We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite animal park”

Maru Koala and Animal Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.09*
and up
Maru Koala and Animal Park General Entry Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get in touch with wildlife at Maru where you can pat and hand feed many of the animals. Pat a koala and feed the albino kangaroos, see wombats, Tasmanian devils, dingoes, snakes and more native animals. Then set sail on an adventure at Pirate Pete’s Mini-golf as you putt your way around the Pirate Ship, encounter life-size Pirate figures, the Great White Shark and brave the gold mine under the waterfall. Enjoy something to eat and drink in the licensed Homestead Bistro with views out into the animal park. Come and enjoy the award winning friendly service and atmosphere from this family owned and operated business. Grantville Pirate Festival and other events held at Maru each year, see our website for more details. Finalist in the Victorian Tourism Awards 2011 and 2012.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“My favourite animal park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Great chance for up close & photo op with wombats and koalas (for a reasonable fee)
Animals & mini golf what more could a visitor want we have visited twice now and look forward to going again soon.
The park is well kept clean the animals are well cared for.
A good cafe....staff 50% some quite grumpy but who cares that was the only negative both times.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank McLaglenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaruKoalaPark, Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hello McLaglen Family
We are so pleased to hear that Maru is 'your favourite animal park'. We do offer a range of animal encounters, but haven't offered wombat encounters for well over a year now as we currently have no baby wombats and at 25kg+ the adults are a little hard to cuddle!
I am however very disappointed to hear that you met with some 'grumpy' staff as quality customer service is something that we work very hard on, so I appreciate your feedback and the chance to improve our staff training further. Being in the tourism industry we do have several casuals that change regularly and I am particularly keen to know if you can recall the name of the staff member that didn't offer you great service, so that we can provide them with more support and training, was it in the shop area or the park?
We also have a brilliant new head chef this year and our Homestead Bistro now offers a range of meals and dining experiences that you would not have seen last year.
We look forward to your return and the opportunity to provide you with much 'happier' customer service during your next visit to Maru.
Neroli Heffer - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    89
    32
    15
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great For An Up-Close Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was only $2 to feed the kangaroos and get up close! Also was able to meet a koala for a minimal fee. Great little adventure; loved being up close to all the animals!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good way to spend half a day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The place was mildly chaotic when we visited (a lack of eucalyptus leaves meant that there was a risk the koala meet and greet would be cancelled) and it felt like a small family business. This being said, two 50 year old and three children (20, 14, 11) all really enjoyed the up close and personal experience with the animals. It's a great place to visit for a couple of hours and provided you expect that, it's great and fair value for money. The restaurant was very good and the staff could not have been more helpful in resolving an issue we had with a multi park ticket.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hungry_acc0untant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Up Close and Personal with Australian Wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I brought my 5-year-old daughter and my brother who was visiting from overseas, and we all had the time of our lives! We saw Tasmanian Devils, Peacocks, Kangaroos and Wallabies, Koalas, Rabbits, Emus, Dingos, a Possum, a Donkey, an Alpaca, a Sheep, and some very funny Parrots. The Kangaroo enclosure is definitely the highlight, as you are able to feed and pet them. They are very friendly and love their food! We were also able to feed many of the other animals through the fences. My daughter loved "Cookie" the Rosella Parrot because it kept talking to her. ("Hello!" "Hello, Cookie!") The staff were absolutely lovely and the animals are well looked after. Even enjoyed the food in the cafe. We'll be back again soon!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernadette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Maru park was fantastic... Who knew feeding troves of friendly kangaroos could be not only a blast but addictive! Plus there are opportunities to pet koala and dingos, and seeing the little Tasmanian Devils is fun. Great little restaurant too! Incredibly friendly service. Go go go.

Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maru Koala and Animal Park also viewed

 

Been to Maru Koala and Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing