We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Fawlty Tours Experience”
Review of Leenane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leenane Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2009

We actually quite liked this hotel despite its short comings. Situated facing Killary harbour, this hotel has outstanding views if you are lucky enough to face towards the harbour. The rear of the hotel point blank faces a hill. Ajoining the hotel to its left are 90s style apts while to the right is a brand new extension which hopfully has a lift as the main hotel does not- stairs only. Our room was small, very small- a single. The management did however manage to fit in a double bed. This ment the floor on my side could not be cleaned properly by the cleaner/ breakfast & dinner waitress/ bar person. There was no hot water for a shower if you got up late, so you would have to wait until it heated up again. Breakfast & dinner were fantastic & I cannot think of Irish dinners served better by any hotel I have been to previously. But to clean the tables after each sitting they simply brushed the crumbs onto the floor, turned over the paper table mats & reset the table. The staff were very helpful but the main reception was rarely attended to. The hotel does not have sky sports etc or an atm. The interior & exterior have period charm-its not exactly a modern hotel. Despite the previous text we actually liked this hotel perhaps because we got room, breakfast & dinner for €60pp/pn. We would go back because we thought the place hilarious & enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for Leenane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 593 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2009

Have just returned from 3 nights in the Leenane Hotel. The location is perfect and one of the most stunning places I have ever seen. The hotel is very good value and the food was excellent . There were a few minor points that I would like to see addressed but nothing serious - there is no childrens food menu, a few of the outside areas could do with some maintenance and upkeep and it could needs a few chairs in the garden to sit outside if the weather is good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looby36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I recently stayed at the Leenane Hotel. The location is just awesome. A heavenly place.
The hotel itself was reasonably clean and the staff quite friendly and helpful. The food was nice - better than I thought it would be actually...beautiful fresh seafood which I would reccommend.
My room was adequate, clean comfortable bed and bedding. Tea/Coffee, Tv and phone.
I would have liked more attention to detail in the cleaning department though. Corners and edges of bedroom carpet had obviously not been hoovered! Bathroom was very clean apart from the shower. The bottom of shower door and edges looked dirty/mildewed ? and... the previous occupant's hair was in the shower tray too....not nice!
Apart from that I was reasonably satisfied with my stay at Leenane as I did get a very good special offer. The location is teriffic and very central to many other areas of natural beauty and interest. The Killary Fjord Cruise is just 2 km up the road, and the Connemara loop drive is nearby and just amazing. I would probably stay there in the future, as they are doing the place up and hopefully their cleaning will have improved somewhat by then!

Thank MagdaleneIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

This hotel offers great value for money, good wholesome food, friendly staff. It is not a luxurious hotel - there are elements such as the bathrooms that could do with renovation- but it has a lovely old-world feel with an eclectic mix of antiques and more modern furniture. It has spectacular views over Killary harbour and is an ideal base for walkers who wish to explore the Connemara countryside.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anewdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Stayed for three super days in a friendly atmosphere, clean and cosy room and absolutely superb food.Staff very helpful and friendly but highly proficient in their work. We had a great stay and will continue to visit this establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerryportCo_Down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We were planning to stay and arrived in the afternoon, seeing three signs that said food served all day and we were starving, at least our three small children were. We were hardly through the door when a woman appeared from reception and when asked if food was available she just said no and disappeared again.

Best to just drive on.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
3  Thank SamsinTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

A friend and I spent one night here when touring Galway and Mayo.

Location: The hotel is an excellent starting point for touring Connemara, Kylemore and around. Rooms with a view look out across the lough, which is lovely. The stretch of road between the hotel and Leenane proper, however, with its lack of lighting or sidewalks, is dangerous for pedestrians, so don’t walk along it at night unless you have to.

The car park is rather small. We found a space all right, but many guests had to leave their cars at the roadside.

Accommodation: Though we had booked two singles, we were each given a double with view. While fine as singles, I think these rooms would have been rather cramped if occupied as doubles.

The bathroom was OK, though the fan was ridiculously loud. The television was mounted high on the wall and not all of the channels were properly tuned in.

Dining and lounges: Our rate covered an excellent four-course table d’hote dinner with coffee/tea included. An à la carte menu was also available as was a reasonable range of wines.

The bar was a bit cramped, but the range of drinks and bar food on offer was good. If you find the bar too full, there is a large and comfortable lounge, with an open fire, just across the hall.

Service was excellent.

So, a good experience on the whole. There’s probably not much for you here if you have small children, but otherwise I’d recommend this.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Commodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
2.8 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
869 reviews
12.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
733 reviews
11.8 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
93 reviews
18.8 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
299 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leenane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leenane Hotel

Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range: $80 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leenane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Leenane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing