We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steak”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Hotel Fermoy
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Cork,Ire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had dinner with my wife here and found the food (steak and fish)to be of very good quality,however... the accompanying portions were minimal for the prices charged.Staff were attentive and cheerful and nice atmosphere added to a relaxing meal.Wasn't too crowded for the time of serving also was a factor as seating wasnt a problem....would think twice about going back at those prices tho......

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    17
    15
    15
See reviews for
29
23
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

A group of us had our Christmas night out in the Grand last night. The food was amazing. The rib-eye steak was without doubt the nicest (and largest) I've had in a long time and excellent value for money.The staff were very professional and very friendly. I also stayed in the hotel. My room was lovely and comfortable. The breakfast this morning was once again first class. Well done to the management and team at the Grand. Highly recommended for any occasion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

A nice old building. That looks tired. Staff were nice. No wifi in room. Good shower. Breakfast not so good. Cheap beans. And watery sausages, bacon nice and eggs are eggs. I tried to book for a second stay. To be told they were full. And I found a B&B a small way up the road instead. That out classed the not so grand in every way.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a bar meal with our children, it was not good value for money and well able to charge. It was an expensive visit. We waited ages to be served and also waited a long time for the food to arrive it was cold and bland. We left very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank partysonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fermoy hotels

Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip for a couple of nights with friends. The room was pretty typical for an old Irish hotel, small but clean, with a TV that was too small to be seen. The bathroom was updated and plenty of hot water. The bed was soft but ok. Biggest problem was a total lack of internet in the room. But in Fermoy, there are not a lot of choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killkenny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I recently had reason to spend a night in this hotel and was blown away by the quality of service that i received. The food was to a standard of a top restaurant at twice the price. we stayed for drinks in the bar after dinner and enjoyed the local atmosphere. The rooms were beautiful and although modern they supported the feel if this obliviously family run business

will I return? ... Yes indeed and i will tell anyone that will listen to try it !! 10/10

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KilkennyHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Appearances can be deceiving. On the surface the Grand Hotel looked like it was going to be a nice hotel with comfortable rooms and friendly staff. This I expected and this I got. BUT, and it's a big BUT, I was not expecting to experience fine dining worthy of a top New York Steak Restaurant. My colleagues and I were most pleasantly surprised by the Gourmet delight that we were treated to. 7 of us sat down and enjoyed a variety of dishes ranging from fish to chicken to rib eye steaks. It inspired a conversation of the most enjoyable meals we had ever experienced on our travels. We are already planning a return trip to The Grand based solely on our dining experience. Ireland has plenty of nice friendly hotels but I suspect very few have the culinary delights of The Grand.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JovialGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fermoy
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
706 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Fermoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Fermoy

Property: The Grand Hotel Fermoy
Address: Ashe Quay, Fermoy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fermoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grand Hotel Fermoy 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Old Style Hotel with Brass, Mahogany, High Ceilings and Character recently renovated to bring it into the 21st century. During your stay at the Grand Hotel you will experience the warmest Irish welcome in a charming town centre setting. Just a stroll away from Fermoy's shops, businesses and top entertainment venues, the Grand Hotel offers 12 comfortable rooms, most with stunning river-views, quality dining in its stylish restaurant and a warm, old-times atmosphere in its typical Irish bar. An ideal base from which to discover North Cork and all that Munster has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel Fermoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing