We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly animals”

Maru Koala and Animal Park
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$24.01*
and up
Maru Koala and Animal Park General Entry Ticket
More Info
$132.08*
and up
Small-Group Phillip Island and Wildlife Highlights Day Trip from Melbourne...
More Info
$103.26*
and up
Phillip Island Day Trip with Penguin Parade and Maru Koala and Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get in touch with wildlife at Maru where you can pat and hand feed many of the animals. Pat a koala and feed the albino kangaroos, see wombats, Tasmanian devils, dingoes, snakes and more native animals. Then set sail on an adventure at Pirate Pete’s Mini-golf as you putt your way around the Pirate Ship, encounter life-size Pirate figures, the Great White Shark and brave the gold mine under the waterfall. Enjoy something to eat and drink in the licensed Homestead Bistro with views out into the animal park. Come and enjoy the award winning friendly service and atmosphere from this family owned and operated business. Grantville Pirate Festival and other events held at Maru each year, see our website for more details. Finalist in the Victorian Tourism Awards 2011 and 2012.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

All of us enjoyed ourselves here with the animals. They are friendly enough if u want to get close and feed them, take photo, pat......Worth visiting for first timer.

Thank Hohohoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 302 of 333 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was the worst animal park I've ever been to. Enclosures had very little grass and the animals were subsequently dirty and caked in mud, there was a wombat trying to dig through a concrete floor and repeatedly headbutting a wall (even though it had access to a soil-floored enclosure) and large parrots were housed in small cages that barely allowed them to spread their wings. Heartbreaking! I was very emotionally distressed as a result.

The mini golf course had potential but was so badly maintained it was unplayable. They even said 'go take a look at the course before you purchase your round - we don't do refunds...'

4  Thank Travelbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank-you for your feedback, but we are dissappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to Maru. At the time you visited we had several very heavy days rain, that even resulted in local roads and the main Highway being closed due to flooding. The enclosures were wet and the wombat was muddy, as it is normal behaviour for them to dig and this resulted in them getting muddy at the time.
The parrots and other birds are housed in enclosures that are several meters wide and greater than twice the size of the minimum cage requirements. The birds have more than enough room to spread their wings and fly from one side of the enclosure to the other.
Due to the abnormally heavy rain, two holes on the mini-golf were very wet and so we encouraged visitors on that day to inspect the course before they paid to play to ensure that they were aware of the conditions.
It only took a few days for the water to clear up and all is back to normal again.
As an animal park, the welfare of our animals is of high priority to us and we not only ensure they are in good health but also carry out daily enrichment programs to keep them stimulated in their environment. Maru won five business awards last year, including being a finalist in the Victorian Tourism Awards, which is testiment to our high standards of customer service and quality business operations.
We encourage anyone visiting Maru who has any concerns to bring these to our attention so that we can look into them at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We went with family visiting us from uk it was smaller than other parks I had been to but well stocked with Australian animals. My son particularly enjoyed his cuddle with a koala (although this was extra) and feeding the kangaroos he even fed a joey in his mums pouch! Sadly we missed the pirates...

Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We visited the park as part of their annual Pirate Festival in April. V- Line busses stop right outside the park, but there is also plenty of parking.
There were lots of activities for little pirates on the day.
Normal activities are a pirate themed minigolf (fee) and the wildlife park with wallabies, parrots, dingos, wombats, koalas etc. You can buy food and hand feed the animals, the parrots loved carrots! You can also book a 'meet the koalas' tour for an extra fee and have your photo taken.
The park has very clean toilets, a souvenir shop and a brand new counter service restaurant with reasonable prices. You can sit indoor or outdoors.

Thank silkroad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We took some American friends here who really wanted to be up close to our wildlife, and that's exactly what they got. Walked amongst the kangaroos and wallabies and hand fed them. They are very tame and hold onto your hands whilst feeding. We paid an extra $10 per head to have a personal koala experience, where we could take our own photos and professional photos were also taken. There was no pressure to buy the professional ones, but I felt bad that we did not buy one, so maybe I would do things differently next time. The staff we're friendly and informative. There are all the Aussie wildlife there even though the park is small it was well maintained and our American friends loved the experience, and said they would recommend it to others in a flash.
There is a cafe on site for snacks and drinks, and we spent approx 1 1/2 hours wandering around, mostly with the kangaroos.
Great little park, which fulfilled our friends expectations. ( oh and it only $ 15 per adult admission...cheaper for kids)

Thank living4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maru Koala and Animal Park also viewed

 

Been to Maru Koala and Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing