We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maru Koala and Animal Park

Maru Koala and Animal Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.27*
and up
Maru Koala and Animal Park General Entry Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get in touch with wildlife at Maru where you can pat and hand feed many of the animals. Pat a koala and feed the albino kangaroos, see wombats, Tasmanian devils, dingoes, snakes and more native animals. Then set sail on an adventure at Pirate Pete’s Mini-golf as you putt your way around the Pirate Ship, encounter life-size Pirate figures, the Great White Shark and brave the gold mine under the waterfall. Enjoy something to eat and drink in the licensed Homestead Bistro with views out into the animal park. Come and enjoy the award winning friendly service and atmosphere from this family owned and operated business. Grantville Pirate Festival and other events held at Maru each year, see our website for more details. Finalist in the Victorian Tourism Awards 2011 and 2012.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We visited Maru yesterday and had a fantastic time. The park is not huge but it is lovely. All animals are close to view and in open air enclosures. Our guest from England was very excited to be able to do a close encounter with Morgan the koala and had a lovely photo taken. The keepers are friendly and very informative. My two teenagers enjoyed the visit immensely. The gift shop is very affordable too. I highly commend the bistro. The food was fresh, of a high quality and super delicious. They very graciously accommodated my vegan diet :) Overall, I would highly recommend Maru to everyone. Top quality customer service from the moment you enter until the moment you leave. Great work x

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsClaireJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaruKoalaPark, Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello MsClaire and family
It's great to read how much you enjoyed your visit and that our staff provided you with quality customer service. Our Bistro provides freshly cooked foods and so can always cater for special dietary needs and requests. We hope to see you back again soon with your next visitors to enjoy the new developments that are always happening at Maru.
Neroli Heffer - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    87
    32
    14
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great place to visit before Philip Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Without being too critical, it's maybe a little overpriced compared to some similar parks around the country (of course, I'm sure the upkeep costs for the animals is fairly large).....all the same, the keeper talks are terrific and informative, and the kids can spend ages hand feeding all the kangaroos. It's a great little park without the bumper crowds you get on the Island. Our kids had a ball playing the mini-golf course outside too.....it's quite unique with its' pirate ship and theme, and also plenty of nifty gadgets through the course that make the game quite a novelty. Would definitely recommend a visit if you've never been!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdamJardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viterbo, Italy
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

it has been the first attraction we've been visiting coming out of the city of Melourne. I've never been so enthusiastic looking at some animals! Kangaroos, koalas, wallabys, tazmania devil and many others I don't remember... It has been a very funny and interesting visit. And I've got no children, I can't immagine how they would be happy after an experience like that... Really recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank italiansinchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must do, amazing experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off here on way to penguin parade on a pre purchased trip so can't comment on cost of entry as this was included in our day trip.
On arrival we purchased group package to have a picture with a koala for two people this cost $27. Animal food purchased for $2. Charge of 1.5% for using credit card but this appears to be standard practice at most places.
Animal encounter was definitely worth the money and would recommend to any visitors. We were not rushed and spoke to the staff who were able to answer all questions and took pictures for us using our cameras. A picture taken by animal park is included in the package.
Other animals included wallabys and kangaroos and you got to get up close to them and feed them. There are other animals at the park but most of the focus is on the koalas, wallabys and kangaroos. Would recommend this for adults and children alike and we (age 31 + 25) had a great two hours here.
Eating facilities at the park.
Negative would be that no hot water or soap in the outside toilets and no hot water in inside toilets. This is a must as we needed to wash our hands after feeding the animals and before having snacks at the cafe.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Staff fantastic, animals very well cared for and awake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Although small, this animal park lets you get up close with lots of Australian animals and most were very awake and alert (unlike many zoos/parks where animals seem to sleep/ hide during the day) Lots of kangaroos and joeys to feed and the koala encounter was a highlight for our 8 year old. Unfortunately our lunch took AGES to arrive. But after it finally did the staff were very apologetic and remunerated us appropriately. Mini golf was fun but not a highlight of the park for us. I would highly recommend this park for anyone with overseas guests.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tessa1320132016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaruKoalaPark, Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello Tessa
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that despite the delay in your lunch arriving you still enjoyed your visit and we were adequately able to compensate you for the unusual delay. On the day of your visit we had an influx of visitors and also several coach groups for lunch and one of our cooks went home ill that did cause some delay which we apologize for. We look forward to seeing your family back again in the future to enjoy the new sheep shearing daily shows in the animal park that will start as of next year in a new undercover auditorium. Neroli Heffer- Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maru Koala and Animal Park also viewed

 

Been to Maru Koala and Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing