choice for you, your expectations may have been different to visitors who actively choose to visit Maru. Some people wish to see our Australian native animals in a more open range or 'wild' natural environment and some people wish to see our native animals up close and personal, which is the premium experience that we offer here at Maru.
To clarify for you the facts, our native animals are kept under very specific wildlife permits that set out minimum pen and enclosure sizes and conditions that at Maru we well and truly exceed. We have a regular local veterinarian that inspects and assess the welfare of our animals which according to them are all in excellent health, in fact better than that of native animals in the wild that have to combat predators and diseases and hunt for food, pressures which our captive animals do not face. Our kangaroos are in very good health and regularly breed young joeys, which they would not do if not in good health or 'malnourished and sickly'.
Our keepers are all experienced and qualified and take pride and pleasure in introducing our 'family' to visitors and educating them about our native wildlife at regular talks and demonstrations, with the aim of fostering an appreciation and respect for our native animals in the 'wild' and preserving their natural habitat.
We are an accredited business that this year has been awarded 'Business of the Year for Gippsland' and educate our visitors about programs such as the 'Save the Tasmanian
Devil' program and through our successful business make donations to this important cause and others.
I could go on about the effort and work we do to support our native 'wild' animals and sadly could have addressed the same with you personally on the day of your visit if you had felt like approaching any of the staff or management with your concerns, instead of just listing them here.
Lastly all animals in any Victorian wildlife park or zoo have been bred and born in captivity and never taken from the wild and as such cannot be returned to the wild either, as they would not be likely to survive, having become accustomed to human interaction and captivity. If Maru were to one day shut down our animals would be distributed to other animal parks.
Sincerely Mr. Ian Heffer, Owner and CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"animal park"
in 54 reviews
"phillip island"
in 54 reviews
"australian animals"
in 19 reviews
"mini golf"
in 51 reviews
"close encounter"
in 13 reviews
"feed the animals"
in 13 reviews
"take photos"
in 11 reviews
"gift shop is"
in 4 reviews
"extra fee"
in 4 reviews
"well taken care"
in 4 reviews
"clean toilets"
in 4 reviews
"young kids"
in 5 reviews
"included in the price"
in 4 reviews
"penguin parade"
in 7 reviews
"tour buses"
in 4 reviews
"sheep shearing"
in 4 reviews
"tasmanian devils"
in 11 reviews
Filter

279 - 283 of 362 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Overall we really enjoy feeding and petting the animal especially the kangaroo as this is our first time encounter with the kangaroos. They really love you if you give them food and they are not i
caged. The food cost is AUD$2. At the time we were there in the afternoon, the kangaroos were not active i.e sleeping and lying down. It would be so awesome and entertaining if they could jump around!
Avoid the cafe as the staff named Sue was very rude and unfriendly. I would give the rating 4 if its not her rude attitude who spoilt our mood.

Thank Fatimah114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaruKoalaPark, Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Hello Fatimah
Our open range kangaroo paddock is a great way to experience hand feeding the kangaroos as you did. We are actually glad that our kangaroos don't 'jump around' much as this might mean that they were stressed but instead they are very relaxed and enjoy laying around in the sun whilst our visitors interact with them. We apologize that a staff member was rude to you when she spoke with you about not eating your own brought in food at the tables in our dining bistro. We do allow visitors to bring their own food and eat it outside in the alfresco area but not in the dining area. We will take your advice on board though and put up better signage inside the bistro to let visitors know about this.
Neroli Heffer - manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We visited Maru yesterday and had a fantastic time. The park is not huge but it is lovely. All animals are close to view and in open air enclosures. Our guest from England was very excited to be able to do a close encounter with Morgan the koala and had a lovely photo taken. The keepers are friendly and very informative. My two teenagers enjoyed the visit immensely. The gift shop is very affordable too. I highly commend the bistro. The food was fresh, of a high quality and super delicious. They very graciously accommodated my vegan diet :) Overall, I would highly recommend Maru to everyone. Top quality customer service from the moment you enter until the moment you leave. Great work x

Thank MsClaireJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaruKoalaPark, Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Hello MsClaire and family
It's great to read how much you enjoyed your visit and that our staff provided you with quality customer service. Our Bistro provides freshly cooked foods and so can always cater for special dietary needs and requests. We hope to see you back again soon with your next visitors to enjoy the new developments that are always happening at Maru.
Neroli Heffer - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Without being too critical, it's maybe a little overpriced compared to some similar parks around the country (of course, I'm sure the upkeep costs for the animals is fairly large).....all the same, the keeper talks are terrific and informative, and the kids can spend ages hand feeding all the kangaroos. It's a great little park without the bumper crowds you get on the Island. Our kids had a ball playing the mini-golf course outside too.....it's quite unique with its' pirate ship and theme, and also plenty of nifty gadgets through the course that make the game quite a novelty. Would definitely recommend a visit if you've never been!

Thank AdamJardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

it has been the first attraction we've been visiting coming out of the city of Melourne. I've never been so enthusiastic looking at some animals! Kangaroos, koalas, wallabys, tazmania devil and many others I don't remember... It has been a very funny and interesting visit. And I've got no children, I can't immagine how they would be happy after an experience like that... Really recommended!

Thank italiansinchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maru Koala and Animal Park also viewed

 

Been to Maru Koala and Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing