We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and the house is full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #4 of 6 Leenane B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and the house is full of character”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The location of the house is its best attribute as it is so secluded. Aside from that, the house has great character and is decorated to a really high standard. It has a really cosy feel to it. Very comfortable bed. Very relaxing spot.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellieob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I spent several nights at Glen Valley during our honeymoon in Ireland. Joe and Josephine were beyond hospitable and treated us like we were part of the family. The B&B is nestled in a beautiful, quaint and scenic part of Ireland (near the Connemara Mountains). We are looking forward to returning during our next venture to Ireland!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We found a recommendation for this B&B in our travel book, and called on a whim just before the start of the season. Jo was a welcoming and gracious hostess, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this idyllic valley nestled among sheep, border collies, ponies, and the beauty of the verdant valley.

We took our evening walk (as the Irish are known to do), and as the sun set over the valley all of the greenery seemed to glow from within. The cottage was clean and cozy. We had tea by the fire before nestling in for the night. As it was still cold in the Connemara, Jo started an electric blanket in the bed for us so that we had a cozy little coccoon to snuggle into.

Breakfast was the best we had through our stay in Ireland, hearty and traditional. Eggs, toast, black pudding, muesli, tea, coffee, cereal, all we could handle! A morning hike to the top of the opposite ridge and along back to the road made us loathe to leave the serene hideaway that we'd found! I would return again and again just to recharge and unwind!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exnyer8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I felt as though I was leaving an old, dear friend when it was time to leave Josephine. Being there was like taking a step back in time. Josephine and her husband Joe couldn't have treated us more like family. The B&B was spotless and exceedingly comfortable. Josephine greeted us with a warm fire in the lounge upon arrival. Each of our rooms had lovely views of the mountains and the moonlight and the mist. The children fell in love with one of their Connemara mares who'd dropped down from the mountain pastures to say Hello. Leaving Lady Cookie was a sad good-bye for my daughter. We witnessed firsthand Joe and his sheepdogs driving the sheep down from the mountains as he corraled them for shearing. We had planned to go to a working dog demonstration, but had the real deal right in front of our eyes! The children were given the chore of helping Josephine gather eggs for breakfast. She really made them feel a part of things. When I was coming down with a bug, Josephine put on her nurse's cap and provided a hot drink and comfort. I will never forget that. The spirit of Ireland is alive and well at Glen Valley.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cruzansuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Loved this place. Josephine and Joe both very welcoming. Absolutely no complaints. Would you return - YES! Both are delightful people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the2ofusNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Our stay was for the purposes of hill walking, for which Glen Valley is ideally situated. Indeed one can have direct access to the Maam Turks without having to drive or 'walk-in.' The mountains are all around. The owners are very personable lending a relaxed feel to the house. While small, this B&B is cosy and will give visitors a sense of the local people. It is about 5 minutes drive from Leenane, and I recommend this accommodation for outdoor/scenic pursuits. Some lovely beaches also nearby, about 10minutes drive. Breakfast is served around one large dining table, making for easy conversation with other guests. A friendly place.

Room Tip: Not all rooms en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticNomadLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
24.6 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
547 reviews
27.3 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
824 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oughterard
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 mi away
No photo provided
Killary Lodge
#4 of 4 in Leenane
1 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Convent
The Convent
#1 of 6 in Leenane
54 reviews
4.8 mi away
Portfinn Lodge
Portfinn Lodge
#2 of 6 in Leenane
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B

Property: Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B
Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing