We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found our heaven in Delphi”
Review of Delphi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delphi Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    184
    74
    42
    22
See reviews for
198
362
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Hello. Myself and my wife just returned from a 3 day stay in Delphi Mountain resort. We travelled in Ireland for 7 days in total, flying in and out of Shannon. We are both retired and have travelled all over the world. I can say, hand on heart, that this was the most unique and charming hotel we have ever stayed in. They offer loads of activities and spa options, however we choose just to mostly relax, read, and take in the amazing scenery. On day 2 we got lively and decided on doing a short trek up the mountain/hill at the front of the buidling. Assisted by a guide from the resort it was a tiring but very uplifiting experience. The resort is ran by a young team and we met with the husband and wife on numerous occasions during our stay. It is dissapointing to see other not so positive reviews here, but as the resort is only open now 2 months and there must have been some start up issues. Our stay was most memorable. The hospitality and dining were the best we recieved on our Irish vacation and I will certainly be recommending this little gem to our network.

  • Liked — breath taking views
  • Disliked — 3 hour drive to airport
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joebyrnenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

The hotel (if you can call it a hotel ) was very disappointing. Dusty/dirty hallways, bedrooms were nice but defo lacking a bit of background nice as no radio/tv. The bar doesn't have a full licence and only serves wine and bottles of beer. The activities were all full and if you did manage to get a space you had to go with a bunch of 10 year old kids. Spa was fab......good treatments BUT on checking out and paying the bill the rates had gone up by eur20 each so wasn't happy about that. As a travel agent I like to try new places and I know what a good hotel is made of but Delphi resort doesn't live it to it. Staff were all very young and the casual dress made it feel like we were in a fancy hostel. Don't think I'll be returning or recommending it.

  • Liked — Split level bedroom
  • Disliked — felt like a luxury hostel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank asho36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire dales
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

The rooms were beautiful, the views were beautiful but that's it. It's really an activity centre for kids. It's not a luxury hotel. It tries to be both but falls down. We were up-graded to a suite, it was luxurious but the heating in the bathroom didn't work. The staff solved it by turning on the heating in the room, which we didn't want. This had obviously been a problem before because there was a sign telling people not to mess with heating controls and cellotape stuck over the controls.To get to reception you have to go through a corridor where the young kids (girls) were. This seemed daft to me and not a good security for the kids (having strangers wandering through) Rooms weren't cleaned properly, bins unemptied, no glasses. Staff seemed to be rushing around to cope (but not coping) Breakfast staff were good, everyone else didn't really know what to do (they all seemed to have nice smiles though!) A Professional manager might help but I wouldn't go again or recommend it to anyone except perhaps
for mountain bikers, rich lads with expensive bikes.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank raikesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We brought our kids for a days activities and then to stay in a 2 bedroomed suite. The suite was beautiful. The activities were fun and well organised but the changing facilities were dirty, toilet paper and water on the floor of the ladies, no toilet paper in the holders and it remained uncleaned for the whole day. The showers were so basic and horrible that I wouldn't have considered using them. As we were not allowed book into our room until 4, this was problematic.

I think the main problem with the resort is that it is suffering from not quite knowing what it is supposed to be offering. If you are charging customers large prices to stay in plush bedrooms and for spa treatments you cannot expect them to be forced to use disgusting facilities for the activities. Either they offer a luxury service in the hotel and keep the adventure centre separate or something because in my view it does not work.

I could have tolerated the filth of the adventure centre if it hadn't have been for the dreadful service in the dining room and bar.

The place is completely understaffed. Or inefficiently managed. We had to approach people who looked like staff members to get service at the bar on both occasions we went. At dinner we had to set our own table (as we had children with us we were shown into a second dining room which had a few other children in it-we asked if we could be placed in the main dining room and this was fine), but the staff then disappeared and eventually arrived with a basket of bread but no cutlery etc and we had to repeatedly ask for service. In the end it was so so bad all we could do was giggle amongst ourselves. The same scenario emerged at breakfast but much worse. I can put my hand on my heart and say it was the worst breakfast I have ever had to help myself to in any hotel/guest house I have ever stayed in. The content of the buffet was basic and to get toast to your table was like climbing Mount Everest. I had to ask multiple times for everything and eventually had to go into the kitchen to get what I wanted. I suspect the hotel has adapted the service they provide for school groups in the hostel to the hotel-fine if you are paying for hostel accommodation but we were not. There was 1 delightful waiting staff member who was trying to keep the show on the road and was very pleasant but how she can sustain this is questionable.

That said the chef is excellent and we had lovely meals-but the chaos and effort of getting them before you ruined that too.

I disagree that it is a welcoming place. We found it to lack atmosphere. I kept being asked if I was a resident before going into the dining room and could not undertand why. The only polite words came when we were shown our suite and when we were sitting for over half an hour while they tried to calculate our bill.

We will not be going back. The setting is wonderful, heavenly in fact, but the service was so poor we will spend our money elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2005

This place was great! I actually just wrote a long review and then my computer ate it. Suffice to say that I can't understand why the other reviews are so poor. I stayed here with my friend for our 30th birthdays. We loved it. The food, rooms, service and treatments (we had the spa indulgence deal) were just fantastic. I keep the bill in my bag to take out and smile at sometimes, the treatments, food and cocktails make me remember what a great time we had!
I can't recommend Delphi highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
2.8 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
544 reviews
18.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
254 reviews
10.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
20.2 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,564 reviews
14.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delphi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Resort

Property: Delphi Resort
Address: R335, Leenane H91 DP08, Ireland (Formerly Delphi Adventure Resort)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From warm Irish hospitality to exquisite food, outdoor adventure to ultimate relaxation, Delphi Resort is the place to escape to, to enlighten your lust for life, awaken your senses and truly embrace Ireland's magnificent landscape and scenery, all from the comfort of the 300 acre resort. Delphi Resort is located in the heart of the scenically breath-taking Delphi Valley, near Leenane, Connemara, Co. Galway, Ireland. With its stunning scenic location, Delphi is a world apart and a haven for romantic getaways, special occasions, adventure-filled family holidays and wellness escapes. Situated just 10 mins from Leenane, Connemara, 30 mins from Westport and 80 mins from Galway City, Delphi Resort is surrounded by magical scenic drives along the Wild Atlantic Way. If looking to explore the area, Kylemore Abbey and Connemara National Park are located just 30 mins away, with Louisburgh and Croagh Patrick just 20 mins away - making Delphi Resort the perfect base for those that want to get settled at the resort and for those that like to travel and see the sights! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Delphi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Mountain Resort And Spa
Delphi Mountain Hotel Leenane
Hotel Delphi Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing