We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

RSPB Burton Mere Wetlands
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Neston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Joined february 2012 as a dog owner we have seen plenty of birds on our walks until i came here. No matter what the weather this is a good place to go for children, adults birdwatchers or not the children have activities to do, the staff are friendly and approachable and the bird life and views are spectacular, the main reception hide is snuggly warm for those of u that r nesh you can get warm drinks and snacks and wander round the woods my aim this year has to be to spot the kibgfisher

Helpful?
Thank Tazzy2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    28
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A treat!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Welcoming, friendly staff. great environment, wonderful views of the marshes and wetlands - so many birds to see. Make yourself a coffee or tea for £1 - happy days.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mikey041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Burton Mere”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great place to visit. Went on a whim as never been to an RSPB reserve before and had a great time for the afternoon. Visitor centre is well equipped with bird identification books and you can hire binoculars. The staff and volunteers were really friendly and helpful (as mybird ID knowledge is sparrow and robin identification level) and I came away being able to identify far more than I could when I went in. Set in a lovely area as well. Liked it so much I've already been back again (first visit June, second July)!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Back To Nature”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Staff and volunteers make you feel welcome immediately. There is nearly always a children's activity to get children back to nature and the wonder of exploring and identifying wildlife.
For people without children there is enough space to be in complete silence ! A real gem.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank prendys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities and a lovely place to visit.”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The visitor centre is very well designed with plenty of information and great views over the wetlands. The wooden walkways have been well designed and the walk round the meres is very peaceful. I went out to the furthest hide which had excellent views over to Wales. There are plenty of bird handbooks in the hide which I founf useful. It was just really nice to stroll round the area and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RSPB Burton Mere Wetlands also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to RSPB Burton Mere Wetlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing