We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Action packed adventure holiday with your kids”
Review of Delphi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delphi Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Action packed adventure holiday with your kids”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for a 3 night package in July with our 3 children, 11, 9 and 7. Delphi excels at providing a range of family adventure activities with a better than average hotel experience. We tried most of what was on offer including rock climbing/abseiling (on a new tower), high ropes, sea kayaking and archery. The older kids will enjoy the Kayaking, Coasteering and Bog Run activities - seeing the whole family emerging from the bog covered head to toe will be something you will never forget! There is a new Aerial Assault course which will test your head for heights which we didn't try and will save for next time. The whole setup was professional and well equipped. The hotel was a haven to return to after the activities and we found the restaurant and bar staff to be pleasant and welcoming. The restaurant food was excellent. We found it perfect for a short stay. There are plenty of accommodation options, we had a family room with bunk beds that could take four children and 2 adults in one room. It is not a large hotel so be sure to book early to get the room type you want. Intentionally there is no TV (and mobile phone coverage is poor) so we reverted to spending some time in the games/reading room which was a welcome break from the norm. There are also Spa treatments on offer to help soothe aching muscles. Don't forget to take midge spray for the outdoor activities. The scenery here is stunning and Delphi would be one of my must go to places in Ireland for an up market family break.

Room Tip: Ask for the room types that they have available, rooms are on two floors. There are some apartment o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francisreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    184
    73
    41
    22
See reviews for
198
360
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight but found though staff were in general very good, this resort does not quite make it. Room was a split level which may work for some but not all, we had constant noise from walkways to rear of bedroom(not hotels fault but poor choice in original design). Bed was one of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on. I know it was two twins pushed together and I have slept on many of these around the world, but the cover or bed spring support did not provide any comfort .

Dinner in resort has 2 options, bar or restaurant . We chose bar which had a better option on menu. Views from both areas are breath taking as you see the constant changes with cloud on the mountain sides.

Food was very good and staff were run off their feet trying to service all. Yes, it was peek time but they seemed to need someone guiding them and maybe they were a bit short staffed.

Breakfast in the morning is served in restaurant . Service dropped off big time unless you had a baby. We did not get much service and eventually we're asked what we wanted from menu. Ordered our breakfast and coffee but after completing our food with no coffee being delivered(and we had asked again for coffee) we walked out. I noted that the couples who had a baby did get great service and their coffees/ teas were very quickly delivered

This is the hotel that could be but does not quite make it .

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

After the recommendation of friends we chose this hotel for a weekend get away to relax and enjoy nature.
The location is stunning and definitely the highlight. We had a superior room with a large balcony with a view of the mountains. Beautiful.
Let's start with the positives- on the first morning we had booked into the spa. You get a free hour in the thermal suite before your treatment. The suite was small but we were lucky as were only ones there so very peaceful. Our treatments were super. A massage and a facial. Very pleasant staff and very welcoming.

In the afternoon we had booked kayaking. This costs 50euro per person and for us this proved pricey. We were the only adults in a group of approx 15 children so the first hour was taken up with kids changing, finding wetsuits and bus journey to pier. Kindly after a while the instructors realised that we were just sitting on the water eating kids play, one instructor took pity on us and brought us for a kayak out to sea which was beautiful. We would recommend trying to get private tours as with all the kids a lot of time wasted

Throughout our whole weekend stay the staff were very friendly.

The downsides-
Biggest disappointment was the food. Given you are so remote you are essentially stuck or have to drive far for alternatives. The first night we ate in the restaurant. Our mains were disappointment. Little things like the side of veg was just cauliflower boiled to death. The cheese board for dessert was rubbery bits of cheese and Jacobs cream crackers instead of advertised oat cakes.

Breakfast was most disappointing. The fruit was all tinned, croissants were gone both morning before we got up and not replenished. We ordered full irish and pancakes the first day and French toast the second. Most of which we left behind. Rubbery pancakes and French toast was just fried bread in oil.
We cancelled our second nights reservation and drove to town called Leenan and found lovely restaurant called Blackberry which was lovely.

We were out all day Saturday. Returned at 5.30pm to find room was not made up. We rang down and they sent someone. She left large towels but told us all hand towels were in the wash.

A bus load of people arrived on the Saturday for a wedding in nearby hotel and played very loud music all Sunday morning. Far from peaceful.

All in all not for couples or foodies but scenery and staff make up for some of what's lacking.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Went there last year for our staff party and enjoyed our stay for 100%! On our entrance to the hotel we could see how beautiful it was, very modern and stylish. Very friendly reception staff, our rooms were also very comfy and bright. A welcoming note with chocolate was on the table waiting for us. Everything looked very tidy and well looked after. Eco-friendly shampoos, conditioners and soap. Spa was also very relaxing, superb massage and very nice tea which is hand-made in the hotel. Food was very tasty, breakfast was also really good! Pancakes were especially nice! Next time I will go there with my husband!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnastasijaSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamiers
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Irish hospitality at its best. The hotel is wonderful, that's if you stay in the hotel, not in the sport centre next door. The staff is friendly and the place is beautiful. During our conference, the food was absolutely superb. Normal prices seem quite high but such comfort in such a remote place makes it acceptable.

Room Tip: Our room was a loft. We couldn't open a window at night which was our only disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Never wrote a review before and was always looking forward to write one but because I promised to myself that it has to be a special one, it took until now, little did I know how special it would be. Stayed here in Delphi recently with my partner and he proposed.
:-D, :-0, :-D
I am, we are so happy, first time in Delphi and absolutely loved it, what a special unique place. Didn't get a chance to do any fun stuff but, absolutely loved the fact that there was no coverage - no disturbing, just us, enjoying fancy room and absolutely amazing and delicious food. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LivelyLovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I'm just back from an extraordinary 7-day conference at the Delphi Centre. The beauty of the location and the kindness and helpfulness of the staff made it an experience to remember. I recommend it warmly!

Room Tip: Hotel rooms probably more comfortable than Adventure Centre room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
18.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
20.2 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
14.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
14.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delphi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Resort

Property: Delphi Resort
Address: R335, Leenane H91 DP08, Ireland (Formerly Delphi Adventure Resort)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From warm Irish hospitality to exquisite food, outdoor adventure to ultimate relaxation, Delphi Resort is the place to escape to, to enlighten your lust for life, awaken your senses and truly embrace Ireland's magnificent landscape and scenery, all from the comfort of the 300 acre resort. Delphi Resort is located in the heart of the scenically breath-taking Delphi Valley, near Leenane, Connemara, Co. Galway, Ireland. With its stunning scenic location, Delphi is a world apart and a haven for romantic getaways, special occasions, adventure-filled family holidays and wellness escapes. Situated just 10 mins from Leenane, Connemara, 30 mins from Westport and 80 mins from Galway City, Delphi Resort is surrounded by magical scenic drives along the Wild Atlantic Way. If looking to explore the area, Kylemore Abbey and Connemara National Park are located just 30 mins away, with Louisburgh and Croagh Patrick just 20 mins away - making Delphi Resort the perfect base for those that want to get settled at the resort and for those that like to travel and see the sights! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Delphi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Mountain Resort And Spa
Delphi Mountain Hotel Leenane
Hotel Delphi Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing