We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit even if - like us - you are no expert”

RSPB Burton Mere Wetlands
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Neston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Knighton, Wales
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit even if - like us - you are no expert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Still a new 'attraction', the RSPB site at Burton Mere is a work in progress. The pleasant but basic visitors centre doubles as an excellent hide overlooking a wide panorama of wetland. On a practical note, plenty of parking & good toilet facilities are already in place. Shortish distances from the centre take you to 2 other hides and walking trails. There are certainly a lot of birds to watch at any given time. Admittedly many on our visit were 'just' geese but that is the joy of watching wildlife - no guarantees so every unusual or unknown sighting is a bonus. A peregrine falcon had been entertaining the visitors on our day for instance.

If I have a grumble it would be general to many RSPB sites - most of the wardens are always more interested in excitedly talking to each other whilst staring down exotic cameras and telescopes than they are in interacting in any way with 'ordinary' visitors! This elitist behaviour is the main reason I have never wanted to join.

A visit to Burton Mere is recommended. An interesting and beautiful spot and the site can only continue to improve and mature.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyKnighton_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
768 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Potential to be very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice facility if somewhat basic. It lacks decent refreshment facilities and the access road & parking are a bit rough although they do the job. Walks are quite short but the variety of birds I saw was impressive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, N Wales
Level Contributor
180 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“birdwalk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

lovely location down winding lanes. Excellent car parking facilities. As yet there is no real cafe, just soft drinks etc. The main building overlooks the lakes and the river beyond and birds are easily viewed. There is a walk you can take alongside the lake through the wood, that I have yet to do. The staff were helpful and pointed out various birds and encouraged the use of binoculars. This is a pretty new site and has a lot of potential and I will be returning soon

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cowrieshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a lovely place ... The staff inside the main viewing area were very polite and informative. There is plenty to see on the walk over to the hides the sun was out too which helped and the bird feeders along the paths were always full .. Such a beautiful peaceful place and we were lucky enough to witness the excited regulars spot the first yellow tail of the season sooo lovely

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AshleySpencer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“New visitor centre and hide with friendly volunteer staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We purposely made the trip to visit this RSPB Wetlands Centre with the cost of entrance in mind @ £4.00 per adult. The centre is new and very modern however I found the walks very short and the distance to the majority of the wetland birds a bit far for our novice equipment such as my 24x zoom bridge camera and my husbands binoculars, overall, the facilities are good and the volunteer staff very friendly and chatty. Had I already been an RSPB member (no entrance fee) I would of been impressed yet still a little disappointed at the length of pathways. We had planned to visit the hide at Parkgate too while we were in the area but couldn't find it on this trip. Instead we had a little stroll through Parkgate village then had a ride up to West Kirkby & Hoylake, unfortunately by then the heavens had opened and we got soaked a mile away from the car so headed home.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Flinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RSPB Burton Mere Wetlands also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to RSPB Burton Mere Wetlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing