We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leenane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leenane Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

My husband and I loved every minute of our two night stay last weekend in this hotel.
Fantastic value, brand new rooms with a little balcony overlooking the fjord, magnificent scenery, friendly staff, excellent food & service, and on top of all that... pet friendly too!
(We brought our 12 year old infirm rough collie with us)
I just can't speak highly enough of it.
The weather was perfect and the countryside looked so very beautiful. It made us feel so blessed to be Irish and have this wonderful unspoilt countryside to explore right on our doorstep.
Do yourself a favour and stay here for a relaxing & very enjoyable couple of nights before the fine weather breaks and they are all booked out!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palestine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    187
    51
    32
    19
See reviews for
108
230
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

We have stayed in this hotel now 3 times with our children. On our latest visit during the Hallow'een break we stayed in one room with our 4 children. The room was large but the children had to share the two single beds as there were no extra beds available. The beds were lumpy and appeared to have seen better days but none the less the kids had a great time. We stayed for 3 nights and ate in the dining room for each of these nights. The staff were friendly but the food is more very old style home cooking rather than restaurant standards. In saying this it was fine although it was disappointing that children are not better catered for. Breakfast is served to the table bar making your own toast and helping yourself to the juices and was very enjoyable.
The hotel does not have a lift. There is a lovely common area with an open fire and lots of seating which is very comfortable. In addition to this there is a bar which is very cosy with a fire. The staircase is beautiful and there are a lot of painting/pictures on display. All of these add to the hotel's charm.
Leenane is a beautiful location and is ideal for touring both Galway, Westport and surrounding areas. The scenery is spectacular!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget as it definately offers value for money but visitors should be aware that there are no leisure facilities and very little television reception.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone-lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

3 star hotel with clean but basic rooms, food was excellent. there is a certain charm about this hotel, a cosy homely feel to it and we always felt welcome during our 3 night stay. Its perfect location for touring. Everyone from staff to other visitors staying at this hotel were freindly and always ready for a chat and we even had a great singalong one evening which was so much fun. local pubs are good craic too and the great movie, 'the field, was made in this area. This hotel I think is a hidden gem, no frills, good value but with a great atmosphere. well worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellesmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

We actually quite liked this hotel despite its short comings. Situated facing Killary harbour, this hotel has outstanding views if you are lucky enough to face towards the harbour. The rear of the hotel point blank faces a hill. Ajoining the hotel to its left are 90s style apts while to the right is a brand new extension which hopfully has a lift as the main hotel does not- stairs only. Our room was small, very small- a single. The management did however manage to fit in a double bed. This ment the floor on my side could not be cleaned properly by the cleaner/ breakfast & dinner waitress/ bar person. There was no hot water for a shower if you got up late, so you would have to wait until it heated up again. Breakfast & dinner were fantastic & I cannot think of Irish dinners served better by any hotel I have been to previously. But to clean the tables after each sitting they simply brushed the crumbs onto the floor, turned over the paper table mats & reset the table. The staff were very helpful but the main reception was rarely attended to. The hotel does not have sky sports etc or an atm. The interior & exterior have period charm-its not exactly a modern hotel. Despite the previous text we actually liked this hotel perhaps because we got room, breakfast & dinner for €60pp/pn. We would go back because we thought the place hilarious & enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Have just returned from 3 nights in the Leenane Hotel. The location is perfect and one of the most stunning places I have ever seen. The hotel is very good value and the food was excellent . There were a few minor points that I would like to see addressed but nothing serious - there is no childrens food menu, a few of the outside areas could do with some maintenance and upkeep and it could needs a few chairs in the garden to sit outside if the weather is good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Looby36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

I recently stayed at the Leenane Hotel. The location is just awesome. A heavenly place.
The hotel itself was reasonably clean and the staff quite friendly and helpful. The food was nice - better than I thought it would be actually...beautiful fresh seafood which I would reccommend.
My room was adequate, clean comfortable bed and bedding. Tea/Coffee, Tv and phone.
I would have liked more attention to detail in the cleaning department though. Corners and edges of bedroom carpet had obviously not been hoovered! Bathroom was very clean apart from the shower. The bottom of shower door and edges looked dirty/mildewed ? and... the previous occupant's hair was in the shower tray too....not nice!
Apart from that I was reasonably satisfied with my stay at Leenane as I did get a very good special offer. The location is teriffic and very central to many other areas of natural beauty and interest. The Killary Fjord Cruise is just 2 km up the road, and the Connemara loop drive is nearby and just amazing. I would probably stay there in the future, as they are doing the place up and hopefully their cleaning will have improved somewhat by then!

Helpful?
Thank MagdaleneIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

This hotel offers great value for money, good wholesome food, friendly staff. It is not a luxurious hotel - there are elements such as the bathrooms that could do with renovation- but it has a lovely old-world feel with an eclectic mix of antiques and more modern furniture. It has spectacular views over Killary harbour and is an ideal base for walkers who wish to explore the Connemara countryside.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anewdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
2.7 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
12.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
11.7 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
15.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leenane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leenane Hotel

Property: Leenane Hotel
Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leenane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leenane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing