We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #4 of 6 Leenane B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Off the beaten path”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you like to get off the beaten path, this is the place for you. After a short drive through the woods, you come upon this lovely little home at the end of the road. Our hosts were very friendly. Had a nice chat with Joe in the evening in the living room. Beds were very comfortable. Woke up to a rooster's crow, which was delightful, and enjoyed a delicious breakfast. Great place for a get-away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton,
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have been to Glen Valley twice ( 2008 and 2010) and will return again when I can. The innkeeper, Josephine, is as pleasant and sociable as you could want. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the Irish Breakfast is sensational. You are made to feel at home and you cannot help but relax in the serene setting of the farmhouse. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omal2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent one night at Glen Valley during our road trip of Ireland. Very warm hospitable family feel to the house and the two Joe's made us feel very welcome. Still laughing about Joe's story's. We turned up late in the afternoon and Jo left us a note on the door and the keys asking us to make ourselves at home (very nice touch) This B & B was the most remote of all the one's we stayed at, this too just added to the charm though. I would suggest using your GPS to locate, or call before you hit Leenane, as the property is a good 3 or 4 miles before you hit the town and quite easy to miss the road sign if driving Northbound.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robcastle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spend two nights in Glen Valley Farmhouse. The location is wonderful, with a lot of possibilities for walks around . The house itself was probably once a nice place, but today it is not well kept. It is overpriced compared to other places we stayed. Definitively avoid it if you are allergic to dust!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The location of the house is its best attribute as it is so secluded. Aside from that, the house has great character and is decorated to a really high standard. It has a really cosy feel to it. Very comfortable bed. Very relaxing spot.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellieob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I spent several nights at Glen Valley during our honeymoon in Ireland. Joe and Josephine were beyond hospitable and treated us like we were part of the family. The B&B is nestled in a beautiful, quaint and scenic part of Ireland (near the Connemara Mountains). We are looking forward to returning during our next venture to Ireland!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We found a recommendation for this B&B in our travel book, and called on a whim just before the start of the season. Jo was a welcoming and gracious hostess, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this idyllic valley nestled among sheep, border collies, ponies, and the beauty of the verdant valley.

We took our evening walk (as the Irish are known to do), and as the sun set over the valley all of the greenery seemed to glow from within. The cottage was clean and cozy. We had tea by the fire before nestling in for the night. As it was still cold in the Connemara, Jo started an electric blanket in the bed for us so that we had a cozy little coccoon to snuggle into.

Breakfast was the best we had through our stay in Ireland, hearty and traditional. Eggs, toast, black pudding, muesli, tea, coffee, cereal, all we could handle! A morning hike to the top of the opposite ridge and along back to the road made us loathe to leave the serene hideaway that we'd found! I would return again and again just to recharge and unwind!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exnyer8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
27.3 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
807 reviews
24.6 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
524 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oughterard
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
251 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Convent
The Convent
#2 of 6 in Leenane
51 reviews
27.5 mi away
Delphi Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B

Property: Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B
Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing