We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Leenane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leenane Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Have just returned from 3 nights in the Leenane Hotel. The location is perfect and one of the most stunning places I have ever seen. The hotel is very good value and the food was excellent . There were a few minor points that I would like to see addressed but nothing serious - there is no childrens food menu, a few of the outside areas could do with some maintenance and upkeep and it could needs a few chairs in the garden to sit outside if the weather is good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looby36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    197
    56
    37
    20
See reviews for
124
250
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I recently stayed at the Leenane Hotel. The location is just awesome. A heavenly place.
The hotel itself was reasonably clean and the staff quite friendly and helpful. The food was nice - better than I thought it would be actually...beautiful fresh seafood which I would reccommend.
My room was adequate, clean comfortable bed and bedding. Tea/Coffee, Tv and phone.
I would have liked more attention to detail in the cleaning department though. Corners and edges of bedroom carpet had obviously not been hoovered! Bathroom was very clean apart from the shower. The bottom of shower door and edges looked dirty/mildewed ? and... the previous occupant's hair was in the shower tray too....not nice!
Apart from that I was reasonably satisfied with my stay at Leenane as I did get a very good special offer. The location is teriffic and very central to many other areas of natural beauty and interest. The Killary Fjord Cruise is just 2 km up the road, and the Connemara loop drive is nearby and just amazing. I would probably stay there in the future, as they are doing the place up and hopefully their cleaning will have improved somewhat by then!

Helpful?
Thank MagdaleneIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2009

This hotel offers great value for money, good wholesome food, friendly staff. It is not a luxurious hotel - there are elements such as the bathrooms that could do with renovation- but it has a lovely old-world feel with an eclectic mix of antiques and more modern furniture. It has spectacular views over Killary harbour and is an ideal base for walkers who wish to explore the Connemara countryside.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anewdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Down
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Stayed for three super days in a friendly atmosphere, clean and cosy room and absolutely superb food.Staff very helpful and friendly but highly proficient in their work. We had a great stay and will continue to visit this establishment.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerryportCo_Down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We were planning to stay and arrived in the afternoon, seeing three signs that said food served all day and we were starving, at least our three small children were. We were hardly through the door when a woman appeared from reception and when asked if food was available she just said no and disappeared again.

Best to just drive on.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank SamsinTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

A friend and I spent one night here when touring Galway and Mayo.

Location: The hotel is an excellent starting point for touring Connemara, Kylemore and around. Rooms with a view look out across the lough, which is lovely. The stretch of road between the hotel and Leenane proper, however, with its lack of lighting or sidewalks, is dangerous for pedestrians, so don’t walk along it at night unless you have to.

The car park is rather small. We found a space all right, but many guests had to leave their cars at the roadside.

Accommodation: Though we had booked two singles, we were each given a double with view. While fine as singles, I think these rooms would have been rather cramped if occupied as doubles.

The bathroom was OK, though the fan was ridiculously loud. The television was mounted high on the wall and not all of the channels were properly tuned in.

Dining and lounges: Our rate covered an excellent four-course table d’hote dinner with coffee/tea included. An à la carte menu was also available as was a reasonable range of wines.

The bar was a bit cramped, but the range of drinks and bar food on offer was good. If you find the bar too full, there is a large and comfortable lounge, with an open fire, just across the hall.

Service was excellent.

So, a good experience on the whole. There’s probably not much for you here if you have small children, but otherwise I’d recommend this.

  • Liked — Views, service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Commodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands - Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

This hotel was on 'special offer' 2 nights bed and breakfast and one evening meal for two people - 149 euro per person. My first impression was that it was ok the black and white tiles in the hall give it an old world feel that is rightly in keeping with the house and the old fashioned stair case which winds its way to the rooms were very nice - but the room it was awful - small and cramped with three flies buzzing about - and obviously the occcupants before us (the people not the flies) had decided to kill the flies themselves because their remains were still splattered to the wall - We asked the young girl at reception to spray a bit of fly spray which she duly did! The carpet in the room is tired the decor positively exhausted and the poor bed clothes do them a favour and put them out of their misery - throw them out. The bathroom was like something in student accomodation - adequate but not in keeping with any hotel nowdays. The reading room was lovely though it had an ould fashioned quality to it that seemed right . Dinner was a bland affair with courses being served at the speed of light. Breakfast was ok. This hotel is in a lovely part of the country but if I wanted to go camping I could have ! This hotel will have to spend some serious money on itself. It cannot rely on its location anymore - word of mouth will stop people staying there. The young staff were courteous and polite.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank DotMidlands_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
2.8 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
847 reviews
18.8 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
289 reviews
12.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
191 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leenane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leenane Hotel

Property: Leenane Hotel
Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leenane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leenane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing