We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only game in town”
Review of Leenane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leenane Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

stayed here with family of four for 1 night. ended up in the new section of hotel at the very end. a bit sterile. worrisome previous mudslide in the back and giant retaining walls. food average and staff a bit stiff. beautiful scenery all around and enjoyed the gardens at kylemore abbey nearby ( house tour disappointing though).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savvyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 607 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

we have stayed here now 3 times now in last few years it just gets better and better ..food in the restaurant is AMAZING ...STAFF AMAZING ..VIEWS AMAZING ...and the most comfortable nights sleep ive had in ages ..great location to explore from clifden to galway ...and surrouding areas great cycling and walking areas ....we have booked again for august cant wait !!!
thank you all for making our 4 days amazing x

Room Tip: every room is good and sea weed baths and spa are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed for two nights requesting a harbour view at time of booking; The person who greeted us on arrival was not very friendly & just handed us the key. Having read such good reviews we were expecting something really special but unfortunately it ended with the view; the room was cramped, the 'antique furniture' looked as though it had been bought at a house clearance; the silvering had gone on the mirror making it very 'cloudy'; the bathroom was awful, the basin was cracked & the bath had been repaired leaving a patch of 'gunk' some 30cms square that was not very nice to stand on, we did hear that the hotel was undergoing some refurbishment so maybe some rooms were better than others it would certainly be worth checking at the time of booking: We ate in the restaurant for the first night and the meal was Ok but went to one of the local restaurant the following night & thought that was much better: We were charged 95 Euros per night which seems to be more than is shown on the website today; the vat reduction from 21% down to 8% was not passed on either. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyfultraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

At a rate of €147 per person for three B&B and 3 Dinners, we expected nice but basic food and an ok location. We were wrong. We were upgraded to a seaview room at no extra charge (usually €10 per person per night). The view was stunning. We were in the newer part of the hotel which is very modern, but had a peep at the rooms in the older part and though not very large, they seemed really nice, lots of antiques etc. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty to choose from. At dinner we were asked if we were on the three day package, which rang warning bells, but the menu was great, fresh fish, steaks, really fresh veg, etc four delicious courses and house wine starting at €18 a bottle. The food was worthy of any good restaurant. Lovely fires in the public rooms at night and music in the bar on one evening. The hotel is a three star but worth four in our opinion. The village itself is lovely and try and fit in the Killary Cruise. The food and drink onboard is great value. Would definitely recommend this break for couples.

Room Tip: Changed our dates to get that sea view free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MPhIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My husband and I arrived at this hotel, with another couple. We were all part of a group of twenty something people, who were booked in for 6pm dinner. We were greeted by a friendly member of staff who showed us to our modern comfortable room, overlooking the beautiful fjord. Our room had a small balcony to admire the view from. Luckily we were an end room, so we also had a window to the side which could be opened for fresh air. There was a great en-suite with separate shower and bath.
After putting our things in our room we went into the bar to get lunch. It was a Bank Holiday Sunday, and the hotel was extremely busy with coach loads of people, guests and locals. The bar was covered in glasses, so we had to go right to the end of the bar. The staff seemed to be rushed off their feet. We ordered bar food and drinks, which were fine.
I went for a stroll after lunch to the village. It is a very scenic spot , but one has to keep crossing the road to walk around the dangerous bends.
When I arrived back at the hotel I met some other members of the group. Eventually most of us had arrived, and assembled in the large lounge/ sitting room/library. This room and the hotel foyer retain the old world charm of this historic building. After drinks and chat it was time for dinner.
There seem to be several dining areas, and our group had our own area, except for some unfortunate couple, who had to put up with our animated chatter. The food was delicious!
After dinner we adjourned to the lounge again after a visit to a local hostelry. Some of us were imbibing, others were not. The sensible ones went to bed. A sing-song started, and it became a late night. One member of staff requested us to keep the noise down, and closed the door. i think there had been a complaint. We slowly drifted to our beds, leaving the hard-core behind.
Breakfast the next morning was very tasty. It was self-service. We all appeared in dribs and drabs; some of us bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, others a bit worse for wear.
Apparently there was a leak in the breakfast room, from a shower some other guest had left running. But I missed this.
Sadly our stay had come to an end. A good time was had by all, and we would definitely go back.
P.S There is bad mobile phone reception.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkyCo_Roscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We recently stayed at the leenane hotel for 3 night's with dinner included each night and i cannot stress enough how much we enjoyed our stay. The food is excellect, with the menu changing each night and there is something to suit everyones needs. The staff are extremely friendly and the service was first class. We stayed in a double room with a view overlooking the fjord and it was amazing. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. We are already planning our return visit and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruby0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel over the last 10 years. at least once every year. This hotel has never failed us in all this time. The staff and service are excellent. staff always helpful. I would describe it as faded elegance which is charming, home from home.

The food is excellent, the whole experience is heartwarming and you feel so relaxed and well looked after. The surrounding scenery is majical and it is no distance to see other lovely places as in, Westport, Cliftden and is only about 1 hour and 15 mins from Galway city.

The comfort and value of this hotel is wonderful, I would highly recommend it . The rooms are spotless and the beds are very comfortable. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. What I will say is that I am already looking forward to my next visit this year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good most overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scooby42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
2.8 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
887 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
94 reviews
11.8 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
751 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#2 of 2 in Recess
254 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leenane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leenane Hotel

Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range: $86 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leenane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Leenane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing