We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Leenane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leenane Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a fabulous stay at The Leenane Hotel 2 weeks ago when we travelled over to go to the Westport festival. There was a group of us - 3 couples and we could do nothing but comment on the service we received over our 3 night stay there. We stayed in the new part of the hotel and the views were amazing, rooms were clean and comfortable with quirky edge. We ate there on our first night and the food was beautiful, not to mention our waitress for the night who was really helpful - she even walked home to her house to pick up some cucumber slices to bring back to give to my poor friend whose eyes had inflamed after a severe allergic reaction earlier that day!!SO lovely.
I am gluten intolerant and nothing was too much hassle if I requested a gluten free option for either dinner or our 3 breakfasts. Great selection for me which I am not used to getting when eating out.
Bar staff and receptionists were very chatty and helpful, as were cleaning staff who made sure we didn't leave a few bits behind.
I never leave reviews but as we really enjoyed our stay and the service I would just like to recommend it to anyone looking for a gorgeous little place to stay while exploring the countryside around there.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Niamh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Leenane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 592 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

So disappointed, I am wondering were we at a different hotel to other reviewers. The place needs a good clean up as far as i am concerned,the standard of hygiene that i saw was not acceptable,ie same bit of food on the dining room floor for 2 days in a row,Staff not dressed in suitable manner for serving, no smile on any of their faces,we were never asked did we want coffee or tea at breakfast or water with the evening meal,we had to find a staff member to ask for it.Breakfast very poor on 1st day only bacon sausage egg, no fruit, only juice,more on following days, dinner only fair did not dine there for evening meal after first day. Bedroom & bathroom needed cleaning . No lift which would not go amiss. . Scenery excellent but sadly about the only thing the hotel has going for it.

Room Tip: Room wa quiet,if you have any trouble with stairs look for downstairs room
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were given a room at the back of the hotel above the kitchen. The fumes from the kitchen really penetrated our room and the only view was a steep cliff. Not good. Although the staff were very helpful we found the food to be very ordinary and the breakfasts dull. There were no tongs with the bread and we noticed people picking over the bread with their hands picking up another slice. Not at all hygienic. Although the smoked salmon was good, lemon slices would have improved this option

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Wonderful! Just back from our second stay. Rooms cosy and atmospheric. The food is superb, the setting overlooking the lake is breathtaking. We are extremely well travelled and would recommend this hotel. It is the best value for money in Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank linda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Old style hotel with loads of charm and friendly staff. Our room was comfortable clean and well sized. The view from our room was amazing, overlooking killary harbour and the mountains. Great location for discovering Connemara and the surrounding areas as its approx. halfway between clifden and Westport. A lovely bar frequented by friendly locals and prices were reasonable. The only small let-down was the standard of breakfast on offer. The cooked breakfast was kept warm in ban-marie contraptions which left everything dried out and the selection of fruits and cold meats was poor. I would still recommend this hotel and hope to visit it again. Book directly for best value. We booked through a third party and paid substantially more than other people we talked to who had booked directly.

Room Tip: try to get one of the rooms in the newer section overlooking the harbour
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location, but had one of the older rooms which looks " very tired". Staff very friendly and food good, must try the seafood chowder. Really good. There was also live music on the Saturday night.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly done up room
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Very good location at the end if fjord. Perfect access point to go for hiking. Apparently here starts annual hiking festival in June which doesn't suprise me as location is idylic. We had room with view of the bay with its beautiful peaks.
Room was fairly large and very good size bathroom. They use spring water. Internet very fast which was a suprise as this place is in the middle of nowhere. There was irish folk live music, very good. Breakfast suprisingly ok. Good selection of fresh juices, salmon, etc. Overall big suprise as we paid only 89 euro for a double room. If in the area next time I wont hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globetrottterrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
2.8 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
867 reviews
12.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
733 reviews
11.8 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
93 reviews
18.8 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leenane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leenane Hotel

Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range: $80 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leenane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Leenane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing