We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Stay”
Review of Ballyvolane House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballyvolane House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Rate Stay”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My first visit to Ballyvolane House, but certainly not my last. A warm, friendly and professional service in a beautiful and authentic setting. The house itself is beautiful and full of character. Our room was a lovely blend of original antiques with modern comforts (such as an electric blanket on timer as snow was forecast; nice touch).
Pre-dinner drinks were served in front of the fire in luxurious, yet comfy and relaxing surroundings.
The set menu dinner was perfection. High quality ingredients prepared simply but expertly. I thought the food summed up our stay in that what you get is first rate, delivered in a modest way. Hard to beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BadGolfer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for staying and reviewing. Really delighted you enjoyed it so much. I will share your kind comments with everyone here.

Thanks again for your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
51
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Recently visited the restaurant at Ballyvolane house , dinner for four, a fantastic experience of fine wholesome cooking with a modern twist, a set christmas menu offering a generous selection of courses and v good value for the quality and variety offered. The house beautifully decorated filled with appropiate antiques and a wonderful xmas athmosphere , all this with Bellini and hot spiced apple juice in front of open fire to start with.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for dining with us recently. I am delighted you enjoyed the experience and we really appreciate the great review. I will share your comments with everyone here.

Thanks again and please come and see us again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ballyvolane House is the perfect combination of old world grandeur and Irish coziness. We spent a wonderful long weekend soaking in our huge bath, reading by the open fire, walking through the beautiful grounds (chaperoned by at least one cute dog at all times) and exploring the local towns.

The food was a highlight; homemade bread and poached pears at breakfast, four courses of homegrown deliciousness at dinner, and even a yummy bottle of elderflower cordial in the bedroom. Big thanks to Breffne and the staff for their hospitality, they even found my boyfriend's lost glasses in the garden and posted them back to us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BexRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and I am delighted you had a great time. We really enjoyed having you here and Dumpling (our terrier) loved taking you for walks through the woods and around the gardens. I will share your kind comments with all the Ballyvolane House team and please come and see us again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Enjoyed a wonderful themed evening at the house. It was the setting for a drama presentation played out during the evening whilst enjoying a delicious three course meal. The setting, service, food and entertainment were all first class and we will definitely return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraofCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for coming to Madame Chavelle Theatre & DInner. I am delighted you had a good time and we really appreciate your support.

Thanks again,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were very pleased with the premises and the overall visit. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The food was very good - the beef was perfectly cooked. Overall we found on our particular stay that the owners, who were running an event in their second premises, did not give much attention to their house guests, as a result. Other guests had two very small children, who were left run riot during breakfast time - their parents took no notice and neither did anybody else! We will, hopefully, give it another try soon as the setting and house are beautiful and the young lady serving us and the granddad who took the breakfast order were a delight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geraldandmargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. I am delighted you liked the room and enjoyed the food. I'm sorry we were absent when you stayed and I would like to assure that this was a rare occurrence as we are normally always here to give attention to our guests. I have noted your comments about the other guests' children and we will address this issue in a tactful manner with parents.

Thanks again for staying and I appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to my attention. I hope you will come and see us again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We loved everything about the Ballvolane house. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. If you love a great bath then this place is perfect for you. We slept very well! The dinners are well worth the experience. Food is fresh and delicious. A great experience to enjoy dinner over candle light with the other guests. The service is excellent! This was a highlight of our trip and we hope to return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverRealEstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for staying and dining with us. We really enjoyed having you here and I will share your kind comments with all the gang here. We hope you will come and see us again the next time you are holidaying in Ireland.

Thanks again and please keep in touch.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Booked accommodation and dinner for girlfriends birthday but was delayed leaving Dublin so rang ahead to see if cancelling dinner reservation was an option, was told it was no problem and to take our time. On arrival, at about 9.30pm, I was immediately confronted by the Owner who said that they had lost money on us cancelling the dinner as they had already bought the food and "hired extra staff" for us... I explained that I understood the margins small business work at and that was why I specifically rang ahead and was told by their staff that cancelling dinner reservations was not a problem at all, they still insisted I was in the wrong. I went to bed fuming and didn't go back down into the house that night as it was now awkward.

I must say the rooms were great, we had a superb sleep and breakfast was good the next day.

This is a nice place but the reception we got certainly made a bad impression.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank patindublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Patindublin_12,

Thank you very much for staying with us. I would also like to thank you for your feedback. I would like to assure you that your experience is not typical of how we normally welcome our guests to Ballyvolane House.

When you phoned us that afternoon and asked about dinner, we did say that canceling dinner would not be a problem. However, how we left it was that you agreed to phone us back to let us know if you did not want dinner here that night. As you did not phone us back, we took it that you would dine here so we prepared dinner for you and kept on the extra staff. When you arrived and informed us that you had already eaten, we were very surprised. We always make every effort to check if our guests are dining here as we only have 6 bedrooms and it makes a big difference to us.

I am glad you enjoyed the room and breakfast and we very much appreciate your feedback.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fermoy
6.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Fermoy
17.2 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
13.5 mi away
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
706 reviews
11.6 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,148 reviews
11.3 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyvolane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyvolane House

Property: Ballyvolane House
Address: Castlelyons | Co. Cork, Fermoy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fermoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyvolane House is an authentic historic Georgian House built in 1728. Six luxurious bedrooms with huge comfy beds, crisp linen, fluffy towels and big baths you can stretch out in. Delicious home-cooked country house cuisine served in the grand dining room. Glamping during the summer months. Breakfast served till noon. Free wifi throughout the house. Vast gardens and woods on the estate. Salmon fishing on the river Blackwater. Fly fishing school. Stocked trout lakes on-site. Tennis court. 7-a-side soccer pitch. Croquet. Badminton. Woodland walks. Help feed the farm animals after breakfast - pigs, ducks, hens and pigeons. Dog friendly. Lots to do in the local area and we are always delighted to help plan day trips. Also, Ballyvolane House has a distillery in the farmyard where Bertha's Revenge Gin is distilled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ballyvolane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyvolane House Hotel Fermoy
Ballyvolane Hotel Fermoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing