We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure filled, yet relaxing getaway”
Review of Delphi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delphi Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Monasterevin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Adventure filled, yet relaxing getaway”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just back from a weekend break which included a days activities, superb accommodation and quality food. Adventure Centre staff are excellent, passionate and enthusiastic without being overbearing. The lack of form filling/disclaimers is a welcome bonus.

We ate in both the bar and the restaurant and the standard of the food was excellent.

One problem that did occur was the lunch in the Wild Atlantic Cafe where we ordered the club sandwich for lunch.What we got after about 30 mins was a thin wrap with a few leaves of lettuce and a tiny piece of bacon. The girl was apologetic and said they were having communication difficulties with the kitchen. We apparently were not the only customers who had a problem with their order. We then had a bowl of soup which was on the house and to the credit of the staff in the cafe they refunded us our lunch bill.
All in all an excellent location for a breakaway from the bustle of life with no tv and no mobile phone coverage an added bonus.

One point to note, we were there on a special offer. If you are paying full price it can be expensive depending on what you go for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deckie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    184
    74
    42
    23
See reviews for
200
365
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The room and location was fantastic. The spa staff need some serious updated customer service training. After waiting for 10 minutes at the reception desk to use the Jacuzzi we were booked for when headed in ourselves after getting fed up waiting. About two minutes later this woman appears and rudely barks what were we doing in the Jacuzzi? we told her that we had waited 10 minutes, no one had appeared and we headed in as there was surely other people going to be waiting if we were delayed. She snapped that she was busy and had been in and out to the desk then boomed at us well you have 45 minutes and marched out. The activities are quiet pricey at €70 per person per day if not included in your booking package. Asides from this the breakfast was beautiful and the rest of the staff were fantastic. Highly recommend it if management could manage to get the above mentioned lady retrained in Customer Service.

Room Tip: Bring a laptop as there are no TV's in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicki05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas W, Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Nicki

Thank you so much for your review. At Delphi, we really appreciate customer feedback as we strive to improve and exceed customer expectations.

Thanks alot for your kind comments about the quality of the bedrooms, the location and also for your comments on the experience in the thermal suite which I am really upset to hear and can only apologise for. I can assure you that Delphi prides itself on customer service which you can see from almost all of our customer reviews and this incident is being investigated to ensure that nothing similar happens again the future. As you mentioned, the rest of the staff were fantastic which is what we always aim to achieve across the resort.

In terms of the adventure activities, a full day of activity for adults is 70 Euros though there are many more economical options which range from activities for children from only €15.and adults from only €25 and as you mentioned we have offers with up to 25% discount for adventure packages so there is something for everyone.

Thanks again for visiting Delphi and for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you return to see us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Douglas Whittaker
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just back from a lovely stay at this resort. We were delighted to be upgraded to a suite upon arrival and it really was gorgeous. A fab view of the mountains and lake with out own little deck. The dinner was very nice but we found the prices at the bar a little high, particularly as they know they have a captive market. Trish our waitress was excellent and deserves a special mention. All the staff were incredibly nice and helpful and it did feel like a family operation which was nice. We did two activities which were great fun even if the weather was a bit sucky. I would have really enjoyed if they offered a yoga class or guided walk. It seemed like there were a few people in the hotel who wanted to do something without driving and even for a few euro I would have signed up to something. It was also the most silent hotel I've ever been in. No phone signal but didn't really mind that at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is the closest place to paradise! The accomodation, the staff, the spa, the location and the food are just simply the best.The fact that there is no mobile coverage in the building is such a bonus. You really can get away from everything. I'm looking forward to my return trip to Delphi.

Room Tip: I've stayed many times and every room I had was just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas W, Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Brenda

Thank you so much for you extremely kind comments about all the different aspects of Delphi.

Customers from all over the world are starting to appreciate the true beauty and diversity of Delphi though its extremely refreshing to receive this feedback from more local guests so thanks so much.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Delphi very soon.

Kind Regards

Douglas Whittaker
Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I miss Delphi so much now! I had an amazing time there despite the weather not being so great. The local area is truly awe-inspiring and it is a true escape. The food, accommodation and spa were beautiful and the adventure activities were the right amount of challenge for me. The staff in the hotel and adventure centre were some of the best I've encountered for customer service - there was a real sense of local hospitality. Shout out to Mark and Shane who ran the coasteering on Monday - they did an amazing job and were so knowledgeable and great fun!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Springmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas W, Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Springmaus

Thank you so much for your invaluable comments.

Your review reminds us how fortunate we are to work in such an truly awe inspiring location and what drives us to work so hard which is to make our customers feel part of the Delphi family and have a truly unforgettable stay so thank you again for this great feedback and I shall ensure I pass it on to the staff and in particular to Mark and Shane who are now becoming infamous for their Coasteering Trips!

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Delphi very soon.

Thanks again

Kind Regards

Douglas

Douglas Whittaker
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break in Delphi for my husbands 40th birthday and it was even more than we had hoped for. The place itself is just idylic - so remote and so beautiful. The hotel was amazing - very spacious modern rooms and so quiet with no TV's which is such a pleasant surprise for a change. The spa was luxurious with great staff, lovely treatments and amazing jacuzzi and relaxation areas looking out over the mountains - heaven. The food was super - and the staff were just so knowledgeable and helpful in the restaurant. The staff throughout the hotel are a credit to the owners - they are so friendly, so helpful and nothing was too much hassle for them. We went on 3 activities with the adventure centre - kayaking, coasteering and high ropes and would highly recommend all of them. The instructors were just brilliant, and we were just sorry we didnt have a chance to get to do any more!! We will definitely be returning and are already trying to fit in another weekend sometime soon. I would recommend the place to anyone who wants a relaxing home away from home and some adventure thrown in - it really has it all.

Room Tip: We were in a loft room which was lovely - very spacious and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas W, Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Tara

Thanks alot for making the trip down from Dublin to experience Delphi and for your magnificent comments.

I think we should use some of your great comments in future marketing campaigns :)

Seriously you did capture the essence of Delphi in your message as it really is idylic, remote and beautiful and as you said perfect for anyone who wants a relaxing home away from home with some great adventure thrown in.

We really hope we can welcome back to Delphi very soon.

Thanks again.

Kind Regards

Douglas

Douglas Whittaker
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Excellent resort for a relaxing getaway.
Set in amazingingly scenic area.
Whether you participate in any of the outdoor activities or relax inthe spa.
All of the staff were very helpful and efficient, very knowledgeable on other interesting places to visit in the locallity.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm4851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
2.8 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
563 reviews
18.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
276 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
716 reviews
14.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
920 reviews
20.2 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delphi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Resort

Property: Delphi Resort
Address: R335, Leenane H91 DP08, Ireland (Formerly Delphi Adventure Resort)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From warm Irish hospitality to exquisite food, outdoor adventure to ultimate relaxation, Delphi Resort is the place to escape to, to enlighten your lust for life, awaken your senses and truly embrace Ireland's magnificent landscape and scenery, all from the comfort of the 300 acre resort. Delphi Resort is located in the heart of the scenically breath-taking Delphi Valley, near Leenane, Connemara, Co. Galway, Ireland. With its stunning scenic location, Delphi is a world apart and a haven for romantic getaways, special occasions, adventure-filled family holidays and wellness escapes. Situated just 10 mins from Leenane, Connemara, 30 mins from Westport and 80 mins from Galway City, Delphi Resort is surrounded by magical scenic drives along the Wild Atlantic Way. If looking to explore the area, Kylemore Abbey and Connemara National Park are located just 30 mins away, with Louisburgh and Croagh Patrick just 20 mins away - making Delphi Resort the perfect base for those that want to get settled at the resort and for those that like to travel and see the sights! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Delphi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Mountain Resort And Spa
Delphi Mountain Hotel Leenane
Hotel Delphi Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing