We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is how a B&B should be run.”
Review of Abbeyville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbeyville House
Ranked #1 of 7 Fermoy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fabulous place, with a 1st class service.
The house is large and spacious with ample parking, The interior is very tastefully decorated with many period features and furniture . Its also only a short walk to the river and town
The room (no 3 ) was beautiful with a four poster and large en suite. Mary was an excellent hostess providing a very warm welcome . Breakfast was ample and varied ( fresh fruit too :-)
Would i stay there again,,,,,,,, i wish i lived there :)

Room Tip: Has to be no 3
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianpgadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Owner at Abbeyville House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Abbeyville House and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction.It would be a pleasure for us to welcome back to Abbeyville House if you are ever in the area again. Regards Mary & Sean Lomasney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Abbeyville House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night only (unfortunately) in July 2012 when we attended a family wedding in Fermoy. Just excellent - decor, atmosphere, ambiance, hostess, location, food - all perfect! Mary was so friendly and helpful yet not intrusive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Owner at Abbeyville House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear you had a good experience at Abbeyville House.We look forward to welcoming you again if you ever in this area again.
Regards Mary and Sean Lomasney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was one of the nicest homes we've stayed in and we've visited many B&Bs. The house is impeccable and perfect throw back to the 19th century. The breakfast was good but it could do with fresh fruit and vegetarian options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Over the past 5 years I occasionally travel to Fermoy for work and have stayed in several of the Fermy accommodations. The Abbeyville is by far the best choice in Fermoy. The location is ideal, it is within walking distance of downtown allowing for an easy walk to most of the available restaurants. There is a nice park and indoor pool complex located immediately across the street and the walking trail alongside the Blackwater River is quite quite near for a lovely evening stroll. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and the ambience is relaxing and private. While this was a working trip, I was accompanied by my teenage son and given a spacious room that was quite comfortable for both of us. Oh, I don't want to forget to mention the great breakfasts- not only can you order a "full Irish" but you can also have fresh trout!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank MackinacGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Everything done to perfection. Just fantastic. Sean and Mary Lomasney have done a outstanding job on the building. I have stayed in the Abbeyville House B&B in 2000 and now it is first class in every way. You can not pick a better place to stay in Fermoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are faboulus. make sure you book on time!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulrich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed in ABBEYVILLE HOUSE ,when looking on the internet in England,ABBEYVILLE stood out by far the best with the great reviews ,and the location.I Came to Ireland to see my son and what better to have park across the road to play football with him,There's also a swimming pool,great playing area,and good for picknicks.After a good day it was so good to back to Abbeyville with a warm welcome,into a nice clean room.The thing i looked forward too the next morning was the fab breakfast,[ great cup of rosy lee ]So i would reccomend Abbeyville to anyone who wants a clean,warm welcome,great location stay at a B@B.Your be mad not to.see you soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Abbeyville House is simply wonderful. We arrived on a cold December evening (to attend a family occasion in Fermoy) and the sense of warmth and comfort was almost overwhelming. The attention to detail is obviously a labour of love by the owners.
These people just aim to provide fantastic B&B, and that is what they do.
Well done!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 3 (4 poster bed, large en-suite). Highly recommend.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willgooften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fermoy
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Fermoy
16.4 mi away
Springfort Hall Country House
16.2 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Ballyvolane House
Ballyvolane House
#1 of 2 in Fermoy
127 reviews
21.9 mi away
Cork International Hotel
16.8 mi away
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyville House

Address: Abbeyville House Abercromby Place, Fermoy P61 K859, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fermoy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fermoy
Price Range: $128 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyville House Bed & Breakfast is a five star Failte Ireland registered nineteenth century town house, on its own grounds and situated in a privileged location in the heart of Fermoy, opposite the Town Park and leisure centre and only a hundred meters from the famous river of the Blackwater. We offer our guests a choice of deluxe double, twin, single and family rooms all of which are en-suite with television and modern facilities including free wireless internet connection in all rooms, with tea/coffee served on arrival. We also offer an exclusive spacious residents lounge and library with open fire for our guests to enjoy a wonderful relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbeyville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing