We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Peaceful Getaway"”
Review of Delphi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Delphi Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“" Peaceful Getaway"”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had a lovely break recently at Delphi Mountain Resort. From the breathtaking scenery to the fabulous food it's hard to beat. The drive is pleasant and picturesque and if you want a little bit of civilisation during your stay then the town of Westport is only about half an hour away. A lovely town to amble around with a wide varied choice of cafes, restaurants and shops. We ate both nights at the hotel and the food was delicious. The staff (reception, bar and health spa are very attentive and courteous. I would definately hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks elmacmac

Thats great feedback, describes the Delphi experience in a nutshell!

best wishes

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    187
    77
    43
    23
See reviews for
211
367
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athone
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just had a relaxing holiday in the peaceful Delphi Valley resort. All the staff were professional and friendly. Highlight was the amazing sunset views from the restaurant and the thermal suite. Also, I enjoyed a morning paddle on Killary harbour on my last day... Great place for an active or relaxation break.
The food was really tasty and I would recommend the "Clare Island Salmon" as a treat with a glass of the house white!!


Slainte!

Room Tip: 2B ( with Balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer2012ATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks Explorer2012ATH

Im delighted you found this hidden gem! Thanks for your support and positive feedback, it means a lot to us.

Sincerely
Bryan and The Delphi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've been a regular at Delphi for almost 20 yrs. The Spa/hotel is wonderful and worth the effort to get to no matter what time of year. You get a real warm Irish welcome, even though many of the staff are from overseas. You will fee relaxed once you step over the door. Lots to see and do around the area.

Room Tip: Best to stay 3+ nights as it is remote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalexpress5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Globalexpress

Thank you for your continued support and we sincerely hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
The Team at Delphi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had another lovely stay in Delphi. V relaxing, lovely steaks and chowder!!!! Big thanks to Anna in the bar who was very friendly and really helpful. Also Kevin was a great help with the crag climbing and very interesting and helpful in general!!! Still our favourite hotel!!!

Room Tip: Luxery suite is worth the extra few€€€€s. Get the chowder!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you GerryB1
For both your lovely comments and of course for returning to Delphi Mountain Resort!
I will pass on your sentiments to Anna and Kevin, always great to here.
Kind regards
Bryan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Myself, my mother and two children visited Delphi Mountain Resort for three days this summer. We had a family room that was perfectly adequate. It was on the small side but very clean. All the rooms have an I-pod docking staion but no television. We knew this before we arrived and welcomed it although I heard many families complaining about this. The hotel do have some DVDs that they can lend to rooms but they are in demand - we didn't bother. The scenery in this part of the world is breath-taking. I enrolled the kids in Young Adventurers club which they LOVED. The only thing I'll say is that I had initially enrolled them for morning and afternoon sessions which proved too much - one session a day is enough.
There is a spa at the resort which I felt they pushed a bit too much at reception - it is quite expensive so instead we had a sea-weed bath in the hotel in Leenane for half the price. The restaurant is very good and the deal we goit included one evening meal which was superb - I had steak and my Mum had Hake - not one word of complaint - it was all delicious.
I would suggest this place for families with children from about 8 upwards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maprik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank You Maprik,

Greatly appreciate your feedback and delighted that you had such a positive experience.

Best wishes

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A family of 2 adults and 3 children aged 11, 7 and 5, we spent a week here at the beginning of August 2012. Delphi adventure centre is located about 10 to 15 minutes drive from the pretty town of Leenane located on Killary fjord in Co. Galway. The centre has been around for more than 30 years, and many Dublin parents remember it fondly from their teenage years. However more recently it has been upgraded from its previous primarily teenage and hiker focus to a more up-market family destination, complete with spa. There is a range of activities to suit all ages, from the young adventurers club catering for pre-teen kids, to the outbound activities catering for teenagers and active adults, to the more sedate surroundings of the spa.

We booked a week long package that included a family room; morning young adventurers for our 7 and 5 year olds; morning outbound activities for dad and the 11 year old; leaving mum with plenty of spare time to walk, relax and go to the spa. The outbound activities were fantastic - surfing, coasteering (basically cliff jumping!), kayaking, raft building and canoeing (which we were able to do together with the 5 and 7 year olds). All very entertaining and well organised. We also did indoor rock climbing and archery all together. The outbound activities are largely water based, and the centre provides wetsuits for all. However, it is necessary to bring an old pair of runners - it would be impossible to participate without these. The walks in the hills behind the centre are lovely, and this is where the archery was located, but the midges were a real curse, and I say this as somebody with much experience of these annoying creatures - the Delphi variety seemed to be repellent-resistent. A family of bats would be of great help.

Our package included three evening meals in the centre's restaurant, which while not haute cuisine, were very good. The buffet breakfast (also included) was equally good. The family room was a bit cramped for 5 (and the EUR 300 extra charge for a fold-up bed was certainly not appreciated), but we weren't spending a lot of time there. More drying facilities would be useful - most of the activities are water based and there isn't really anywhere to dry clothes and togs overnight. Phone and internet coverage is limited to a small public area, which is fine from my point of view, but may need to be expectation-managed for teenagers. There are no televisions in the rooms, which again was a blessing for me, and they put on films for the teenagers to watch in the hang-out area in the evenings. Bringing a portable DVD player may be a good idea for some family groups.

We were very lucky with the weather and the free afternoons allowed us to explore some of the spectaular beaches and the many, many other attractions within easy driving range (or cycling range for the more adventurous) of the centre. When the sun shines the beaches around here are some of the best in the world. There are some reasonably decent local restaurants for both lunch and dinner, all within about half an hour's drive.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room - though most of the rooms have a very good aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry-Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Barry,

Thank you for your generous comments and taking the time to post a review.

Best wishes

Bryan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here over a year ago so sorry for just getting round to writing this now. stayed here for a weekend stay and spa treatment and a couple of activities and i have to say it was top class i can safely say it is the best place i have. It is very remote so the silence is blissful. The location was fantastic to start with the activities were great fun and the instructors were brillant. Dinner was lovely aswell as the wine. I don't have words for the spa just that it has'nt been matched. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Keithb81

Thank you so much for thinking of us again and taking the time to write such a positive review.
Your comments will be greatly appreciated by all the team at Delphi.

Sincerely

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
2.8 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
577 reviews
18.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
290 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
726 reviews
14.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
954 reviews
14.5 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delphi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Resort

Property: Delphi Resort
Address: R335, Leenane H91 DP08, Ireland (Formerly Delphi Adventure Resort)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From warm Irish hospitality to exquisite food, outdoor adventure to ultimate relaxation, Delphi Resort is the place to escape to, to enlighten your lust for life, awaken your senses and truly embrace Ireland's magnificent landscape and scenery, all from the comfort of the 300 acre resort. Delphi Resort is located in the heart of the scenically breath-taking Delphi Valley, near Leenane, Connemara, Co. Galway, Ireland. With its stunning scenic location, Delphi is a world apart and a haven for romantic getaways, special occasions, adventure-filled family holidays and wellness escapes. Situated just 10 mins from Leenane, Connemara, 30 mins from Westport and 80 mins from Galway City, Delphi Resort is surrounded by magical scenic drives along the Wild Atlantic Way. If looking to explore the area, Kylemore Abbey and Connemara National Park are located just 30 mins away, with Louisburgh and Croagh Patrick just 20 mins away - making Delphi Resort the perfect base for those that want to get settled at the resort and for those that like to travel and see the sights! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Delphi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Mountain Hotel Leenane
Delphi Mountain Resort And Spa
Hotel Delphi Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing