We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful Accomodation. Total Rip Off. Stay elswhere”
Review of Killary House

Killary House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leenane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killary House
Ranked #6 of 6 Leenane B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I can't stress strongly enough how much of a rip off I felt this B&B to be. At €70 per night I at least expected a friendly greeting and this didn't happen. We weren't shown to our room, rather told "its up there at the end of the passage" as the owner shuffled off into the kitchen. The bedroom had a double and a single bed literally wedged into it so there was little or no room to move about. The ensuite barely accomodated a full grown adult and the toilet seat was loose and the only glass given for drinking water was filthy. The dining room for breakfast was poor at best. The chairs had little or no upholstery and no support or springs whatsoever. As we didn't want a cooked breakfast we were loaded up with cheap white slice pan that was hardly even toasted. I would have expected a choice of fruit or yoghurt or brown bread at least.
The only thing this house has going for it is the superb view of the harbour so nature has given them a helping hand at least in this way. It is also within very easy walking distance of the local shop, pubs and restaurants.
I feel so strongly about this level of accomodation being supported by the Irish Tourist Board and B&B Ireland I have writtent to them to say that such accomodation at such a price does little for our image and reputation internationally.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ursula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

I had a wonderful time at Killary House and found the owners very friendly when I saw them. I got lots of information about where to go and what to do (always useful when you are a lone traveller) I had a room with a fantastic view of Killary Harbour which was just wonderful to wake up to each morning. Its location suited me as its only a few minutes walk to the village. Having read the previous reviews I would just like to say that I had no issues with hot water etc and even with my various requests for hot water for a late night drink and sandwiches for lunch I experienced no difficulty.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydney44_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This was the most disappointing place we stayed in during our month touring Ireland it was also the most expensive outside Dublin especially as it was stated in the B&B guide as an Award Winning establishment. At the time of our stay the B&B was being run by a very young Czech with very marginal English. Our room was cramped and not particularly clean and had it not been raining we probably would have moved on. We understand the owners were invalids and obviously not able to care for the premises. We had booked in for 2 nights however did not stay the second night. Leenane was a great place to use as a base for the Connermara area and it was a pity we were so uncomfortable at this place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merrismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Staying at Killary House was a experience! when we arrived they weren't sure which rooms to put us in and what rooms we wanted (although we had booked). The woman we dealt with was a bit unfriendly as well. My room was fine. Some of the others had issues with cold showers and in general the whole place needed refurbishment. On the plus side, breakfast was fine and arrived quickly with as much extra coffee and toast as you wanted. After a day or two it dawned on me that they were trying hard to be helpful but were just a bit chaotic. And they didn't complain about us leaving muddy boots around and dried our sodden clothes when we asked. In summary - the hosts appear unfriendly but were helpful - you just have to ask! A bit of an odd experience but not bad one - you'll see what i mean if you stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtrekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2006

If you want to stay in the village of Leenane there is a fairly limited choice of accommodation. Avoid Leenane Hotel - we experienced a very poor attitude on the part of the staff just by trying to get a bar meal there. Also some establishments that describe themselves as being in Leenane are in fact miles away. Then there are the B&Bs.

Killary House is by the side of the picturesque fjord and very central. Our room was clean and the cooked breakfast was excellent. There was also satellite TV in the lounge.

BUT - despite staying 3 nights and booking 6 months in advance (with difficulty - they took ages replying to our e-mails and wanted a deposit in cash!) we were placed in a cramped room at the back of the house with no view of the water, with a cockerell crowing outside from 5am, and no shelves to put things on. Our room was en suite (though with no bath as advertised on the website) yet we noticed the non-ensuite rooms were much larger, so they had presumably just taken out part of the room for the bathroom.

Then there were the staff. We only saw 3 people during the time we were there. When we arrived we rang the doorbell and eventually a woman came to the door and let us in. She gave us no welcome of any kind, but just established who we were, showed us to our room, demanded to know what we wanted for breakfast the next morning, and told us to come down at 9am (despite the website saying breakfast was served 8-9.30).

At breakfast there was a German girl in charge. I have nothing against Germans, but she certainly fitted a stereotype. She was unfriendly, uncommunicative, and made a very big deal out of making a very minor change to my breakfast order the next day.

There was another woman around who did not even acknowledge our existence. And when we paid at the end (a relatively expensive 70 euros per day) we were not even thanked or asked if evrything was OK.

I am sure there must be better B&Bs in Leenane - if going again I would try the Portfinn Lodge (probably dearer but better, and with a very smart restaurant) or the Convent or one of the other places nearby.

In summary, wonderful location but poor facilities, expensive to stay, and hopeless customer service.

9  Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MatthiasWendelspiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Erster Stock hinten links (3-Bett- Zimmer, die Nr. weiß ich nicht mehr), man schaut aus dem Fenster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leenane hotels
0.0 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B
0.0 mi away
The Convent
The Convent
#1 of 6 in Leenane
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Portfinn Lodge
Portfinn Lodge
#2 of 6 in Leenane
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
875 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleepzone @ The Connemara Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killary House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killary House

Address: Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Leenane
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing