We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers”
Review of Leenane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leenane Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Upon arriving at this hotel I was throughly disappointed. After booking it online due to the excellent comments on tripadvisor.ie I cant put into words how it let me down.
Firstly I was shown to my room which was up the back of the hotel, which reminded me of inner city flats, up fire escape stairs and led to my room door which we were both unable to lock or unlock without alot of difficulty. The room itself was such a let down and shown no comparasion to the photos on the website. The smell of damp and mildew was sickening not to mention the state of the washed out dirty bedsheets. Paint was falling off the walls in areas and shower curtain was broke.
After talking to a really helpful receptionist she showed us two more rooms which were totally unacceptable in my mind. I am by no means a snob but basic standards should be met. I also rang the hotel the same evening, prior to checking in to ask about entertainment and was assured there would be on both our nights of staying. Upon arriving in the bar area that night I was told the band had actually cancelled that morning leaving us with no music and another disappointment. We retired to bed after a few drinks in the local village only to be kept awake all night by a gentleman snoring next door.
This really was a nightmare for us both. We refused to stay the second night. Find it really difficulf to understand all these excellent reviews.

Room Tip: Dont stay here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 607 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

This has been my 3rd time to stay at the Leenane Hotel over the past 3 years & yet again it excels each time.
We like to bring our dogs with us on holidays & it is such a novelty to bring them to Leenane where they can have lots of walks & swim in the lakes or at the beautiful beaches of Connemara.
One thing I love about this Hotel is the relaxed, no hustle & bustle approach. The staff are all so friendly & will go out of there way to help you. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is fab & the 5 course dinner included has a lot of choice & was beautiful. Value for money it sure is!!
Our room off the hotel was kept lovely and clean & my family stayed on the bottom floor & found their rooms very modern & spacious.
We will definitely be back again, Leenane- a great spot to get out & about ( away from city life) to enjoy the beautiful nature around us .
Thank you again to the Foyle family who run a super show there!
p.s The traditional music on the first night in the bar played by the 'hogs' was great craic & they really made the night for us. :-)

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms are very spacious & modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here and amazed at the views a scenery - it doesn't get much better!
Given that you don't go to Ireland for the weather, we had a couple of nice and fairly bright days
Superb locacation on the side of the Fjiord with an old world charm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magoireachtaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent two nights in the Leenane Hotel recently. The hotel is situated in a fabulous location with stunning views. There's plenty of free parking in a recess outside the hotel, and also in a large car park across the road. Both check-in and check-out were prompt and we got a room looking right across the fjord. This hotel is quaint and rather old fashioned, but is clean and comfortable. Plenty of towels and hot water in the bathroom, shower was also good, however they could have been a bit more generous with the toiletries. One miniature of shampoo and another of bath/shower gel is not enough for two adults – we were in a double room after all! The TV in our room was really tiny and was up far too high on the wall. It meant we had to crane our necks to see it. However this didn't detract from our stay as we were out of the hotel touring the area for the majority of our time there. The hotel has a very large and comfortable common room beside reception where guests can sit and read papers, books, chill out or use the computer. The computer is absolutely free for guests to use and we have never come across this before. It really is an added bonus and something that other hotels should take on board! On our first night we dined in the pub in the hotel. Food was excellent and very good value. Service was a bit slow but to be fair to the barman, the poor fellow was attending to absolutely everyone, from drinks to meals, and he did it rather well despite the pressure he was under. On our second night we dined in the hotel restaurant. This was part of the deal and is the subject of a separate review, as is our cruise up the Killary Fjord, and our trip to Kylemore Abbey. The food in this hotel is second to none. Free morning papers were available each day and breakfast was very good, substantial and filling. Only complaint was about the coffee, I believe it tasted absolutely awful, on both mornings. Can’t judge this as I didn’t have it myself. We had a great sleep on both nights, not a sound could be heard, except the birds in the morning – and we were also lucky enough to hear the cuckoo several times during our visit. Across the road from the hotel, and attached to the car park, is a lovely little garden set with flowers, shrubs and trees, with a swing chair in the middle of the garden and fountain at the end to complete it all. It’s a nice setting in which to relax and for taking photographs using the fjord in the background to add a bit of perspective. We would visit Leenane again. It’s a great place for getting to many of the beauty spots in Connemara.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We felt quite isolated deep on Ireland's west coast, but the Leenane Hotel proved to be a comfortable home for a few days' local touring. The room we had was simple, yet spacious and comfortable, with a wonderful view over the fijord. The bar and restaurant were very pleasant places to eat and enjoy a Guinness or two and we found the staff very friendly, helpful and accommodating. There was music in the restaurant on one evening we were there and that was an experience to enjoy! Only drawback was very slow Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Have staying here twice with groups of groups of friends, it's a lovely hotel (stayed in the new wing) - lovely big lounge area, lovely restaurant, bar - and very peaceful. Stunning views onto the fjord and a please short walk to the village. Lots to do in the area - would recommend Killary Adventure and of course lots to see in the wider area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aug21-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at the Leenane Hotel for one night -- the rooms are nice and slightly larger than what you would normally find. If you are challenged by stairs -- do not recommend as all rooms seem to be upstairs and no lift. Also, our bathroom was down a few steps, which can be tricky to navigate in the dark.

The dinner was good and the menu did provide variety. Breakfast was a buffet. Cold items such as cereal and then the traditional sausage, fried eggs, etc. Nothing fancy, but okay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
2.8 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
886 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
94 reviews
11.8 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
750 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#2 of 2 in Recess
254 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leenane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leenane Hotel

Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range: $86 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leenane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leenane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing