We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant visit”

Denby Pottery Factory
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Denby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Denby Pottery Visitor Centre lies on the edge of the Peak District next to our original factory where we have been producing handmade stoneware for over 200 years. Find a great selection of shops and have a bite to eat at Bourne’s Restaurant. Book yourself on a fully guided pottery tour, visit our museum and watch a free cookery demonstration in our emporium. See our website for seasonal events for all the family.Free entry and large free car park. Open Daily (closed 25th & 26th Dec).
Olton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant visit”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Called in on our way to local Hotel,lots of interesting small shops to look round and enjoyed a cream tea as well. Lots of gifts,cooking items and pottery on view and for sale.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    136
    40
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't forget your credit card”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent a couple of hours browsing round the Denby Pottery visitors centre this weekend and came away feeling it was missing out on so many opportunities. Apart from the 6 shops selling either highly expensive pottery, glassware, food, gifts or cookware there's very little there. There was a 20min cookery lesson but no factory tour so I came away feeling somewhat disappointed.

It's free entry but unless you want an expensive dinner set there's very little there.
The only good point was the restaurant, which was reasonably priced and the food wasn't bad.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I frequently complain of poor customer service ..... but not here as it was superb throughout. We ended by spending money in five outlets. Superb.

Helpful?
Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Lincs
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Take your wallet”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are in the market for crockery or glass this is a by useful outlet. There is a home store and an outlet store for denby products with a large range of seconds in the outlet. Prices were phenomenal, in their sale they were less than a third of what you would pay in John Lewis and the seconds were almost indistinguishable from firsts. There are a few other small shops including dartington glass and a good small cafe. Staff were exceptionally helpful in all shops. We spent a bomb.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ljrNLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Well laid out.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Visited this site with the wife. Factory shop large and well laid out with plently of choice as were all the other outlets on the site. Cafe warm and welcoming serving an excellent reasonably priced coffee

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denby Pottery Factory also viewed

 
Kedleston, Derbyshire
 

Been to Denby Pottery Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing