We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leenane Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Delphi Resort(Leenane)
$199
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$251
$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maol Reidh Hotel(Tullycross)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peacockes Hotel(Maam Cross)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$197
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Killary Lodge(Leenane)
No availability for your dates from our partners
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveler rating
293
207
59
37
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
207
59
37
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskillary harbourtreacle breadolder partmusselsseaweed bathopen fireold world charmdinner menukylemore abbeycharming hotelsingle roomamazing locationchowdersmoked salmontop classwould highly recommend this hotelboth nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
517 - 522 of 616 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I did not stay at the Leenane Hotel, but did stop for lunch last weekend while passing through, it was not great.

I had fish and chips, the fish looked and tasted like it had come straight out of the freezer, to be honest not what I was expecting from a Hotel located on the edge of Ireland's only Fjord.

On the upside the staff were nice and the location is good, unfortunately that was not enough to make me want to go back or to recommend eating there to a friend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lavendercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed here with our 13 month old daughter for 3 nights. The room was a good size but a bit dated and in need of refurbishment. We got a great half board deal of 90 euro per night for us all . Dinner was a set menu but included starter, soup, main course, dessert and tea or coffee. There was reasonable variety, the food was pretty good and staff were friendly and helpful. This is a hotel to use as a base to explore the stunning countryside around it rather than to relax in for the day. If going ask for a lakeview room in the the new wing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thearumlilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I've been to the Leenane hotel twice this year and find it to be a rather eccentric sort of place. You never quite know how things are going to turn out in terms of service - sometimes (most times really) quite friendly but sometimes also bordering on indifference. A lot of the staff have very little English - which leads to complications in the restaurant if you wish to deviate in any way from what's on the menu! I have observed a guest at breakfast time waiting, with mounting ire, for 20 minutes or so for his simple order of bacon and egg to be (non) delivered, and all the staff totally ignoring him. Eventually he managed to attract attention, his order was written down again, with no apology from the waitress, she didn't have the requisite English to understand what had happened. Another 15 minutes and he got his breakfast and an apology from an English speaking waitress. This is fairly typical of the hit and miss service at the Leenane! The staff tend to be very much much one thing at a time, multi-tasking is not on their agenda. But basically friendly, they just need to be a bit more focused on looking after the guests.

The rooms are also a bit hit and miss in terms of noise. Best are on the top floor (the hotel is 3 storey), worst at the front on second floor over the bar area. The furniture is quaint and everything is rather old fashioned but OK if you are not too quibbly; no problems with cleanliness, although the wooden windows are a bit grubby - but that is the nature of the place. They also have a 2 storey annexe where the rooms are fine, somewhat functional and with tiled floors - a bit like the apartments you get in Mediterranean resorts. The tiles are a bit cold if you go loo visiting in the middle of the night, if you forget your slippers!

The location is rather fine, right beside Killary Harbour, lovely views across the water to the Mayo mountains. Leenane village is 5 minutes up the road and the Western Way 5 minutes in the other direction, around some rather dangerous blind bends. All sort of amenities in the area, as the hotel info outlines, but nothing in the hotel itself. But there are seaweed baths next door if you like that sort of thing.

Best features are very good value for money, good basic food (a pretty good 5 course dinner and a full Irish breakfast served to your table; and lunch sandwiches for 3 euro if you wish), good central location for exploring the area. The bad points are the variable standard of service; also, if you are picky, the old fashioned rooms and furniture - this hotel is not for people used to a lot of comforts. There is no lift, so sometimes the hotel is a bit like an old folks' home as elderly citizens struggle up the stairs with their luggage to their 1st or 2nd floor rooms - they don't seem to do porterage in the Leenane Hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOSSIEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Stayed in the hotel the night before my friend and I did the Connemara Adventure Challenge.
The hotel was busy but they coped well.
Good Points: fabulous view, great food, cosy and staff very helpful and friendly even though i am sure a hundred other people were all asking the same questions that day and asking to use their phone!
Bad Points: Room small for two people but it was just me so it was fine. I had no phone reception, my friend did in the car park. Not really any bad points

Would like to go back with my other half!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I was not amused at all: The small room, the old furniture, the cleanness, the not working technique, the unfriendly crew at breakfast, the overpriced rate. In short – one of the shabbiest rooms I ever slept in.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bb_berne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews