We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family winter break in the wild”
Review of Delphi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delphi Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent the mid term October break with 2 adults and 4 kids at Delphi .
If its a get away break from the general threadmill this is a very good choice.
The site is located in a stunning mountain side location, circa 8 miles from Lennane and 55 miles from Galway. The scenery in all directions could come straight from a highlights of Ireland brochure.
The hotel itself is best described as quirky. A mixture of The Hobbit meets Mayo Ranch, a nice comfortable interior with intimate bar and restaurant areas. We stayed in a family room for 6- which was much too small for our family. The duplex suites were more generous but were not offered to us at booking. I would suggest a variation in package offer should be considered.

The main difference of this site is the youth hostel and activity centre on site, they appear to pre-date the hotel and greatly added to the feeling that this was an adventure break. We thoroughly enjoyed the activities offered- it made the holiday.
Restaurant food was top quality locally sourced food- top marks.
We didnt use the Spa.
Generally a relaxed break in the open air.( No mobile signal or TV, even the kids liked this after a couple of days)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks martin g
Glad the family had a good time and top marks for most descriptive post of Hotel!

Bryan and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 887 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked in for a Body Bliss Package, which involved use of the therma suite and a body massage and a seaweed bath. It was truly fantastic! The views in the relaxation room of the mountains in Leenane were second to none. The staff were a pleasure to deal with and the price point was spot on. I will definitely return here on my next visit to Connemara.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nysavygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks Nysavygal
Thats a lovely post to read and delighted that you felt it was such good value in particular.

regards

Bryan and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just back from a halloween break at Delphi, our first visit and wasn't sure what to expect. The resort is in a gorgeous location, family rooms are lovely and the staff are so so nice. We spent 3 nights there with 2 teenagers (17, 13) and wished we could have stayed longer. There were loads of great activities to choose from - our kids did climbing, archery and kayaking and we used the complimentary bikes to take a trip to Aasleagh Falls. There are loads of walking tracks too. The food in both the restaurant and bar is first class and I had a morning in the spa - the seaweed bath is awesome! We woke up on the last morning to a dusting of snow on the hilly view from our room. Thanks guys for looking after us so well, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a family room on ground floor with lovely view of hills and patio area, there was a double be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for the lovely feedback Sharon M,
it was our great pleasure!

Regards

Bryan and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for five nights with my 3 kids. Great location great food lovely staff. Activity centre fantastic. Family room a bit small for adult with three teenage kids. Probably ok for younger kids.
Good Internet access also required specially for teenage kids and Internet was very hit and miss !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pvmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks Pvmcc for the lovely feedback

We have Wifi in the public areas as you know, but will certainly take a look at it to ensure its consistency in the future.

best wishes

Bryan and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Second time staying at Delphi and it was as good as the first time . The rooms are beautiful , clean ,spacious and modern we even had patio doors leading to chairs outside so we could sit and look at the mountains .We used the spa whilst we were there its really beautiful , floor to ceilling windows so you can relax whilst looking at the beautiful scenery lovely treatments could not fault the spa.
My husband would not be as into the whole relaxing thing as me ,so after the spa he was a bit panicky as to what we were going to do til dinner !We drove into Leenane and had a few drinks in in the pubs , lovely village very friendly locals.
Dinner was beautiful , local produce cooked really really well .
Breakfast was great only complaint , no tea or coffee pots on tables , we got a cup of tea when we sat down but then we were trying to find someone to get a second cup from .
Lovely walk in forest after breakfast , this place is really really beautiful , arrived here after really stressful week and left feeling a lot better !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank You GalwayJulia,

Delighted to hear that you found it so relaxing and thankyou for the constructive feedback regards tea and coffee service, we will resolve.
Sincerely
Bryan and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Delphi is situated in a remote location so ideal if you want some peace and quiet. We had a balcony room which was well worth the upgrade price as the views were stunning and the room came with a large living area. To make up for not having TV's in the room there is a handy ipod stereo.
Breakfast is lovely with home-made treats like granola, brown bread and banana bread. Bar food was lovely one first night and second night was OK in the restaurant. The restaurant is very spacious and relaxed and the bar is chilled out. And the Guinness is fine!
The spa area is f a very high standard with a lovely relaxation area overlooking the mountains. It's well worth a visit.
The staff are all friendly.
We've already booked to go back!
Overall Review: Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASarge77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thanks Asarge77

Please drop me a line when you are back again, we look forward to welcoming you back to Delphi!

Best

Bryan and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had a lovely break recently at Delphi Mountain Resort. From the breathtaking scenery to the fabulous food it's hard to beat. The drive is pleasant and picturesque and if you want a little bit of civilisation during your stay then the town of Westport is only about half an hour away. A lovely town to amble around with a wide varied choice of cafes, restaurants and shops. We ate both nights at the hotel and the food was delicious. The staff (reception, bar and health spa are very attentive and courteous. I would definately hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thanks elmacmac

Thats great feedback, describes the Delphi experience in a nutshell!

best wishes

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
2.8 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
607 reviews
10.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
751 reviews
12 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
314 reviews
15.7 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,132 reviews
7 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#2 of 2 in Recess
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delphi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Resort

Address: R335, Leenane H91 DP08, Ireland (Formerly Delphi Adventure Resort)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range: $98 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From warm Irish hospitality to exquisite food, outdoor adventure to ultimate relaxation, Delphi Resort is the place to escape to, to enlighten your lust for life, awaken your senses and truly embrace Ireland's magnificent landscape and scenery, all from the comfort of the 300 acre resort. Delphi Resort is located in the heart of the scenically breath-taking Delphi Valley, near Leenane, Connemara, Co. Galway, Ireland. With its stunning scenic location, Delphi is a world apart and a haven for romantic getaways, special occasions, adventure-filled family holidays and wellness escapes. Situated just 10 mins from Leenane, Connemara, 30 mins from Westport and 80 mins from Galway City, Delphi Resort is surrounded by magical scenic drives along the Wild Atlantic Way. If looking to explore the area, Kylemore Abbey and Connemara National Park are located just 30 mins away, with Louisburgh and Croagh Patrick just 20 mins away - making Delphi Resort the perfect base for those that want to get settled at the resort and for those that like to travel and see the sights! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Delphi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Mountain Hotel Leenane
Delphi Mountain Resort And Spa
Hotel Delphi Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing