We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations!”
Review of Ballyvolane House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballyvolane House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved everything about the Ballvolane house. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. If you love a great bath then this place is perfect for you. We slept very well! The dinners are well worth the experience. Food is fresh and delicious. A great experience to enjoy dinner over candle light with the other guests. The service is excellent! This was a highlight of our trip and we hope to return.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VancouverRealEstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you very much for staying and dining with us. We really enjoyed having you here and I will share your kind comments with all the gang here. We hope you will come and see us again the next time you are holidaying in Ireland.

Thanks again and please keep in touch.

Best wishes,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 128 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Booked accommodation and dinner for girlfriends birthday but was delayed leaving Dublin so rang ahead to see if cancelling dinner reservation was an option, was told it was no problem and to take our time. On arrival, at about 9.30pm, I was immediately confronted by the Owner who said that they had lost money on us cancelling the dinner as they had already bought the food and "hired extra staff" for us... I explained that I understood the margins small business work at and that was why I specifically rang ahead and was told by their staff that cancelling dinner reservations was not a problem at all, they still insisted I was in the wrong. I went to bed fuming and didn't go back down into the house that night as it was now awkward.

I must say the rooms were great, we had a superb sleep and breakfast was good the next day.

This is a nice place but the reception we got certainly made a bad impression.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank patindublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Patindublin_12,

Thank you very much for staying with us. I would also like to thank you for your feedback. I would like to assure you that your experience is not typical of how we normally welcome our guests to Ballyvolane House.

When you phoned us that afternoon and asked about dinner, we did say that canceling dinner would not be a problem. However, how we left it was that you agreed to phone us back to let us know if you did not want dinner here that night. As you did not phone us back, we took it that you would dine here so we prepared dinner for you and kept on the extra staff. When you arrived and informed us that you had already eaten, we were very surprised. We always make every effort to check if our guests are dining here as we only have 6 bedrooms and it makes a big difference to us.

I am glad you enjoyed the room and breakfast and we very much appreciate your feedback.

Best wishes,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My fiance and I traveled all the way from Chicago, only going by pictures online and word of mouth recommendations. When I saw the house in person it was better than I could have hoped for. Justin & Jenny were lovely hosts. The food was probably the best that we had in Ireland. We couldn't stop eating, it was so delicious. The only issue was my wedding dress being a little snug.

Room Tip: All the rooms have different personalities. Some of the bathtubs are old school with no showers, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Joann & Dustin,

Thank you so much for having chosen Ballyvolane House as the location for your wedding. I know it was a big leap of faith with you both living in Chicago and we are delighted the wedding was better than expected! Thanks again and many congratulations.

Please keep in touch.

Best wishes,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Had the pleasure of spending two nights in Ballyvolane House with my Husband this August. To put is simply everything from the minute we were welcomed through the door until we left was fantastic! We loved the garden view from our room. The polish was all the little touches like homemade cookies and ribena on the bedside table, a turn down service at night and a fire in the room 2 seconds after you sat down, sadly necessary this August!!

However, the icing on the cake was the dinner in the evening. We had two beautiful meals where the fabulous food and wine was enjoyed in the fantastic company of fellow guests. Ballyvolane is Irish hospitality at its best; genial hosts (Jenny and Justin) and fantastic food in an incredibly warm friendly atmosphere. Have already booked family in to enjoy a stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinead1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Sinead1601,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for reviewing us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I will share your feedback with all the gang here at Ballyvolane House.

Many thanks again and looking forward to having you back to stay again.

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

i attented a wedding here last week and i have to say it was perfect from start to finish. The appetizers to start were bruschetta, smoked salmon blinis with creme fraiche and chive, mini fish cakes with chili dipping sauce. They were served with champagne and elderberry juice .... delicious.
The setting is divine between the gardens and the bar area and reception marquee.
The starters came to the table on platters and share me style blue willow bowls with plently of them.
The main was striploin of beef with bernaise sauce. This was the only negative comment I could make... maybe a peppercorn au jus? but thats just me personally :)
The veg and potatoes and salad from the garden were divine.
Dessert was lemon tart with summer berries and cream ...delicious.
As a caterer and pub owner myself I have catered several events and weddings in Toronto and I am always looking to be wowed in Ireland when I visit.
Well I was very impressed.
We stayed in nearby ballintelly house with Ann ... a wonderful woman and had a beautiful breakfast the next day.
I came back home and was pleased to see you guys advertised in the local magazine here irish connections through tourism Ireland.
I will be sending any Canadians going to Ireland to see you and I have told all my Bantry friends.
Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Maeve Mc Carthy
Mc Carthys Irish Pub
Toronto

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hurlingtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Maeve,

Thank you very much for reviewing. Delighted you had a great time and enjoyed the food so much. I will share your kind comments with all the team here. Ballinterry House is a gem and Ann is a fantastic host.

I hope you will visit us again the next time you are visiting Co. Cork.

Best wishes,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were invited to a wedding reception in Ballyvolane House in July 2012. It's definitely the best wedding venue ever; the settling was sublime, food delicious, staff solicitous & atmosphere magical.
There's an other-worldly feel to the place, particularly the lush gardens with twinkling lights & the occasional brush of a friendly dog's tail.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Sidnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed the wedding. It was a very happy couple of days and we really enjoyed having everyone here.

Thanks again and please come and visit us again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We visited Ballyvolane in mid-May 2012 as guests at a wedding.
We - and all the wedding party - were delighted with the house, the grounds, the exceptionally good food and charming and efficient service. We'd strongly recommend Ballyvolane for a wedding or simply as a place to stay. There is a lot to see nearby, not least Lismore Castle and gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Highgate43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Highgate43,

Thank you very much for staying and reviewing. We enjoyed having you all here and I am delighted you all enjoyed the wedding. Lismore Castle Gardens is pretty special and is a 'must-see' during a stay here.

Thanks again for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin Green
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fermoy
6.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Fermoy
11.3 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,735 reviews
9.7 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
13.5 mi away
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
21.5 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyvolane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyvolane House

Address: Castlelyons | Co. Cork, Fermoy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fermoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Price Range: $280 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyvolane House is an authentic historic Georgian House built in 1728. Six luxurious bedrooms with huge comfy beds, crisp linen, fluffy towels and big baths you can stretch out in. Delicious home-cooked country house cuisine served in the grand dining room. Glamping during the summer months. Breakfast served till noon. Free wifi throughout the house. Vast gardens and woods on the estate. Salmon fishing on the river Blackwater. Fly fishing school. Stocked trout lakes on-site. Tennis court. 7-a-side soccer pitch. Croquet. Badminton. Woodland walks. Help feed the farm animals after breakfast - pigs, ducks, hens and pigeons. Dog friendly. Lots to do in the local area and we are always delighted to help plan day trips. Also, Ballyvolane House has a distillery in the farmyard where Bertha's Revenge Gin is distilled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ballyvolane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyvolane House Hotel Fermoy
Ballyvolane Hotel Fermoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing