We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Killary Sheep Farm

Killary Sheep Farm
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: contains some of Ireland's most awe-inspiring and dramatic scenery including Killary Fjord. Sheepdog Demonstrations with highly skilled working dogs, feeding the lambs with bottles, Sheep shearing using the hand shears, turf cutting using the traditional method which visitors can try out this ancient method for themselves, walking trails, Great day out for all the family.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Mr. Tom Nee was friendly and knowledgeable. The sheepdogs Roy and Sweep were the stars of the show - very agile and affectionate. Watching them rounding up the sheep was both cute and amazing. It was also fun to watch my husband try his hand at working on the bog. The walk on the mountain, sheep shearing, and feeding the lambs were also very memorable experiences! Highly recommend this activity to anyone visiting Ireland!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    11
    2
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“We had the best time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

When we visited Ireland in May/June, on our last day we stopped here and we are so glad we did. We all had an amazing time and highly recommend you make this a "for sure" stop while you are in Ireland!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elliot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful view of life on a sheep farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

How wonderful that Killary Sheep Farm owner Tom is making the effort to keep his family farm alive and thriving by allowing others to get a glimpse of the workings of a sheep farm. It was a memorable experience for us Hawaii "sisters" driving around Ireland for the first time. Amazing to watch how "in-tune" Tom and his sheep dogs are working together.
A highlight of our travels in Ireland!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank holohologal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a great experience here and Tom did this show for us and another family on Monday, his rest day. View the sheepdogs workings, sheep shearing, bog walk. Also have a go at lamb feeding. Wonderful experience at a very reasonable price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank geomang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

My daughter couldn't wait to see all the sheep in Ireland, so when I read about the Killary Sheep Farm, I knew it was a must on our itinerary. Tom was great, and made the trip well worthwhile. We had a great time watching the sheep dogs herd in the sheep, as well as Tom shear a sheep. He gave an informative hike to learn about peat, giving anyone who wanted to a chance to try out their skills at various chores. The highlight for my daughter was feeding the baby lambs. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and highly recommend a visit, you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vbear26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killary Sheep Farm also viewed

Shanafaraghaun, County Galway
 

Been to Killary Sheep Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing