We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
First visit

My son and I visited Burton Mere last week for the first time. The staff where very helpful and... read more

Reviewed January 7, 2020
Suzicals
,
Chester, United Kingdom
Lovely reserve with a good variety of birds!

A great place to visit for a peaceful few hours birdwatching. The main entrance has a large viewing... read more

Reviewed October 16, 2019
johnthecyclist
Read all 140 reviews
  
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
89
41
5
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
89
41
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching bird life wild birds reception area early days dee estuary enthusiastic staff non members peaceful place lovely place to go lovely reserve few hours hot drinks nice walk wetland reserve couple of hours sunny day
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 140 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2020

My son and I visited Burton Mere last week for the first time. The staff where very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the walk around the mere, stopping at the hides, and enjoying the bird life and views. It was an enjoyable afternoon. Lost of lovely photos. Definitely visit again, and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Suzicals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

A great place to visit for a peaceful few hours birdwatching. The main entrance has a large viewing area through glass windows. There are toilets just before the main entrance. Left of the main entrance is a hide a short walk away. The main part of the reserve is of to the right. There are two hides as well as lakes and marsh pools to view the variety of wildlife. The furthest hide is a good kilometer away which doesn't have wheelchair access bit the others do.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank johnthecyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

One of our favourite local places to visit. Perfect for a quiet relaxing walk or meeting up with friends. My children love walking to the iron age hill fort and watching the birds from the hides. My daughter really liked the little back pack you can hire for a small fee which includes binoculars, colouring pencils, paper and info on the birds. Staff are always welcoming and helpful. I look forward to returning soon.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

Fantastic reserve took a friend and spent the whole day just chilling and bird watching. The staff were really great and welcoming. Lovely range of sandwiches and drinks. Will definitely be going back.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Eamonn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

This is a wonderful wetland reserve with a variety of habitats and good bird watching hides. In August, we enjoyed the wildflowers and butterflies on our walk around the reserve to the Inner Marsh Farm Hide. We stayed here for about 30 minutes and had great views of dunlin, black tailed godwits, avocets and lapwing plus two birds new to us- a ruff and a wood sandpiper. As we were leaving a great egret flew in. We will certainly return to this friendly reserve

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank geoff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews